We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant weekend stay”
Review of Royal Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Comber, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant weekend stay”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff all welcoming and helpful. Loved the room 110. Gorgeous seaview. So loved the jacuzzi jet bath and shower!!! So relaxin. Had breakfast and dined for diner - the food was lovely. Next time we go away we will definately be staying here. Just outside the town so nice and peaceful - short walk down onto beach so just nice.

Room Tip: Get a seaview and definately a jacuzzi jet bath!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanna-mackin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    97
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
109
148
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Royal Court is set overlooking the sea at Portrush. What a beautiful place with marvellous views. The service was exceptional. There were fourteen of us and we were served quite quickly. The carvery was the best I had eaten - everything was plentiful and piping hot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel sits on a beautiful spot high above the beach looking out to see. The surrounding terraces give you fantastic views right along the coast. If you can get a table to dine with a sea view you can watch the sun go down. As others have said, the food is good but not fantastic - what they do, they do pretty well, but it's not a gastronomic experience! Having said that, we couldn't fault the restaurant, bar or other staff, they were all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiftworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have been staying in Portrush for a week over the Easter period and decided to go to Royal Court for an evening meal. We had a nice table with an amazing sea view however the food was very disappointing. My husband and friend had Chicken Maryland very dry and tasteless their comment similar to a carry-out. I had duck and ate some of it however when I turned it over I got an extremely bad odour of the meat and didnt eat any more the garlic fries and chips were almost burnt I think the oil in the fryers need changing. We have eaten here before and enjoyed our meal but would think twice before going back. Staff were friendly however never came back to out table to check if everything was alright.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here on Easter monday B&B... We also decided to dine within this establishment but regret it now as we were treated with disrespect.. staff were snobby especially the restaurant manager an i felt as if we were being looked down at even though we were paying customers like everyone else in there. Cannot not fault room or view but it was the staff that was the problem! whilst going for our breakfast the next morning we were tackled by the owner of the hotel saying she received complaints from the room next door about noise whenever we were actually in bed.. this resulted in us having to pay a fine of £190 to compensate their room... as we had already paid £150 for our 1 nights stay.... they also produced another fine of £40 pound for late checkout which we were 10 mins late for. When told this we were obviously angered an disgusted as we didn't have this kind of money an were not prepared to pay £300 for 1 nights stay... when we argued against this the owner of the hotel was very rude an even swore at us, referring to us as 'ANIMALS' which i was completely dumb-founded with as we made no noise but obviously a one sided story as she refused to believe us an believed the elderly couple which had claimed this. As we refused to pay the ridiculous extra charge she threatened us with the police!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!! Hidden charges seem to be there thing but it is suitable to those who are animal lovers as i have never seen as many cats about a kip in my life!! I can promise the royal court hotel one thing i will NEVER be back!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 173ErinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here Saturday & Sunday 23rd.&24th. March on the 2nights B&B + 1 Evening meal basis. Having stayed the same time last year and eaten here quite a few times we had no doubts about staying again - how right we were. The weather was completely the opposite to last year but though very cold this time the welcome at reception was very warm as was the experience in the dining-room. The room (105) was great, clean and well equipped, the breakfast menu was comprehensive with more than enough to eat and the evening meal - well - it was terrific from a terrific menu and maybe too much to eat for some. Karen at reception was wonderful. Because of the inclement weather she,without asking provided me with a mile by mile road condition report from Hotel to Larne,Scotland Cumbria and home to York - TERRIFIC

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at the Royal Court for a family wedding. It was fantastic. The location is amazing, over looking White Rocks beach and the Skerries (small islands). We had one of the suites with this amazing view. The room was lovely & massive & the beds so comfy. The food at the hotel was delicious, with the most enormous portions! We ate there having breakfast, lunch, dinner as well as the wedding meal. The thing that makes this hotel top notch is the staff. They were all excellent and nothing was a trouble to them. They all worked incredibly hard and were so friendly. Every single one of them, from the housekeepers, to the waitresses, bar staff and reception staff.

Room Tip: If your travelling with 1 child go for room 108 as there is a single bed around the corner, so they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinalonga_siren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.9 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
696 reviews
1.9 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
969 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
753 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
268 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel

Property: Royal Court Hotel
Address: 233 Ballybogy Road, Portrush BT56 8NF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Portrush
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel occupies one of the most picturesque positions on Northern Ireland’s famous coastline, overlooking the Seaside town of Portrush with panoramic views from County Donegal to the Scottish Isles and over to the Giant’s Causeway. The famous Links Course, Royal Portrush Golf Club is also right on our door step with the 4th hole protruding enough for our diners and guests to enjoy. You never know who you might be watching.With plenty of activities in our local area including, Links Golf Courses, the Legendary Giant’s Causeway, Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge, Dunluce Castle, beautiful beaches and coastal walks, and lets not forget Irelands Oldest Distillery, which was granted a royal licence to distil ‘uisce beatha’ translated, water of life in Gaelic or as we know it today Whiskey, in 1608, located in Bushmills. These are to name but a few, there is always plenty to do and see for all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Portrush
Royal Court Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing