We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Inn on the Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Coast
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My fiance and I had the pleasure of staying here on Sunday and we both agree that it was excellent. The welcome that we received from all of the staff was amazing, we were made to feel like part of the family. A special mention must go to Colleen who made our reservation and checking in a doddle and made us feel very welcome.
The room, like the hotel, was spotlessly clean and we had a lovely view of the sea from our window. The room had everything we could have asked for. A very comfortable double bed and single and all the extras we needed. I'm not sure how they get the pressure in their showers so strong but after a long drive along the coast it was the perfect remedy and wake up before heading downstairs to the restaurant and bar.
This is were we met the wonderful Kevin. He could not do enough for us. Always attentive and friendly, he gave me a great recommendation from the menu. The food was first class, everything arrived hot and was very, very tasty. I would thoroughly recommend the Gammon. First class.
We left the Inn on the Coast after an excellent breakfast, so much to chose from, and continued on our drive along the coast. The service, welcome and experience we had was second to none. I couldn't thank the staff enough. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele K, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn on the Coast sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    191
    51
    12
    19
See reviews for
212
288
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor.N Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed on a Sunday night ; a spur of the moment booking ; and we are very glad! This is a delightful inn, situated betweeen Portrush and Portstewart, and is exactly what the area needs. It is spotlessly clean; the staff are friendly and efficient;the food excellent.
Our room was huge. We had a double and a single bed, (even though there were just the two of us) ; the usual wardrobe; large desk, drawers etc. There was also a table and two chairs by the window; a nice touch. The bathroom was immaculate; all towels snowy white, and the choice of bath or shower. The water was piping hot, and there was no scarcity of it. There was a t.v and hairdryer in the bedroom.
We ate in the bistro that evening, and the food was excellent. They told us it was a new menu; and we were impressed with the quality of the food. I had the vegetarian risottto (roast butternut squash and goats cheese) which was not only delicious, but an inspiring and unususal option for this part of the world.
Breakfast was served 'behiind the blue glass' in a separate room; and was cooked to order. Despite being busy, the staff were efficient, concerned , and the food tasty.
Would I stay there again? Without a doubt. This is one of the nicest places I have stayed in County Antrim and far outshines more expensive hotels in the area. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reganlefay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPortrush, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We are delighted that you enjoyed both our restaurant and our bedrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Inn on your next visit to the North Coast.

Adele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had one night in this lovely hotel with our two dogs. We and our dogs were given a very warm welcome from the staff. Our room was lovely and clean and very large. Lots of nice walks near by. We had a meal in the restaurant and it was excellent...the mussels were some of the best I have had.
Would love to return at some point.
One more point we were quoted 20 Euro EACH for our two dogs for one night in a travelodge thankfully we were only charged 20 Euro when we arrived... Inn on the coast made no extra charge for the dogs and even though the room was one of the dog friendly rooms you could no tell.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank little_me1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPortrush, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review.
We are very glad you where able to bring your 2 fabulous dogs to stay with us.
Hope your lovely pup stays well!

Come back soon
Adele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

my husband and I was there for a 2 night stay could of stayed longer as we was so comfortable and relaxed the room was spacious with nice crisp linen on the beds clean towels every day ,the breakfast service was excellent with every thing you would expect for choice's ,found staff very helpful and polite, the prices was reasonable in the bar and very nice too ,would highly recommend for a stay in portrush /portstewart area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele K, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our great breakfast and maybe you will get to stay longer next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stopped here to break our tour of the Antrim coast from Belfast to Derry. Our room was huge with a sea view and was also very clean and tidy. The staff at reception were very efficient and friendly and the restaurant was excellent providing one of the best meals of our holiday in comfy surroundings.

As with many pubs / restaurants in this area, real ale is very difficult to come by but the wines were extensive and reasonably priced.

The rate was excellent value in our opinion (£59 B&B for two) and the Ulster Fry was excellent too.

Rooms at the back are near a train line but this did not disturb.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view when booking (our room was 210 which had 3 beds in it to sleep up to 4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPortrush, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We are delighted you decided to stay with us and we promise that on your next visit we will try to have some Real Ales (local ones) for you to sample!

Regards
Adele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I recently stayed here for two nights and have to say, the staff are incredible in this hotel. They allowed us to check in a few hours earlier than expected, provided us with all the information we needed about the area as well as helped us find a wallet that we’d lost on the first night. The rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped and the breakfast was great as it’s cooked to order. As a hotel employee myself and having stayed in various hotels around the world, this quaint B & B is definitely worth the money and made us feel very welcome! Thanks Coleen and all the reception, breakfast and housekeeping staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neeter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPortrush, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for the fabulous review. The staff where especially pleased with your comments about them!

Please come again

Regards

Adele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Inn on the Coast at the end of May and we were really impressed. The room we were allocated was all that you would expect from a Premier Inn type room- large and comfortable bed and pillows, clean bathroom with complimentary toiletries, hairdryer and lots of wardrobe and drawer space. As we were at the side of the hotel we had a view of the sea looking toward Portrush. Since the hotel is a mile or so outside Portrush I would say a car is necessary. It is also in a convenient position to visit the many beautiful sites on the north Irish coast including the Giants Causeway, Bushmills Whiskey Distillery, Carrick-a Rede rope bridge etc.

We ate in the hotel restaurant/bar both nights and were impressed by the quality of our meals. Breakfast was served in a separate lovely room decorated with stained glass and had everything you could want from a cooked breakfast to croissants and muffins. The staff were very accommodating and produced poached eggs for me even though they were not on the menu.

The hotel is decorated with paintings from local artists which lends a unique feature. Staff were friendly and helpful and we would certainly think of using this hotel if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: There is a railway line at the back of the hotel though trains are fairly infrequent. From our side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPortrush, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We would love to welcome you back to the Inn on your next visit to the North Coast!

Regards
Adele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.2 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.2 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Coast

Property: Inn on the Coast
Address: 50 Ballyreagh Road, Portrush BT56 8LT, Northern Ireland (Formerly McLaughlin's Inn on the Coast)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#2 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Coast Hotel Portrush
Mclaughlins Hotel Portrush
Inn On The Coast Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing