We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Great !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portrush Holiday Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Awesome Hostel !
The owners were always kind, always welcoming and never ignored a problem. The facilities are all very well cultivated and the Hostel's positioning could not be better right next to the beach and the town. Had a really great time here for 2 weeks !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 230 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

We (German students group) stayed here for 2 Weeks. The owners were very friendly. They helped us with every problem we had. For Example we got great tips about the area. We had 2 own bathrooms for 9 people and breakfast was free. Everything was very clean and the owners are attentive to every guest of the hostel. Familar atmosphere!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Was greeted by the host Phil, who could not have been more welcoming, he gave us a tour of facilities avaible, and gave greats tips on things to see and do whilst in the area. The kitchen facilities were first class, and all the guests were very civil when using facilities available. Cereals, milk, jam and bread, tea and coffe provided by the hosts free of charge. Those who wish to cook a good hearty irish breakfasts can do so as i did because everything you need to do so is availble, beware you will make other guests mouths water, whilst cooking. We booked two rooms, 1 double and 1 beach cabin, fantastic value for money, we will definatelty return again one day.

Room Tip: All rooms, would be suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Just back having stayed in this holiday hostel for two nights in the Beach Cabin. It was warm and welcoming and the owners so very lovely and helpful in every way. Close to all amenities - beach, Barry's, restaurants and town. The Beach Cabin was great with a bouble bed and bunk - tastefully decorated with your own terrace and bathroom. A great place to stay and will definately be going back there again!
There is a well equipped kitchen where all breakfast food is available to prepare yourself and tea, coffee at any time. A very comfortable lounge with tv, DVD , books and all tourist info.
I stayed there with my daughter and 4 yr old grandson who loved it too, especially the bunk bed.
If you are going to Portrush and do not want the formality of a hotel, stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in Beach cabin and then there are various other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Ruthiebabes249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

It's in a great area! Not far from there beach, wine bar and Barry's amusements. Free breakfast and wifi too. Home away from home. Stayed in a dorm room with it's private shower-room. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed only 2 nights ago and just had to review this hostel. I honestly have to say that this hostel deserves 5* rating.
It feels like a home and you are made feel as if you were at home.
Clean, safe, all the facilities you need and a lovely personal touch from the great couple running the hostel. Everything that you need when backpacking is thought about and in place.
Great Breakfast :) well established kitchen with everything you need.
Thanks for our stay :)
Kate Marea
N.ireland and Brisbane girls :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank katiet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I can't express how impressed I am with this hostel! I've travelled lots and stayed in/lived in some of the best hostels in Australia and New Zealand. Portrush Holiday hostel is super clean, comfortable, convenient, homely and has the best free breakfast I ever had. It's a hotel experience for hostel prices! I would recommend this place to anyone as it caters for all types of travellers. They also have the Surf n Stay deal which is the best money I've ever spent. Go stay here, you will be just as impressed as I was!! Lisa

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borntobebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portrush hotels
0.1 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
726 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#6 of 8 in Portrush
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashlea House
Ashlea House
#14 of 28 in Portrush
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portrush Townhouse Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrush Holiday Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrush Holiday Hostel

Address: 24 Princess Street, Portrush BT56 8AX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Portrush
Price Range: $37 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portrush Holiday Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portrush Holiday Hostel is a small, family run hostel in Portrush. We offer comfortable, friendly, budget accommodation which is suitable for all visitors to the beautiful North Antrim Coast. The Portrush Holiday Hostel, operates like a self-catering guest house, so whether it's a family wanting to relax for a few days, larger groups coming to walk, golf or surf, or couples wanting to try the famous restaurants and nightlife, we are perfectly located at Ramore Head, Portrush to cater for all. Our hostel has a wide range of accommodation from family/double en-suite rooms, to larger dorms which sleep up to 8 people. The hostel offers a high standard of accommodation with en-suite rooms, a self catering kitchen, a spacious living/dining area with open fire and digital tv and coin-operated internet access. Wi-Fi is also available in all areas of the Hostel. There is also light continental complimentary breakfast consisting of bread, milk, cereal and tea/coffee available for all residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Portrush Holiday Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrush Holiday Hostel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing