We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Nugget of Gold !”
Review of Albany Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albany Lodge
Ranked #6 of 28 Portrush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A True Nugget of Gold !”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived at Albany Lodge for my birthday treat weekend and we were not disappointed ! Kate and Gywnne made us feel at home immediately. The room is well appointed with many extras and we were treated to several lovely gifts which were left in our room. ( I won't spoil the surprise) We had one of the best rooms for a fantastic sea View. 202 . Breakfast was delicious,beautifully cooked and tasty. Nothing was too much trouble for Kate who was so helpful and full of local knowledge. We ate out both nights of our weekend at 55 North which has stunning tableside views of the coast. Gwynne was very helpful with the booking of an excellent table. The restaurant staff were very helpful and the food was excellent !!

Our next evening was spent at The Mermaid down at the Harbour.
But ! Expect a long wait for food, as all food is cooked fresh. We waited an hour and a half but food was worth the wait. Both restaurants were very reasonably priced. We fully recommend anyone wishing to visit Portrush or surrounding to book with Albany Lodge! The welcome will not disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    45
    8
    7
    10
See reviews for
39
145
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location, within easy reach of the coast for a nice walk along the beach. A Good standard of rooms, although the mattress could be better. Room well stocked, good quality shower. Excellent breakfast, attentive staff. Overall well priced.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamswbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have had 2 overnight stays and have been made very welcome by kate and gwynne. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Nice touches like a mini fridge in the room and an iron. Also daily papers available. Great location and definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

my partner and I stayed here for one night on 16 august 2013.kate is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.the room was spotless and breakfast was also excellent.the location of this b&b is in the centre of everything and is across the road from the excellent 55 north restaurant.give it a try you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james5159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is one of the worst places I have ever stayed in- unfriendly and somewhat staff, room was dirty, it was generally very noisy and breakfast probably one of the worst that we have had at a B&B or café. Very poor indeed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate F, Manager at Albany Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Good Morning

We would like to know your Booking Name you booked under as we cannot find your reservation, and are certain that you have not stayed at Albany Lodge, Portrush.

Will contact Tripadvisor on Monday and speak to them.

If you did stay at Albany Lodge what room number did you stay in?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent a few very pleasant nights at Albany Lodge, a lovely home/B& B in central Portrush. Everything was excellent, including the room, the breakfasts, the sitting room, and the access to restaurants, especially the superb 55 North, across the street. Hosts Kate and Gwynne go out of their way to make your stay special, with excellent advice on routes and activities. Reasonable rates, and many little touches to make your stay special, right down to a few rose petals on the beds. This is a perfect base to visit the Giant's Causeway, Bushmill's Distillery, Dunluce Castle, the gorgeous coast area and many other attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrycap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

One of the best guest houses we have stayed in. Top marks for everything-the warm welcome,the care that went into everything for our comfort and enjoyment,delicious breakfast.. Our spacious room on the top floor had a terrific view of the beach below and along the coast.
We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor if you don't mind the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
0.2 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
966 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,782 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antrim House
Antrim House
#5 of 28 in Portrush
187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anvershiel House
Anvershiel House
#7 of 28 in Portrush
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Lodge

Property: Albany Lodge
Address: 2 Eglinton Street, Portrush BT56 8DX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albany Lodge guesthouse offers 3 star accommodation in the heart of Portrush. Most rooms provide outstanding views of the beautiful North Coast and is the prefect base to visit the Giant's Causeway, Royal Portrush Golf Club or the many fabulous restaurants. Room facilities include: TV, DVD, Radio, Drinks Cooler, Tea/Coffee & Snacks, Iron and WiFi. Unfortunately we do not have a lift, however we can organise your luggage to be taken your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albany Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Lodge Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing