We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value”
Review of The Tides

The Tides
Ranked #5 of 62 Restaurants in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portrush, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good value”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

good value tea time menu - child enjoyed. the desert was very good. service good but slow would return

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    237
    99
    58
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Ate here Sunday night. Wasn't overly busy but what would expect in a cold night in November. Got their tea time special where u pay for main an get starter and dessert. Great value!! I swapped my dessert for a beer instead. Food was fantastic and service was great!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food Good View”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We visited on the 23 November 2013 and had a meal from the Early evening Menu. On this Menu you pay for your main meal but partake of 3 courses. There is also an alacarte menu which is quite comprehensive.
The service was excellent the staff very friendly and the food was excellent. Being perched on the North Coast overlooking the sea with views to Portrush and toward Portstewart, one could not ask for better.
I have no complaints but a suggestion only. My wife and i had steaks and it would have been nice if there was a small salad also on the plate.
I am Diabetic and found that the Sweet selection was exactly that Sweet. I could have gone for fruit or some other sweet that was not made with a lot of sugar.
All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitchlynda79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villemian France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Par Excellence!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at the campground nearby and we walked to the restaurant. We had traveled from France to Ireland then Scotland and back to Ireland and I have to say of all the places we ate this was the absolute best. It was very busy on that evening. We were served promptly. The moules were excellent but could have used more bread (as we do in France) to sop up the sauce. Then we shared the chicken breast. So flavorful. We couldn't have been more happy. I am concerned about the bad reviews as this shows management is not paying attention to detail each and every day. To be successful you must take care of the little details and the rest will take care of themselves.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank floridatofrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tasty food and great service”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on Saturday night. Chose of the Tea Time menu which allowed us to ave 3 course for what the price of are main course was. All courses were very tasty indeed and all plates were cleared. Service was extremely good and will return soon!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tides also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to The Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing