We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanatastic Irish Hospitality”
Review of Antrim House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antrim House
Ranked #4 of 29 Portrush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Janice was the perfect host and made us feel very welcome in her home. The welcome we received was very warm, unlike the weather.

The breakfasts are fantastic and kept us going all day and the position of the accomodation in the centre of Portrush is fantastic with views of the see from both sides. The restaurants recommended were fantastic and the Cafe 55 food is to die for

The weather was awful for the week but to arrive back to a warm welcome and warm room was great and always brightened the day.

Definitely want to visit the area again and Antrim House will be the place of first call.

Many thanks for a great week.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aallmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 208 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stayed one night here during our week-long visit to Ireland and Northern Ireland. We ended up arriving much later than planned but Janice was perfectly accommodating and gave us directions for where to go to grab a pint after we arrived. She gave us a fantastic room - there were just two of us but one of the large family rooms was available and that's where she put us. We had wonderful views from windows on two sides of the room. The location is great and very convenient for getting around Portrush by car or foot. The house is historical and decorated well. The room was quiet and we had a great night's sleep. Breakfast in the morning was great - Ulster fry with accommodations made for our dietary restrictions. Our only complaint was that we were not able to take a hot shower although it would seem that the guests staying in the room next to us took an hour long shower (we could hear the water running). We did not have hot water and unfortunately our schedule did not allow us the time to wait for the hot water to replenish. I don't expect this is a typical problem - the guests next to us just seemed to take an extremely long shower. Overall we would recommend Antrim House for your visit to Portrush.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunflwrgyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

A lovely house, with excellent service and beautiful rooms. Although we only stayed one night, (a pity), I could've happily stayed a good while longer. Rooms were spacious and comfortable, with an en-suite bathroom to boot. The house itself was full of character, whilst remaining practical enough for the purposes of a full B&B.
I think it is a great shame that the rest of Portrush isnt cared for to this same degree. There are plenty of derelict buildings, and the local council seems adverse to actually doing much about it. Such a shame.
But nevertheless, there is so much amazing countryside a short distance away, it wasnt a dampener on the trip. Would happily return in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fweebmcfweeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed in a huge family room, with great views. We all slept well. The house is lovely, full of period features and decorated accordingly. Breakfast was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. It is a great spot for visiting the surrounding area. There are good local restaurants but the town itself could do with a bit more investment.

We would have no hesitation recommending Antrim House.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms, so prob full quickly in high season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrysdalesSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Great place to stay and very helpful in guidance and suggestions for
good visiting spots along the causeway coast. Remember to ask if there is a current code for the free samples at Bushmills Distillery (website says BH10401 until Sunday 10/04/11)
Views across to Dunluce Castle and the Giant's Causeway.
We were here in April and the sun was glorious, beaches fantastic. People were scuba diving off the rocky part of the seafront until sunset. Porpoises, minke and sunfish have all been sighted just off the promontory here.

Room Tip: Brilliant Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanterburyCuttlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Head an shoulders above two others I stayed at in Port Rush, best value for money, sumptious bed, bountiful breakfast, beautiful building and cheerful staff. I want to take the family there on holiday

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnfore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We spent 3 nights in Portrush and loved staying at the Antrim House. Janice was more than helpful with getting us information on bus schedules, where to eat and what do do. The breakfasts were delicious, the hospitality was wonderful and we felt like we were guests in an old friend's home. Thank you so much. If I am ever back in Portrush I'll stay at the Antrim House.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagnoliaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portrush hotels
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anvershiel House
Anvershiel House
#7 of 29 in Portrush
176 reviews
0 mi away
Albany Lodge
Albany Lodge
#5 of 29 in Portrush
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beulah Guest House
Beulah Guest House
#12 of 29 in Portrush
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antrim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antrim House

Address: 14 Eglinton Street, Portrush BT56 8DX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range: $99 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antrim House commands a central position in Portrush, with private off street parking. A large Victorian building it has retained a lot of its original features with larger than normal rooms and high ceilings. We will try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Within walking distance to a large selection of first class restaurants and wine bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Antrim House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antrim House Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing