We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Dunluce Castle
from $74.50
More Info
from $32.80
More Info
from $31.50
More Info
Reviews (2,354)
Filter reviews
1,925 results
Traveler rating
1,093
651
152
14
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,093
651
152
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful ruins the cliff interesting history stunning location worth a stop game of thrones scones take photos antrim coast giants causeway entrance fee northern ireland audio guide car park national trust cave perched
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,925 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

I'll admit that it didn't look like much from the road side but we found a parking spot and ventured in to see the ruins. Lots of informative history here with the realization that the castle ruins was only a small part of the entire village in the area. Some terrific views and photo opportunities though and knowing the entrance fee is being used to restore the area made it all worth while.

Thank mikeyt53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Very much enjoyed visiting the village and the castle ruins. Good informational handout and plaques on the grounds. Castle is windswept, and the waves crash directly below the walls. Romantic and eerie!

Thank VivienneR811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is not a National Trust property but is managed by The Historic Environment Division of The Government.Not really expensive to enter as the upkeep of Dunluce Castle and the other 200 or so monuments must be colossal!The staff are professional yet friendly and very knowledgeable.If you love your history and heritage this is a must visit!

Thank Compass43677412495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was one castle I didn't want to miss. In Ireland it seems you could stop every twenty miles for a castle or ruins. You need to be selective... Unless castles are your thing! This one has a great history and spectacular views. Easy to get around.

Thank LutheranLadySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although a National Trust site and therefore costly to get in we spent a couple of hours here as part of our coastal tour. A handout plus plaques provide you with information. Found the scratched image of a sail boat done centuries go.

Thank OnTheList66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This castle his situated on a cliff and part of a wall has fallen in the sea at one point. There is a very small bridge between the two part of the castle. A must.

Thank b0b2145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely, family trip to Dunluce Castle, stunning views, the kids loved it. Staff very helpful, explained interesting bits of the history when asked but did not weigh you down with info. Would definitely recommend.

Thank GBGIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Dunluce. The views were absolutely jaw-dropping!! Walking around in the ruins really makes you appreciate how much work must've went into building this. I woud love to have seen it in it's "Hey Day".

Thank Angela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I guess our experience with Dunluce Castle wasn't on the same level as most other peoples as we felt this wasn't that great. We felt like this was an example of some ruins that just happened to still be somewhat standing so now they charge to go inside. And there are a lot of those in Ireland and this was just another one to add to the list. We used Dunluce Castle as an example over and over again when we got home of what we didn't like on our trip.

We got there right at 10am (when they opened) and the parking lot was about 1/3 full, including a tour bus dropping people off. When we left maybe 45 minutes later, the parking lot was full and people were circling around on the main road. The parking lot can maybe hold 10-15 cars so they're not meant to be a huge attraction (or so I'm guessing).

Mermaid Cave, beneath the castle, was only accessible via a path that was barricaded. When we asked inside, they informed us it had been "under construction" for a few months. The way he said it, we couldn't tell if he was annoyed we were asking about it, if the construction had been off and on or if it was something different altogether. We didn't inquire about when it would be open again.

There is a small room inside with diagrams, a movie (pretty well done) and some interactive items for kids. There isn't much info available while walking around the castle, though we did see a sign to download their app so maybe that has info on it. The castle is nicely preserved and you can get pretty close to the edge, within the castle, to see the water up close. We only stayed 45 minutes because we wanted to get our money's worth.

Thank redhead_roaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Parking can be a challenge and this is a very popular tourist spot. This very large castle is in a beautiful location with magnificent views of the coast. You check in and pay at a small visitor center - it was 11 pounds for 2 of us.

There is a small room, along with a restroom, right across the yard from the visitor center and it runs a short film telling you all about the history of the castle. I would definitely recommend taking a few minutes to see the film. On the wall in the film room were small pieces of paper filled out by visitors and posted. I thought it was interesting to see where people from all over the world have visited.

Once inside you are just free to wander around the large grounds and view the structures. The castle is very large and there are some areas where you can climb up steps to overlooks which is neat. Throughout there are plaques with information on different sections of the castle and there are some spectacular views of the coast from various spots.

We would highly recommend a stop at this beautiful castle.

Thank MT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews