We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever”
Review of Harbour bar

Harbour bar
Ranked #4 of 66 Restaurants in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I left N Ireland three years ago, and whenever I go home to visit I always try to get a trip to the harbour (anyone of the restaurants!) and it is always as a good as I remember it. It's maybe even better now that the Mermaid has opened. I'll go back. I always do

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flying-inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    95
    29
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great guinness and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Visited the Harbour bar and bistro whilst on a weekend break in Portrush. Great food and cosy atmosphere in a traditional surrounding. Bar seems small at first sight but opens up to a larger bistro and loft bar. Excellent and extremely popular with locals and visitors alike. Ate in the Mermaid which is a sister restaurant on the Sunday evening. It is equally fabulous with great views across the harbour and Antrim coast.Prices are reasonable and the staff are very personable. Well worth a visit for the Guinness!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heidileich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Bar!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Is this not about the bar!?!? I'm writing solely about the bar and not the associated restaurants which have their own review pages!
My wife and I love this place! We arrived up on Sat 25th Jan and immediately hotfooted it to enjoy possibly the best pint of Guinness you will have this side of the border! This was repeated over the weekend as I find myself hard to drag away! It is a place where you will always get a friendly greeting and more often than not will find yourself having great craic with total strangers! On the Monday night we found we had the bar totally to ourselves (has NEVER happened before!) which was a novelty but Terry the barman kept us amused and was always ready to chat even though I don't think he was feeling the best!!! (the cough gave it away Terry!)
If you want a traditional bar that always has life about it, no hassles from rowdies and a great pint, look no farther! Here's hoping Willie is back well soon as we have missed him the last 3 visits! The celebrity lifestyle must be catching up...! Thanks!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim, N Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great food - great service and great atmosphere! A favourite place to eat in Portrush - always busy as the food is so good. Prices are very reasonable for both food and wine - highly recommend :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Montymag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Traditional little Gem”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Excellent friendly service in a traditional irish pub. Great atmosphere and evidently very popular with locals. Visited on a cold January day and were pleased to be greeted by a nice warm coal fire.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour bar also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Harbour bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing