We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcomng! Great atmosphere and lovely staff”
Review of Harbour bar

Harbour bar
Ranked #3 of 63 Restaurants in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Warm and welcomng! Great atmosphere and lovely staff”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Fantastic traditional pub. Lovely snug with huge open fire and plenty of locals and tourists to meet and chat with. Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya_k99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    84
    26
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We came to the bar to watch the Ireland vs Wales rugby match. The bar is small and inviting and the bar man gave outstanding service. He really took care of my mum plying her with tea during the game and arranged a table for us after the game in the attached restaurant. He even popped into the restaurant before he finished his shift to say goodbye. Don't leave Portrush without going for a drink here!

Helpful?
1 Thank ktdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I left N Ireland three years ago, and whenever I go home to visit I always try to get a trip to the harbour (anyone of the restaurants!) and it is always as a good as I remember it. It's maybe even better now that the Mermaid has opened. I'll go back. I always do

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flying-inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great guinness and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Visited the Harbour bar and bistro whilst on a weekend break in Portrush. Great food and cosy atmosphere in a traditional surrounding. Bar seems small at first sight but opens up to a larger bistro and loft bar. Excellent and extremely popular with locals and visitors alike. Ate in the Mermaid which is a sister restaurant on the Sunday evening. It is equally fabulous with great views across the harbour and Antrim coast.Prices are reasonable and the staff are very personable. Well worth a visit for the Guinness!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heidileich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Bar!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Is this not about the bar!?!? I'm writing solely about the bar and not the associated restaurants which have their own review pages!
My wife and I love this place! We arrived up on Sat 25th Jan and immediately hotfooted it to enjoy possibly the best pint of Guinness you will have this side of the border! This was repeated over the weekend as I find myself hard to drag away! It is a place where you will always get a friendly greeting and more often than not will find yourself having great craic with total strangers! On the Monday night we found we had the bar totally to ourselves (has NEVER happened before!) which was a novelty but Terry the barman kept us amused and was always ready to chat even though I don't think he was feeling the best!!! (the cough gave it away Terry!)
If you want a traditional bar that always has life about it, no hassles from rowdies and a great pint, look no farther! Here's hoping Willie is back well soon as we have missed him the last 3 visits! The celebrity lifestyle must be catching up...! Thanks!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour bar also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Harbour bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing