We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An alternative family day out”

Waterworld - Portrush
Ranked #6 of 20 things to do in Portrush
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular attraction offers a unique indoor experience.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An alternative family day out”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Waterworls is quite small as has a limit range of slides with 2 big slides and 2 smaller slides. It is ok for a chane but would not be til of my kids to do list. Would not recommend for children over 10 more for younger kids. It a little overpriced for a family and cafe if expensive unhygienic actually would not recommend cafe at all.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Igjh2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    27
    22
    28
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, NS, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Couple Hours with Young Children”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent a little over 2 hours in Waterworld and had a great time with our 6 year old boy and 4 year old girl. I would say Waterworld is best for kids up to 10, and then it may start to lose some of its excitement, but still pretty good.

It has 2 water slides - they are not wild & crazy (hence the "up to 10" comment), but my 4 year old enjoyed coming down with me (have to be 5 to go by yourself) and 6 year old loved it.

There are a number of water guns attached to pirate ship and near the side of the pool which provides a lot of fun too.

A small space for swimming at 1m depth, some smaller slides off of pirate ship, and a wading area too.

Everything could use a fresh coat of paint, but it is a great spot.

15 pounds for the family.

Only 10p for lockers. Also a balcony up above in pool area for people to watch.

Overall, highly recommended for 90 minutes to 2 hours of fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wsekem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total disapointment”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went with my one and three year old.told only open to schools and wouldent be open to public till start of july.Total disgrace my son left in tears as long as i ever visit portrush i wont be back

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank angrycazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Water world let down”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

As its Easter school holidays and everyone is trying to find ways to entertain the kids we thought we would try water world and reviews seemed good.........what a let down oh yes drive 2hrs to get there and it's only open "quote...on the school holidays...which means June July August! But ten pin bowling is open" what we seen was far from impressive and we won't be wasting another journey

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JasmynB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dated and in need of a good clean”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The changing rooms are dirty and stink! The cafe is better than it used to be. The slides and pool itself are great for younger kids (I would imagine tweens and teens would be bored). A little expensive but isn't everything these days!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterworld - Portrush also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Waterworld - Portrush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing