We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homely hotel, really friendly staff, wow views.”
Review of Royal Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely homely hotel, really friendly staff, wow views.”
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Stayed one night, had dinner & breakfast - huge portions! Olde world type hotel and yes it was quiet, but suited us perfectly for our one night. Fantastic views and we were lucky enough to have an amazing sun set, sipping a glass of wine from the comfort of our window table. Staff couldnt have been more helpful. Much preferred this hotel outside Portrush, rather than saying in the town itself.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIVODublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    97
    34
    18
    6
See reviews for
113
152
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed 1 night for a weekend break away. The location is lovely and in walking distance of thebeach. The rooms were clean and pleasant - we paid £80.00 per room per night bed and breakfast. Good selection at breakfast and comfortable accomodation. There are no amenities e.g, pool / spa / gym and I think these would help to enhance the hotel. It is quite a distance from Portrush so own transport is essential as well. We didn't dine in the hotel - dined in Portrush at a restaurant called 55 degrees north - defn recommended - booking essential.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerniBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Recently stayed in this hotel and we were appalled by the general treatment of guests. When we stayed the hotel was virtually empty yet were given a triple with a 3/4 bed and a single, the room was close to the boiler house and therefore very noisy. On departure the lady at reception took our key and handed us a receipt without saying good morning or thankyou or did you enjoy your stay - there was absolutley no conversation.
Over breakfast we enjoyed the most magnificient view however we had to endure a self service reheated buffet breakfast - at 8.30am there were 20 fried eggs (approx) under the uv lamps.......? Not the most appetising.
Really disappointed with this hotel as it has potential to be the jewel of the North Coast. Staff and management need to get real and understand the hospitality and service industry.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madrid8811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

This hotel doesn't really understand the saying: "service with a smile". During a 3 night stay it was only on the morning that we left that we encountered a friendly face behind reception.

If you want access to the beach and walks along the causeway coastline then this is the hotel for you. It has amazing sea views from the restaurant and some rooms. However, it is in the middle of nowhere and you can't walk to any other bars or restaurants.

Usually when staying at such an isolated hotel you'd expect a warm and inviting bar etc. to while away lazy afternoons... but no! The bar only opened in the evening (and then smiler behind reception informed us it would only open if enough people wanted it) and so the only public area was a few sofas in reception or you could sit in a deserted restaurant. It felt a lot like a B&B but with hotel prices!

I appreciate that a lot of visitors to this hotel are hikers and so are out and about but it's also a big wedding venue and as we were there for a wedding and the weather was horrible we had time to kill both before and after the big day. They don't make you feel welcome and seem to just want you out of their hair.

Rooms were average - bathrooms a bit scruffy. The shower was possibly the worst I've ever experienced. It was a shower head over the bath (which is fine) but the water pressue was so poor that I couldn't get the shampoo out of my hair.

We were given a triple room (even though there was only two of us) and it seemed that, in order to get the single bed in, they had to compromise on the double, which was only 3/4s of the size of a standard. We travelled with friends and whereas we were lying nose-to-nose all night my single friend had a normal double room with a king size bed (where's the logic!!)

As a group of friends, visiting for a wedding, we were going to spend a lot of money on food and drink but weren't made to feel welcome at all and ended up getting taxis to restaurants elsewhere.

If you want a base to see the beautiful scenery then go for it. If you want somewhere relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerLilyVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We hosted our wedding reception here, and it was fantastic!
Our wedding planner/organizer was great (I think his name was Barry?!) Food package was fantastic- we opted for a carvery which was enjoyed by all our guests, and the view from the Atlantic suite was breathtaking.
We stayed in the Bushmills suite, which although a bit more expensive, was a luxurious stay!
Highly reccomendend for a wee romantic break.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geo_quest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNDEE
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

STUNNING LOCATION AND VIEWS. STAYED IN COSTLY SUITE WITH VIEWS TO DIE FOR 2 NIGHTS WHILE AT A WEDDING . THAT WAS THE GOOD PART, THE ROOM SERIOUSY NEEDS UPGRADE, LOVELY BATHROOM SPOILT BY SHOWER HANGING ONTO A BROKEN FITTING ENCLOSED BY GRIMY FOLDING SCREEN. ROOM NEEDS REFRESHING. STAFF PLEASANT BUT SLOW WHEN SERVING ALTHOUGH FOOD WAS GOOD.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PADDYDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I stayed here for three nights with 14 members of a golfing society. We had a great time and every one of our party was full of praise for this comfortable and friendly hotel with it's spectacular views and excellent food. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the facilities were everything that we had hoped. Our request upon arrival of a special sea food buffet dinner was met with a meal of outstanding quality. The room I had (101) has a large balcony and views over the Whiterocks Beach and the Skerries beyond. It was a large room with a double and a single bed. The only fault I could mention were the somewhat lumpy pillows which should be replaced. This hotel is well managed and has an instant ambience that will put guests immediately at ease. We were all impressed and will be back again. With rooms from £65 this is oustanding value. It is also only five minutes from Royal Portrush Golf Club and their world renowned and wonderful two links courses. Need I say more?

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty&TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.9 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
704 reviews
1.9 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
985 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
766 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
271 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel

Property: Royal Court Hotel
Address: 233 Ballybogy Road, Portrush BT56 8NF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#3 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel occupies one of the most picturesque positions on Northern Ireland’s famous coastline, overlooking the Seaside town of Portrush with panoramic views from County Donegal to the Scottish Isles and over to the Giant’s Causeway. The famous Links Course, Royal Portrush Golf Club is also right on our door step with the 4th hole protruding enough for our diners and guests to enjoy. You never know who you might be watching.With plenty of activities in our local area including, Links Golf Courses, the Legendary Giant’s Causeway, Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge, Dunluce Castle, beautiful beaches and coastal walks, and lets not forget Irelands Oldest Distillery, which was granted a royal licence to distil ‘uisce beatha’ translated, water of life in Gaelic or as we know it today Whiskey, in 1608, located in Bushmills. These are to name but a few, there is always plenty to do and see for all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Portrush
Royal Court Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing