We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looking forward to a return trip. Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portrush Holiday Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very relaxed place to stay. Sociable owners. The bedrooms were comfy, the common rooms very homey. The facilities in the kitchen were excellent. The location was great. Local bars were buzzing due to the music festival but I believe there is music every weekend. The surf was awesome!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gee201363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 231 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

I'd never stayed in a hostel before, but we really wanted to go to Portrush on the weekend we chose, and all hotels were either booked up or ridiculously expensive, so we thought we'd give this place a punt.

SO glad we did - the amenities, staff, location, cleanliness, in fact, everything, were top notch. I've been enlightened, this will now be my go to place for future trips, and it should be yours too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISawAnAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

well kept and well located. the owners provide a friendly oversight and are helpful with info. pricing was very reasonable. it is an easy walk from the train or bus and only blocks from ocean and town. our upstairs room on the south side was noisy one night due to neighbors in another building 20 feet from the window. room interior was basic and a little cramped for 2 but was en suite, a plus. bed was older and just so so comfort wise. tv is communal in a downstairs open room. large kitchen and prep areas with complementary cereals, milk, coffee and a large selection of teas. the biggest plus is port rush. family friendly with carnival rides several places in town. beautiful beaches. great golf courses within a 10 min walk. and the harbor and its activities several blocks away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank asaservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great cosy room, perfect location, amazing price, good breakfast facilities - many thanks!

Stayed for 1 night on a tour of N.Ireland, and loved the little town - you must try the amazing pizzas at Coast (and the desserts looked brilliant - pity we were stuffed from the mains so couldn't try them!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TJ18181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Apart from the lack of parking, everything else was great. Friendly people, clean facilities, little extras like a private outdoor area, cooking items like condiments and food items plus tea and coffee at any time as well as breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LorraineBanbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrive early in the morning, quite a few hours before check in time, and the hosts were very friendly and let us leave out bags safely in the hostel while we explored Portrush. Around check in time we were shown to our clean, functional, and comfortable room. We went for dinner right around the corner at a fantastic (and busy) restaurant right on the water. The next morning, after getting the expert knowledge and advice from portrush hosts we went out an explored the attractions, hikes and sights The hosts had excellent insight and were able to explain the surrounding area to us very well, they seemed to have a lot of first hand experience, despite how busy the hostel was te hosts still had time to help and be friendly - they also let us leave out luggage at the hostel while we went hiking.

I would definitely recommend staying at the Port Rush Holiday Hostel, I only wish I'd stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savannahaduggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I felt that we were VERY lucky to find the Portrush Holiday Hostel after our plans to stay with a friend in Cork fell through and we had to make other arrangements for our trip to Ireland on very short notice--and very short funds! Of course, it's a hostel, so nothing too fancy, but we had our own room, which was very clean and comfortable, and the owners are incredibly warm, inviting and helpful--SO glad we took their advice about which trail along the coast to hike--it was one of the best experiences of my life so far! Easy walking distance from the train station (like everything in Portrush...) and located right at the beginning of the wild and beautiful peninsula--definitely worth a wander!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bethany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portrush hotels
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#6 of 8 in Portrush
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashlea House
Ashlea House
#14 of 29 in Portrush
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aaranmore Lodge
Aaranmore Lodge
#10 of 29 in Portrush
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrush Holiday Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrush Holiday Hostel

Address: 24 Princess Street, Portrush BT56 8AX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Portrush
Price Range: $40 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portrush Holiday Hostel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portrush Holiday Hostel is a small, family run hostel in Portrush. We offer comfortable, friendly, budget accommodation which is suitable for all visitors to the beautiful North Antrim Coast. The Portrush Holiday Hostel, operates like a self-catering guest house, so whether it's a family wanting to relax for a few days, larger groups coming to walk, golf or surf, or couples wanting to try the famous restaurants and nightlife, we are perfectly located at Ramore Head, Portrush to cater for all. Our hostel has a wide range of accommodation from family/double en-suite rooms, to larger dorms which sleep up to 8 people. The hostel offers a high standard of accommodation with en-suite rooms, a self catering kitchen, a spacious living/dining area with open fire and digital tv and coin-operated internet access. Wi-Fi is also available in all areas of the Hostel. There is also light continental complimentary breakfast consisting of bread, milk, cereal and tea/coffee available for all residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Portrush Holiday Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrush Holiday Hostel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing