We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GolfLinks Hotel(Portrush)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Port Hotel(Portrush)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cromore Halt Inn(Portstewart)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    The Anchorage Inn(Portstewart)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Lodge Hotel(Coleraine)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (403)
    Filter reviews
    403 results
    Traveler rating
    183
    117
    65
    31
    7
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    183
    117
    65
    31
    7
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssuperior roomtea roomnight staylovely hotelnight porterhotel barroom was largereception staffsingle bedtown centrestayed here for one nightweekend breakcooked breakfastgiants causewaymid weekan evening mealfrom start to finish
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    268 - 273 of 403 reviews
    Reviewed May 6, 2013

    An overnight at this hotel was probably enough. On arrival at 2.20pm we were told that the check-in was 3pm and the room would not be ready until then ! Not - I'll check with Housekeeping and let you know. No - take a seat and I'll check you in at 3pm. However miracously the room became available ay 2.25pm when the room maids arrived at reception for a casual chat with the receptionist on their way home. The room great ,spacious and clean but TV too small for the size of the room but that's minor. Breakfast was poor at best, both in terms of food quality and service. A women in a waistcoat maybe the supervisor 'greeted' us in the loosest sence of the word. " What's you room number?" We were ticked it off the list from a board placed on the same table as the toast machine whist other guests were trying to make their toast. Not " Good morning and can I just explain breakfast service " Nothing - just "Sit anywhere you like". The food was like something out of a works canteen from the 70's . Fried and emptied into deep bain marie containers in a very unattractive fashion. The fruit platter had melon with the skin still on and tiiner grapefruit segments - so old fashioned. It is so apparent that training in customer service is sadly lacking or if it's given the staff dont' listen or care. On check-out the receptionist didn't even ask "How was everything ?" In some ways I'm glad that she didn't but it's such a pity that this 3 star establishment doesn't match up its accomodation with the food and service on offer.

    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank BarabusBangor
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 18, 2013

    After staying here for two nights, not that impressed at all. Stayed with my mum and daughter, room was ok nothing special. Did not get alot of sleep because of the noise of the other guests and children running up and down the hallway to all hours. Food not great at all, service quite poor.

    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank 318Lou
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 9, 2013

    This is a user friendly hotel. I found the staff very emenable and enjoyed my stay (overnight package of B & B and eveneing meal). i would recommend this hotel to anyone. it is only a 15 minute walk from the town centre.

    • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Dave0508
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 3, 2013

    The staff at this hotel are helpful and friendly in a perfect measure. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they always have a smile for you. As per usual in Northern Ireland customer service is excellent. The room was spacious, comfortable and a delightful space to relax, wind down, watch a bit of tv while getting ready. The bathroom and bedroom were warm and clean and hope to return. Thanks to everyone.

    Room Tip: We chose an accessible twin room. This does not have a bath but the bathroom is lovely and big with a fantastic shower.
    • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank EmmaKateTormey
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

    Dear EmmaKate

    Thank you for your review. I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us at Magherabuoy.

    Regards
    Trevor Clarke
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 3, 2013

    We stayed at this lovely hotel on Easter Monday and Tuesday 2013 with our two children aged 14yrs and 7yrs. The reception staff where very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our family room was impressive due to its spacious layout, the beds where comfortable, the bed linen was spotless and the cleanliness of the bathroom / bedroom could not be faulted. Our breakfast was delicious, our meal at the bistro was tasty and it was great having the availability of a pool room. We checked out of this hotel feeling relaxed and wishing we had booked to stay there longer. We have stayed at other hotels in Portrush and this is by far the best!!!

    • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank SoniaD82
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

    Dear SoniaD82

    Thank you for staying at Magherabuoy and for the lovely TripAdvisor review. I’m glad you found our accommodation to be clean, spacious and suited to your needs as a family, and our staff to be friendly, welcoming and helpful. We are delighted to be able to offer some excellent family bedrooms and these are always well-received as there are few like them in the area. It is so nice to hear that you checked out of the hotel feeling relaxed and wishing you had booked to stay longer – that is exactly what we aim to deliver to our guests.

    You will have to come back again soon for a longer break, as we have a new facility for families that might interest you, details of which are on our website. It should keep your children entertained, leaving even more time for you to relax...

    Regards,
    Trevor Clarke

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews