We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during off peak season so the hotel was quiet. All the staff were so friendly and really went the extra mile. Rooms were huge and gorgeous and staff even brought us our breakfast in bed free of charge on the second morning as a kind gesture a they were quiet. Would highly recommend staying in this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaceyMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear StaceyMon,

Thank you for writing a review about your experience at Magherabuoy House Hotel and posting it on TripAdvisor. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. So very nice to hear an example of our staff going the extra mile with your breakfast. Hope you can visit again.

Regards,
Trevor Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 404 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just been down for cousins wedding, had a great time, stayed for two nights and ate in the bar the first night, food was lovely and plentiful. The wedding was well organised and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear William T

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your cousin’s wedding and look forward to welcoming you back to the Magherabuoy sometime in the future.

Regards,
Trevor Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I made an overnight stop at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised by the warm and friendly welcome. My room, a large double, was immaculate. There was also free wifi. There were plenty of lovely thick towels in the bathroom. The toiletries were of excellent quality. Breakfast was included in the price; it was freshly-prepared and brought to my table. I had requested a newspaper and it was waiting on the table. The staff were extremely pleasant; nothing was too much trouble. With escalating tourist numbers in this part of the world, Magherabuoy will be more than up to the challenge of providing great accommodation at competitive prices.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Pat569

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Magherabuoy. I’m delighted you found the experience to be warm and welcoming – that’s what we're all about, and it’s our excellent staff who make that the case. I will make sure they are made aware of your kind words.
It’s nice to hear the value you place on our provision of free Wi-Fi, good quality towels and bathroom toiletries, and the timely delivery of your requested newspaper along with a good breakfast.
I appreciate your compliments about the Magherabuoy being well placed to accommodate the increasing volumes of tourists coming to this wonderful part of the world. Thank you again for taking the trouble to write a review.

Regards,
Trevor Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend recently - the hotel is in a good location, not too far from the main street of Portrush by car; the superior room was really spacious but pretty basic..we were on the ground floor so had a rubbish view of what looked like a private lane and someone's house (not a view over Portrush or the Atlantic ocean as stated on the website)! The TV in the room was so small and lost looking in the big room that I could hardly read the TV guide on the screen. The bed was big and comfy and the tray of tea, coffee, water and biscuits was good. Staff at reception were very friendly! We had breakfast also..it wasn't the best that I've ever had but it was edible and kept me going until lunch. These are all only small things so probably wouldn't annoy most people and they didn't ruin our stay. I probably wouldn't go back to this hotel as I've stayed in better for much cheaper but we did enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fataliegarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear fataliegarlic,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Magherabuoy. I'm glad you found your room spacious and comfortable and our staff friendly.
I'm sorry you were disappointed with the lack of view from your ground floor bedroom. Not all our rooms have views, and with this in mind we are quite specific in stating on our website that it is our first and second floor superior bedrooms that enjoy views across town and onto the coast. We may have been able to allocate you one of these rooms at booking, or if you had made this known to us at check-in, as our front desk team are only too happy to try and ensure our guests are content with their bedroom. Again, my apologies about your disappointment with this aspect of your stay and thank you for visiting Magherabuoy.

Regards,
Trevor Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Always go to the Wine Bar in Portrush but recently decided to pay the Magherabuoy House Hotel a visit. On entering the dining room we were met by a deathly silence. Only 2 other tables were being used. A beautiful room with terrible lighting. Atmosphere nil. This was further enhanced by the fact that there was no background music. During our meal we shared the private conversations of the other 2 tables.
Soup was luke warm. My steak which I have to say was very tender looked as if it had been just come out of an oven. No evidence of it being freshly cooked and again luke warm. My partner's chicken dish was a white piece of chicken drowned in tomato sauce.
Had to request water for the table.
Glasses arrived straight out of dish washer.

The good news is that if you want pleasant background music go into the gents toilets !
A potentially fabulous venue not performing to the high standards that are now expected.
Should have complained. Bottom line is that we're back to the Wine Bar. Don't mind the wait. The food, atmosphere and service always excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor C, Manager at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Response300,
Thank you for your review about your recent meal at with us at Magherabuoy.
I am sorry that you encountered the problems you have outlined, and that the atmosphere you experienced in the dining room was not to your pleasing.
I can assure you all items on our menu are prepared in the hotel kitchen using fresh ingredients, and our steaks are most definitely cooked to order.
From your comments I note you didn't bring any of the issues you have written about to the attention of our team as and when they arose. Our staff are well trained and can resolve issues such as a lack of background music or an issue with a meal promptly, and without allowing the matter to detract from the quality of our customer's dining experience. Please, always give any venue the opportunity to sort a problem when it happens as doing so is much more likely to acheive a favourable outcome for all parties.
Again, I'm sorry the quietness of our dining room wasn't for you. Thank you for trying us out.

Regards,
Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A perfectly situated hotel with easy access to all the places we wished to visit from the garden centre in Bushmills to shopping in Coleraine with even a walk along the prom on Portstewart. My Mum and I were warmly greeted on arrival by friendly staff. Our room was wonderful with plenty of space. The beds were very very comfortable and the temperature of the room was perfect. Our dining experience was excellent with a good menu to choose from. The food was beautifully presented and did not disappoint!! Our only disappointment was that time flew by and we had to leave all too soon. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone. Thank you for a very enjoyable midweek break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Libby R,

Thank you for staying with us at Magherabuoy and for taking the trouble to post a review on TripAdvisor.

I'm delighted you enjoyed a warm welcome from our team, a good rest in our accommodation and hearty food in our bistro. As you rightly say, there is lots to do in the locality even at this time of year, and a short break is a great opportunity to spend some quality time with loved ones.

There's only one way to overcome your disappointment at having the feeling of time flying by when you stayed with us - come back soon!

Kind regards,
Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

the hotel was the setting for my son and daughter in laws wedding,we had family travel from scotland,wales,england,and notheren ireland.i will start by thanking bridget the wedding cordinator,craig,matt the kitchen staff,rj the bar manager,and all the staff who helped make this a most memorable day.the hotel is a friendly and efficient venue for any function,the food is first class,well done chefs,the rooms are some of the best i have stayed in,clean comfortable.not one of our party had anything but praise for the hotel and staff,a big thank you from all.the wedding function was fantastic,the centre piece besides the bride,was the way it was set up...the table with the wedding cake,fruit table..ice sculpture.fantastic.the in house dj brill,the macstocker ceilidh band,certainly had folks on there feet, again thanks to mac.also a big thanks to kirkwood coaches.for picking up all guests from belfast airport and back again.so all in all a great time was had by all...well done the magherabouy.

Room Tip: superior room was great.but all are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesd94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear lesd94,

Thank you for the lovely review and for allowing us the pleasure of hosting your son and (new!) daughter-in-law's wedding. We're delighted you found the Magherabuoy wedding experience to be so enjoyable... we enjoyed having you all stay with us from near and far, we were especially fascinated with the ice sculpture! Thank you also for the individual mentions for our wonderful team, it's so nice to know that you got to know so many by name.

Regards,
Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.1 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
729 reviews
1.5 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
1.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
433 reviews
6.3 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
852 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magherabuoy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magherabuoy House Hotel

Address: 41 Magheraboy Road, Portrush BT56 8NX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#4 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range: $107 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magherabuoy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished country mansion and three-star, family-friendly hotel offering luxury, en-suite bedrooms and free on-site car parking. Some rooms with views across the Atlantic Ocean. Bedrooms include large doubles/twins, superior, family and accessible bedrooms. Broadband is free throughout and the Hotel offers a range of dining options. Tea room open Mon-Sat 10am-4pm. Carvery Lunch served on Sundays from 12.30pm-2.30pm. Food is served in the Bistro every evening from 4pm. Located under two miles from Royal Portrush, the Hotel is ideal for those wanting to sample the famous links. Also within a half hour's car drive of the Giant's Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magherabuoy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Magherabuoy Hotel
Best Western Portrush
Portrush Best Western
Magherabuoy House Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing