We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed the one night with my wife and two kids. Absolutely great place service fantastic very clean and tidy rooms. No problems what so ever. A must stay hotel if in the area. Would stay again no questions asked.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    109
    63
    31
    6
See reviews for
96
164
15
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Me and my 4 year old stayed here spur of the moment when my father in law couldn't go. They transfered all details quickly and when we arrived the receptionist was lovely and engaged in conversation with my son. Room was lovely. Massive double and a single bed. All refreshements topped up and whole room immaculate. Decided to go for some tea in the bar area and the burger and chips was unreal! They were even able to cater for my fusy son lol. Comfortable nights sleep although it was very warm but i am 7 months pregnant so not hotels fault. Shower wasnt very warm and waa only powerful on cold wich is my only complaint. Hate cold showers!!!! Breakfast was lovely and had a good range. Overall excellent :-)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LucasMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton Delaval, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Probably a little too far out of town, but easily forgiven. When we go there a wedding was underway and the place looked hectic. Once the wedding breakfast started this dies away to reveal a really nice and friendly hotel, well worth a visit. Huge rooms, comfortable beds, clean, tidy, decent bar and free wifi throughout. Ticked some serious boxes. Not cheap but well worth the extra.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My sister and I had the Sunday carvery at the Hotel. It wasn't very good. The process of paying at the reception desk and waiting to be called into the dining room is impersonal and unwelcoming. We were not asked if we qualified as seniors although one of us is 68 - a compliment in one way I suppose and, of course, we could have offered the information. Still!

We were asked to order pudding at the same time as our starter even though we commented that it was difficult to know which pudding we might want as it would depend on how the meal had gone. The starters were tasty although the combination plate was not well presented, the soup was luke warm and there was no soup spoon and no-one to request one from. The meat and vegetables were tasty enough - luckiiy we both like very well done roast beef - and the desserts were fine although again presentation could be improved The wine that was served was available in local supermarkets at 3 for $10!

The serving staff were pleasant enough and probably doing their best despite having to walk up and down the huge dining room decorated in the style of the early 1960s. We noticed though that no-one said good-bye or thank you for coming in or anything else. So our rating is "could do a lot better:

On the other hand Leona's Tea Room in the same hotel is fabulous. Great service, awesome cakes and good coffee.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eldechri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I plus two Freinds stayed here from 11th to 13 th June after reading reviews did not know what to expect but on arrival to the time we booked out the place and staff where excellent want to say a special thank you to Bridget the receptionist for her warm humour and all her help regarding our return flight will be using this hotel again for sure

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have been to the Magherabuoy several times In the last few years however stopped going as we had awful experiences, myself and my husband would have ate there whilst up in North Coast for the golf. However on Saturday past we decided to give it another go, the food was absolutely amazing, as was the atmosphere! The manager served us gave us such great service and had time to speak to us and made sure we were happy with our meal..great waiting staff! well improved and very happy!! Will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fekz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We only stayed one night at the Magherabuoy House Hotel, we were just passing through the area to see the Giant's Causeway. I regret only allotting one night for this area. I would have loved to explore town and spend more time by the beautiful sea and view. The room was really large, super clean, and smelled lovely. The bathroom was spotless and spacious, which I find to be a treat when staying at a hotel. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. Breakfast was decent, not the best I've had but more than passable for fueling up for a busy day. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.5 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
982 reviews
1.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
703 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
270 reviews
6.3 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
766 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magherabuoy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magherabuoy House Hotel

Property: Magherabuoy House Hotel
Address: 41 Magheraboy Road, Portrush BT56 8NX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#5 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magherabuoy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished country mansion and three-star, family-friendly hotel offering luxury, en-suite bedrooms and free on-site car parking. Some rooms with views across the Atlantic Ocean. Bedrooms include large doubles/twins, superior, family and accessible bedrooms. Broadband is free throughout and the Hotel offers a range of dining options. Tea room open Mon-Sat 10am-4pm. Carvery Lunch served on Sundays from 12.30pm-2.30pm. Food is served in the Bistro every evening from 4pm. Located under two miles from Royal Portrush, the Hotel is ideal for those wanting to sample the famous links. Also within a half hour's car drive of the Giant's Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Magherabuoy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Magherabuoy Hotel
Best Western Portrush
Portrush Best Western
Magherabuoy House Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing