We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Coast
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here with our two teenage kids - location obviously brilliant for Giants causeway and fantastic north coast beaches!! We had a huge family room which you don't often get for kids over ages about ten - it had a huge king size and two good singles - loads of room too fr all the cases and stuff....nothing fancy but good clean family value...
Staff were great lovely and friendly - we ate in the bar - good value food, great portions for hungry teenagers and finished off with a game of table tennis and pool...great value and a good nights sleep. My 15 year old son said the breakfast (full Ulster fry...) was ' one of the best he'd ever had ' praise indeed ....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueskies011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    184
    48
    12
    17
See reviews for
203
279
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Me and my daughter stayed here for 3 nights in August. Very clean, towels always changed, food beautiful and staff very warm and friendly, always there to help. Great for kids. lots of parking and very close to both portrush and portstewart. Great views from hotel.

Room Tip: you will not get friendlier staff anywhere in portrush and great food at great prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

booked here for a 2 day break and wanted to take our pet dog hotel staff very friendly and rooms very clean breakfast was good plenty of choice would stay here again as it was very reasonably priced would tell anyone with a pet dog to go there

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is in a lovely setting looking out over the Atlantic. Our room was comfortable, spacious and very clean. However the most striking aspect of our visit was the warmth and hospitality of the staff. It makes such a difference to meet people who take the time to chat, smile and take a genuine interest in their guests (Bristol and Falkland's loss is certainly Portrush's gain!). We went out for evening meals but on return were able to have a drink in the hotel bar which is warm and welcoming and makes for a relaxed end to an evening. The hotel is perfectly situated for cycling and golfing and Portrush is within very close proximity (we walked into the town centre both days). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had an overnight stay for 3 adults sharing a spacious room - 1 double and 2 single comfortable beds - but tiny flatscreen TV. There was also a table and 3 chairs, wardrobe, coffee making facilities, but no fridge. Full size bath, albeit narrow, with shower over, but there was NO hot water at 6.30 am on Sunday and barely warm enough for shower at 7.30. Apparently we should have phoned the night porter to boost the water.

Everything was very clean, nicely decorated, and the staff were helpful and friendly. Also a dog friendly hotel, but not a whiff of pooch!

Breakfast was in a separate room before Reception and was very nice because the Full Ulster breakfast was cooked to order. It was also nice to have tablecloths in the morning. There was also the usual cheese, ham, croissants, toast, various cereals and yoghurt.

We had dinner in the restaurant, which had a pleasant pub atmosphere and helpful staff. My daughter's rib eye steak was well cooked for £16.95, the steak and Guinness pie was very tasty and big, but being English I would have preferred fresh veg to lettuce for £8.95. Unfortunately the seared Tuna was under done for £8.95. Selected items from the a la carte men were on a Residents' menu for 2 courses at £15, or 3 for £17.

We did try to see Portrush Harbour at 7 pm on a Saturday night but it was heaving with people and absolutely nowhere to park. We tried the main car park and several streets to no avail. The harbour is very picturesque.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldduckHarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on the Coast, which is situated on the cliffs at Ballyreagh midway between the traditional seaside resort of Portrush and its more sedate neighbour, Portstewart. The hotel is very dog friendly (at times the owner’s dog was present at the reception desk) and our little Wesl terrier Aoife was made very welcome. The rooms are huge and very comfortable. The hotel has a restaurant and bar but unfortunately dogs are not permitted in these areas

There are many interesting places to visit on the coast, including Dunluce castle and the Bushmills distillery but the jewel in the crown is the Giants Causeway, now a designated world heritage site with a large visitor centre and exhibition. Dogs are not permitted into the exhibition centre but Aoife enjoyed the walk down the fairly steep hill to the causeway itself.

From Downhill we drove up The Bishops road and over the magnificent Binevanagh mountain which provides beautiful views across Lough Foyle to Donegal in the distance. Descending the mountain we arrived in the small town of Limavady which sits on the banks of the River Roe. We visited the nearby Roe Valley country park which has a number of walking routes alongside the river. The name of the town “Limavady” actually means the “Dogs leap” and the legend has it that the dog lept off the cliff and you can still climb up to the rock today and peak over the edge to the rushing water below. There is a small visitor centre in the park with a nice café. This year Limavady celebrates 400 years bad to commemorate this anniversary an impressive sculpture of a dog leaping has been installed near the visit centre.

Retuning to Portrush, there are several good restaurants in the town, our favourites, including the newly opened Mermaid Kitchen in the Ramore complex near the small harbour. Dogs are not permitted in the restaurants, but Aoife made a couple of visits to one of our favourite pubs in the world, The Harbour Bar. This old bar with its cosy snug area has probably remained unchanged for decades (if not centuries) and is run by George Best look alike, Willie Gregg. Willie is a great host and real dog lover and the bars Facebook page has frequent postings of photos of its canine visitors

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timmyD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed for one night with a late booking. We were given a family room with a double bed and two single beds. The room was clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly from the moment we stepped foot in the hotel. The only thing we didn't like was the curtain in the bath for the shower but it's a small gripe.
The bar was great and I had a couple of nice Guinness. There was a wide selection of food the next morning and we left saying that we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigohwhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.2 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Coast

Property: Inn on the Coast
Address: 50 Ballyreagh Road, Portrush BT56 8LT, Northern Ireland (Formerly McLaughlin's Inn on the Coast)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#2 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Inn on the Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Coast Hotel Portrush
Mclaughlins Hotel Portrush
Inn On The Coast Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing