We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food Poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tides

The Tides
Ranked #5 of 62 Restaurants in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ballymoney, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food Poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and myself had a meal here last week! We chose from the tea time menu so we got 3 courses for the price of our main which was brilliant value. The food was lovely but very slow service. We sat with main course plates infront of us for ages before they asked if we wanted dessert! The waiter had decided to Clear empty tables all round us instead of taking ours away!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gemzxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    232
    93
    57
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I visited this restaurant on Sunday 6th July following a recommendation from a friend and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the staff very attentive. The restaurant was very busy but staff coped great. The atmosphere is also very good, would recommend a visit and was very good value for money, 3 courses for the price of your main meal. Will be back soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenschoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

First time in tides and couldn't wait to see what all the fuss was about but I have to say we had a fantastic time, food was amazing, staff so friendly and atmosphere very relaxed, will be telling everyone how good it was.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jss06101973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Tide has lost its Pride”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is my first time to review with Trip advisor and unfortunately it has to be negative. Having read other reviews I wonder if there are two Tides in Portrush but after the experince last night I feel I have to share my frustration at what was meant to be a pleasant evening with friends looking out at the stunning views of Portrush (the problem was the windows were so dirty you could not see out.)
Having booked for 7.00pm eventually shown to table at 7.40pm despite asking no explanation was offered or apology when suggested a complimentary drink might help quite abruptly told sort it out upstairs.(I suggest you wear old shoes as there was food round the table on the floor and you tend to stick to the floor as you walk across it)
Food on the whole was ok but nothing special and well done steak was rare but the final straw was a rude waitress slaming down a dessert menu with no apology or "would you like to order a dessert.
Despite speaking to th manager twice there was no real effort to apologise and free drink and 10% reduction in the bill was offered(which when the bill arrived had not been deducted)
To summarise this was probably the worst eating out experience ever poor service poor attitude of staff and a manager who by his own admission knew his reception staff in his words" were not up to it but thought it would be ok to try her out"
First time report but feel it needed pointed out to let the tide turn and improvements made to what has the potential to be agreat opportunity to enjoy the North Coast Experience but if it does not improve i would suggest drive on to Portstewart.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“food,room for improvement”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

lovely friendly staff but the food not great, seabass was over cooked on some potatoes disappointing, open chicken burger very oily not nice. dished does not reflect the price asked and paid. Get the feeling your paying for the view.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tides also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to The Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing