We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean and friendly”
Review of The Oakdene

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portrush
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Oakdene
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My partner and I were up in Portrush for the airshow on Saturday. I had tried to book accommodation weeks ago but being a busy weekend, everywhere was fully booked. When we were there we decided to take a walk and see perhaps if there were any last minute vacancies. The Oakdene was the first place we came to and we were lucky as they had had a cancellation. The guy on reception was very friendly and pointed out that the room was at the back of the building and up a lot of stairs. We didnt mind as we just wanted a clean bed to sleep in - we weren't going to be sitting in the room all evening looking out the window. The room was small and basic but it was cosy and clean, with tea/coffee making facilities and ensuite shower-room. We had a good breakfast to set us up the next morning so it was everything we needed. I personally prefer to pay £50 for b&b for the 2 of us here rather than spending a fortune in a posh hotel. If you want the latest fancy furniture and modern decor then pay more and go elsewhere. If you want a clean bed to sleep in with friendly, accommodating staff then I must recommend Oakdene. I know that the next time I plan to stay in Portrush, I will be phoning here to book a room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Groidcognac1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for The Oakdene
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 34 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

arrived on the 27th august with my wife and 3 young children and stayed in large family room, we got a very warm welcome from Dave and Kerry and my children immediatley felt at home, got to room to unpack and were very pleased with amount of space for all the family and seaview from room was fantastic, we stayed 27th, 28th and 29th leaving on friday 30th.

during our stay, Dave and Kerry were so helpful and anything we needed was catered for there and then, our breakfast in the mornings were super and had a good variety from cereal, toast, to a full english breakfast cooked to perfection, i certainly left table fully satisfied and my 3 daughters all had cereal, pure orange juice and toast. other guests were very friendly and we dining at breakfast tables, chat was flowing creating a very happy, friendly atmosphere.

i took kids to the beach wednesday and thursday and on return they needed a wash down and we were very happy with bathroom facilities and hot water when we needed it, i had a shower everynight and again it was an electric shower so hot instantly.

location of property is superb, overlooking the ocean and eaststrand in view as is the whiterocks, large green area at front where kids could play whilst supervised, very quiet area and yet only 5 minute walk from town and shops.

we have already decided this will be our venue of choice next year again and have told family members about it also.
would highly recommend the Oakdene to stay in because its friendly, comfortable and affordable. we cannot thank Dave and Kerry enough for making our stay so enjoyable.

thanks so much guys. Stewart and Sasha Mckeown

Room Tip: seaview family room at front perfect for parents and kids. very happy stay here. highly recommend...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stu364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked this at last min (monday for a sat night stay) nothing available in the Oakdene so Kerry said they had rooms available in a place down from them with they had taken over, £50 for night, bedroom with ensuite so we booked as wanted to get away. When we arraived, paid £50 cash to Kerry, Dave took us down and asked what we thought off room, was speechless... place smelt damp walking in and looked like no-one had been in it in years :( spare keys at bottom of stairs, keys in all doors. Dave was nice and gave us towels & showed us to room, got in to room, no warm water to freshen up, shower wasnt working, dave said he would sort for us so we went out & had dinner, drinks, came back at 11.30pm. literally was B&B, he said we woudl go to Oakdene from breakfast, we no tv, no bedside lamps, 1 small pillow, light quilt! when got back it was cold, got into bed, but was too cold and scary, we were worried about health & safety of the place, even though we heard people next door, we tried sleeping with bathroom light in, no couldnt do it so got up and went to speak with Dave in the Oakdene, he offered us a room there but we said no and demanded our money back telling him of our disgust, he apologised but not good service at all. Do not stay here, health and safety is a concern, place i dont think is up and running as a B&B, duno how we believed it would have been ok. Alison

Room Tip: Do not stay here, maybe the Oakdene is good i duno, but definetly not the Belvedere, great location...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Very old building as there is crack in the walls and needs painted but everything as is very good as your only sleeping but the service is excellent and the manger would do anything for you the location is brilliant as a less than a two minute wall into town you can also wall also the coast to the beach
The room we had was good and the view is amazing you just sit there and watch the tide come in the breakfast is average you can get whatever you ask for

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letstravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The room was very, very small, the ensuite was tiny, double beds average, pillows were flat and we wondered how old they were, not even a small soap to wash your hands after using the toilet.
The Managers of Oakdene were lovely and very helpful and the breakfast was great. The owner needs to spend some money on the place. The smell when you walk in was terrible but it was not in our room, it was like the smell of smoke in the carpet but we did not see people smoking.
The saving grace was the lounge room which had amazing views and we loved being in there. So if you are not to fussy and you would be happy with a great location and a fab view then stay there, the managers will look after you well.

Room Tip: Second floor at the front is a bedroom next to a great big lounge room with a fab view. Just use th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

oakdene is set in a good position easy walk into the town and the wonderful attraction of good old Barrys amusement.The place is very tired, deco poor could do with a good uplift.however friendly staff very willing to please.The bedroom we had had a lovely view bed nice and comfortable the place is nice and clean.Thankyou Dave and Kerry
Isabel Fitzgerald
Kettering
Northants

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issyfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Awesome rooms, awesome breakfast, awesome people.......had a lethal time staying here....owers and staff were very friendly and very helpful...would highly recommend....ive even booked it for another 2 stays......unreal....

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank george_dara_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portrush hotels
0.1 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
392 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
411 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakdene

Address: 6 Lansdowne Crescent, Portrush BT56 8AY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Price Range: $30 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Oakdene Hotel Portrush
Oakdene Hotel Portrush
The Oakdene Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing