We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in splendid location”
Review of Royal Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in splendid location”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Have just returned to England after spending 3 nights in Royal Court Hotel (short break to visit Causeway Coast). The staff all very friendly and efficient, waiting staff very happy to help and meals were served with good timing between courses. The wine was not overly expensive at £10.50 for a bottle of rose. The dining room is situated overlooking the bay and has beautiful views of White rock beach and Portrush. The bedroom was spotless and the sea view and small terrace outside were well worth paying extra for - the sun was shining when we arrived and this was the perfect start to our short holiday. The bed was very comfortable and mattress seemed fairly new. I am bit puzzled by a previous review that suggested the decor needed updating - the hotel was absolutely fine as it is. (One small complaint - a television was on during breakfast. When away to get away from it all, one doesn't always want to see the news, even if one did want to see it, the television was only visible for a few of the diners!) Would recommend this hotel if you are staying in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for room 101 and you will get a fantastic sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    93
    29
    18
    5
See reviews for
101
140
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Location location location what a view and a spacious well appointed room and dinning experience, we overnighted here and really enjoyed our sea view at dinner and n early morning. Well located to visit Bushmill and Giants causeway

Room Tip: Make sur you book a sea view its great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug pullen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a gem. Perched on a hill overlooking the ocean and the Royal Portrush Golf Course is this gem of a hotel. Our room had a sea view and we could see Donegal and the Scottish isles. Breathtaking.
Outstanding service from professional and genuinely friendly staff, we cannot speak more highly of this hotel.
Excellent food from breakfast and dinner and a great wee bar full of character.
And the position to drive to Dunlace Castle, Giants Causeway, etc with the most beautiful scenery on the way makes this one of my favourite hotels anywhere.

Room Tip: A room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our 4th year staying at the Royal Court for the Northwest 200. We came across the hotel by accident whilst looking for accomodation in Portrush and we have never looked back. We stayed in the Causeway Suite which has just been freshly decorated, the room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a balcony with stunning sea views.
The food is always good whether it's breakfast or a relaxed dinner in the Bar & Grill or in the restaurant.
All the staff are lovely, very friendly and remembered us from previous visits which was nice.
Portrush is a lovely wee seaside town and the Antrim Coast is breathtaking.
Before we left we booked for next year and are looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAH1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a wedding. The views in the function suite out to the water are awesome; there is a paved area that is great for group photos!

My room was spacious and nicely decorated. Large comfy bed with a decent sized bathroom. Staff were courteous and asked if I needed help with luggage.

The only reason my review isn't better is the "wifi" which is detailed as being available throughout the bedrooms. I was able to use wifi at the front desk, but has obvious restrictions. If you want a weekend disconnected from the world, this hotel is perfect. Fantastic views and great accommodations.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank arnald5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here recently and it was OK. The room was clean enough with ample space although the whole decor of the hotel is a little tired and very early 90s. A modern day revamp would be a good idea. Also next morning in the breakfast room when I asked to sit at a window-side table, I was informed the table was for lunch.(???) Very strange indeed. Instead we were shown to a table behind a pillar with restricted seaview! For the price, I would prefer to stay down the road at Atlantic Hotel or the Ramada.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAWA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a small family get together here, staying mid-week when the hotel was quiet and very few guests. Rooms were lovely - clean and comfortable. Not all the rooms have sea views, but those that do are wonderful. The dining experience was quiet, the food good, and the views were lovely. All the staff we encountered - front desk and waiters - were very friendly. Price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJMUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.9 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
1.9 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.2 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel

Property: Royal Court Hotel
Address: 233 Ballybogy Road, Portrush BT56 8NF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#3 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel occupies one of the most picturesque positions on Northern Ireland’s famous coastline, overlooking the Seaside town of Portrush with panoramic views from County Donegal to the Scottish Isles and over to the Giant’s Causeway. The famous Links Course, Royal Portrush Golf Club is also right on our door step with the 4th hole protruding enough for our diners and guests to enjoy. You never know who you might be watching.With plenty of activities in our local area including, Links Golf Courses, the Legendary Giant’s Causeway, Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge, Dunluce Castle, beautiful beaches and coastal walks, and lets not forget Irelands Oldest Distillery, which was granted a royal licence to distil ‘uisce beatha’ translated, water of life in Gaelic or as we know it today Whiskey, in 1608, located in Bushmills. These are to name but a few, there is always plenty to do and see for all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Portrush
Royal Court Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing