We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good.....but could be better!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelphi Bistro

Adelphi Bistro
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good.....but could be better!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We visited the Adeiphi last week and opted for the £13.95 menu (4 courses). This was excellent value......the portions were generous, the food was tasty. We had rib eye steaks......they were cooked perfectly. I had Mint Aero Cheesecake for dessert - also lovely. The young folks serving us were all pleasant.........BUT service was slow and at one stage we had definitely been forgotten about. As another person commented.......I reckon that the restaurant was understaffed.
However, we will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pianoviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    56
    13
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
“Terrible meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are a regular customer. Was in for a meal on Thursday 18th July 2013 @ 1.30 pm. Have been many times in the past and it is not hard to see that they have one disastrous chef because when this person is on our meal has always been terrible. You get a very small portion and everything is done as badly as possible ie hard crispy chips, tasteless, little meat and no thought or presentation given. We always know when there is a different chef on as everything is really good, tasty and well presented. We have a lot of friends and family that dine in this Bistro and they have the same thoughts. Something needs done within the kitchen to sort this problem out once and for all and I hope it is sooner rather than later for your Bistro is getting a very bad repetition just because of one person. I do like your Bistro and I will be back but I will monitor if Management addresses this problem. I hope that this will be solved as quick as possible.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 3 other friends had decided that we would have something to eat. I remembered that I had eaten here before so I recommended it to my friends and we all agreed we would go. We all decided that we would go for the two courses for £10.95. My friend is a vegetarian and the only option she could have was vegetable fajitas. No selection at all and the waitress did not offer her any other choices. For starter two of us had soup, which was very bland, and the mushroom starter came out cold. Four our main course, 2 of us we had chilli chicken and Garlic chicken, which we could not fault. It was let down by the side orders, the garlic fries were dry and so were the chips. the vegetarian fajita was completely swimming in grease. I did wait for a waiter/waitress to perhaps come and check if everything was okay with our meals but nobody did. Once we had finished the waitress cleared our table and still did not ask if we enjoyed it or anything. Finally when we came to pay i assumes we would then be asked about our meals, but nothing. The customer service skills in this restaurant were terrible. A very bad experience from when we walked in until we walked out, I would not recommend this to anybody and most certainly won't be back!

Helpful?
Thank MeganLcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat in Portrush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife, 10 month old daughter and I visited the Adelphi Bistro on a VERY wet day at the start of July 2013. We were warmly greeted upon arrival and had a very enjoyable lunchtime meal. My wife ordered chicken strips and I ordered Chicken Maryland. The portion sizes are very generous and the food was freshly prepared and very tasty. The staff were really polite, helpful and attentive. We would happily recommend the bistro to visitors to Portrush. And a thank you and well done to the chef and staff!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“"A little gem"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

What a find .. Great food , great service & value , the Adelphi is also spotless & staff very helpful & courteous , I will be back :-))

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank italian98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adelphi Bistro also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Adelphi Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing