We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarmont Guest House
Ranked #19 of 28 Portrush B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great two day stay at the Clarmont the guest house has excellent sea view and is 5 mins walk into town and barrys amuzements. The triple rooms have fantastic sea views, breakfast was very good and all the staff were very friendly. Will definately stay here again

Room Tip: triple rooms excellent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    14
    12
    7
See reviews for
23
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, Co. Antrim, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our room was a double. It needed dusted and hovered, but it was comfortable. The family rooms looked more luxurious. We were made welcome, it was a good location close to restaurants etc and parking was right at the front door. Good breakfast too. I noticed children's toys in the dining room indicating an infant friendly house. Thankfully no children on my visit. The first floor lounge looked nice. I would have liked a hair drier available in the room and a glass in the bathroom to hold a toothbrush.

Room Tip: The best rooms appear to be the family rooms with a sea view. Bring your own hair drier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silveroscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

On arrival, we were met by a young girl who was very accommadating. I was shown my room which was big enough, but was very disappointed with the 14' TV. The wifi was broken and had to wait 4 days to be sorted.
Breakfast is very bizzare. For start you only have a half an hour window to eat, and there is no choice of juices. The glass used for juices were the size of snapps glasses so refills after refills. The breakfast was disappointing with no choices or even a menu. Coffee was probably the worst I have had, as it was weak and probably a Asda special buy.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin g, Manager at Clarmont Guest House, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hello again, it did seem we did struggle to keep you happy and found that once we dealt with one issue for you that you immediately found another.The wifi that served the room you were in was down but beyond fixing by myself and we got going as soon as the suitable help arrived.It was available in public areas throughout your stay and only down 48 hours for that I do apologize.Breakfast time on race week we do earlier as absoloutley everyone in the house is up and on the go early specifically to get to the racecourse.We had offered your group either early or later breakfast but you had declined??so im at a loss at your complaint there.now breakfast we do try to get a little bit of what the majority of customers would like which starts with fresh fruit..oranges apples ,bannanas followed by a selections of fresh chilled yogarts.A range of teas..blended,camomile,green or earl grey.or coffee (instant I do admit but not supermarket specials.) served firstly with toast either white or brown and with a range of jams,marmalades or honey.Our cooked option is based on the traditional Ulster fry ..suasages,bacon,grilled tomato,soda bread,potatoe bread,pancakes,beans and eggs(fried ,scrambled or poached) as well as that you can have any variation i.e beans on toast..bacon and eggs..well you get the idea.At all times there is always the offer of a top up or extra if desired.Bearing in mind we are 2 star accommodation I do think our breakfast menu is quite ample.I do think things took a nose dive from the minute you saw your company had booked a large family room with Jacuzzi ensuite and yourself a standard double.Listen we do take reviews seriously and will look at more options for breakfast etc but just to inject a bit of humour Joanne found it funny when you complained the television didn't work in your room until she plugged it into the wall socket for you especially when you were working for a media company covering the NW 200 as in supply of the large screens at the pit stop...LOL Thank you for taking time to leave us a review and as always we will keep trying to imrove.Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portrush hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

One of the best guest houses i have stayed in. We booked the triple room with spa bath and seaview. Didnt expect much at first as we didnt have to pay over the top prices for our room but when we shown to it it was absoultley beautiful, the rooms with very modern with a flatscreen tv, dressing area, 2 beds which i may add were the most comfiest bed i have ever slept in. And seating area looking out over the beach. The bathroom was massive with spa bath and shower and was very clean. The young lady on reception was really lovely and went out of her was to find us a cab as every other cab was booked up. Will defo be back to this place sometime soon

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whouston112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

First impressions were, good god what have I booked, it was cheap and looked ok from the pictures. Arrived and it was dark and the place next door was boarded up which gave the place a bad impression. The front of the establishment was grubby and needs a serious make over. Was greeted by a pleasant young lady who was polite and very accommodating, she showed us to our room and advised us about the jacuzzi bath which I thought was great. The place was clean enough however could do with updating, the room was huge and well equipped with all the extras, the bed was extremely noisy and the room had an echo which probably made it worse. The windows I think are a death trap, couldn't open and had wired glass, I doubt they meet health and safety regulations. The bottom sheet on the bed was a fitted sheet but was creased and looked grubby. On the plus side the staff were nice the place was warm, bathroom clean and the breakfast was limited to time but was good.

Over all I probably wouldn't stay here again, I would recommend a refurb with an injection of cash towards sound proofing, as I thought the people up stairs were gonna come down on top of us at one stage. It's cheap and serves it purpose but I didn't feel the love for this place at all. Oh and the jacuzzi wasn't great it didn't really work well but maybe I wasn't using it correctly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This B&B is in a great spot with excellent sea views but as many others have pointed out, the accommodation is tired and dated. It needs some renovations to brighten it up a little. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from a brief stay. The views are amazing and it's in a lovely quiet spot, but the property is a bit tired and rough around the edges. I would stay again for one or maybe two nights but I wouldn't recommend a weeks stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portrush hotels
0.1 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avarest House
Avarest House
#9 of 28 in Portrush
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Prospect House
Prospect House
#20 of 28 in Portrush
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarmont Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarmont Guest House

Property: Clarmont Guest House
Address: 10 Lansdowne Crescent, Portrush BT56 8AY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarmont Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarmont Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarmont Guest House Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing