We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel”
Review of Adelphi Portrush

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelphi Portrush
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently had a 2 night stay in Portrush, Northern Ireland with our Rick Steves tour. This truly is a first class hotel with beautiful and spacious rooms. It's centrally located and easy to walk to all of the city attractions, shops & restaurants. Also, a convenient spot should you want to visit Giant's Causeway, Bushmills, Dunlace Castle, and Royal Portrush Golf Club. They also serve a wonderful breakfast!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, street-side and the room had a large bay window.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Portrush, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review.
We value all guest feedback and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Should you decide to return to Ireland again we look forward to welcoming you again.

Amanda Holmes AIH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for Adelphi Portrush
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 710 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned for spending 2 nights in this hotel and I have to say that it is one of the best in Portrush. The family rooms are big enough for children to mess about and play and the beds are very comfortable. It is located very well to amusements and shops. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is great. We didn't have any other meals at the hotel but they did have a good choice of a menu. It had a spa also that is very reasonably priced to pamper yourself. The children can stay in the lounge til 9 which means you don't have to rush your dinner and you can relax in the lounge after. The kids enjoyed using the computer in the lounge.
Overall a very good experience and we have stayed here once before and would definitely book again for the bank holiday next August.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lf35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Portrush, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review.
I am pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Amanda Holmes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

stayed here 3 times now and just love this place. staff are great especially reception staff and restaurant manager! disappointed in their draught beer, seemed to be very frothy and full of bubbles? ate of al la carte menu on first night as just wanted a starter and was dissapoined but just think it was poor choice on our part as saturday nights food was fantastic. will def go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinky49CoAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Portrush, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your review as we value all guest feedback.
I'm glad that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
I am sorry to hear that the beer was too frothy and that your starter was disappointing, however I'm pleased that you enjoyed your meal on the second night.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Amanda Holmes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here to do the Giant's Causeway and Bushmills and was very impressed with the place. Staff were friendly and the room was clean. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful with a great choice of foods. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KopGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Portrush, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I'm pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly, rooms clean and breakfast plentiful.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Amanda Holmes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Portrush is a lovely place to visit and convenient to Giant's Causway and Bushmills. The Adelphi is a first class hotel with a lovely breakfast, including salmon if you please - or a full Irish breakfast, or just fruit and yogurt and lots of lovely tea.

You will be sure to take many photos of this area. The hotel is centurally located among many restaurants, pubs and shops, on the water in a quaint town out of an old Irish novel.

Room Tip: Don't know about the pool or fitness center
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilarguerose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Portrush, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your positive review.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and I agree that the North Coast is a lovely place to visit and explore.
We hope to welcome you again.
Amanda Holmes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a family room and the big room overlooking the sea with the single bedroom attached was lovely. The hotel was clean, modern and fresh. It may well be the no1 hotel to stay at in portrush as I've not been to the others although there were a few things which were irritating and could have made the stay more satisfying.
We ate in the restaurant on the first evening, good value for the fairly basic food served but absolutely ridiculous that you were not allowed to order a glass of wine without buying a whole bottle - I've never heard of that before and it actually prevented us from drinking or eating there again after day 1.
The breakfast slot is too narrow, 8am till 10 am especially in the holidays. We had to get up early one morning to get an early ferry so arrived at 8am on the dot as we had 15 mins. When it says 8am, breakfasts should be available at 8am. The chef had slept in, apparently so no cooked in time. The pastries were still warming but should have at least been done and on the table. So all in all that was not good.
Every morning we had fresh towels where used but we had one shower gel between 3 of us which on the 5 th day I had to complain that they were not being replenished and one is not enough for 3 people. They were most apologetic and housekeeping left a nice note.
So on the whole, nice clean hotel, pleasant base for travelling around as we did for the week, would eat at one of the fantastic restaurants in portrush and would probably recommend if asked but need to sort a few things out.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank LindaBeckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Portrush, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.
I'm glad to hear you found our rooms clean & comfortable.
I am sorry that during your stay our chef was delayed slightly, unfortunately this was a circumstance beyond our control. Early breakfasts are always available if requested as we have a staff member on duty 24/7.
I am slightly confused about your comment about our wine as we offer quarter bottles, equivalent to a large glass of wine.
I hope this does not detract you from staying again with us.
Amanda Holmes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed again at this Hotel and do not have any complaints, the cleanliness of the hotel is exceptional, we had a wheelchair access room and it was just perfect. The staff are as always very friendly and cannot do enough for you, I would highly recommend this Hotel and I will be back before Christmas. Also the breakfast is beautiful as is the restaurant food, you have to try the restaurant it is great value for money and tasty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Book early as they are busy
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anncairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelphiPortrush, Owner at Adelphi Portrush, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Wow thank you so much for your great review we really appreciate it.
I'm glad to hear that you were impressed with our cleanliness, friendly staff and excellent breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Amanda Holmes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
0.0 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
1.4 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,854 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
411 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Portrush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Portrush

Address: 67-71 Main Street | Portrush, Portrush BT56 8BN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#1 Family Hotel in Portrush
#1 Green Hotel in Portrush
Price Range: $114 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Portrush 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Portrush is like a Boutique Style Hotel, and offers unparalleled luxury coupled with a quality of service that is second to none. Situated in the heart of Portrush, Adelphi Portrush is proudly owned and managed by the Holmes family. 28 Luxury en-suite bedrooms Health suite - Spa, Sauna and Steam Spa beauty and treatment Salon Fully licensed Bistro restaurant Lift to all floors, fully accessible Free internet, wired and Wi-Fi Complimentary guest computer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adelphi Portrush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Portrush Hotel Portrush
Adelphi Hotel Portrush
Portrush Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Portrush Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing