We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but needs new rides”
Review of Barry's Amusements

Barry's Amusements
Ranked #3 of 22 things to do in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Derry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun but needs new rides”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I go every summer and i love it its fun but it does need some new rides i personally would fix up the Big dipper and the ghost train its more so dark and noisy than scary but overall i quite enjoy Barrys. I will go again this summer :)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeWWE1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    165
    73
    24
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Has not changed”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This place never seems to change from years back, day i went was bit over crowded and i found some ride tokens to be quite expensive, compared to other theme parks and amusements, quite a let down!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank charz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“same old, same old”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

needs updating badly, same stuff in it from when i was a child, staff not very friendly, just felt as if the couldn't be bothered most of the time..AHHHH Barrys never changes..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ajm1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“From bad to worse”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Against our better judgement we made a return trip to Barry's in the holidays. Same over-crowded environment, way too crowded for my liking. Got rammed in the back of the leg twice by mobility scooter drivers who expect people to just jump out of their way, not sure why they were even in there if they cannot go on the rides. Rides are too short now so a rip off. Music being played over loudspeaker was deafening. A lot of people in the outside area at the back smoking and holding live cigarettes down at eye level with wee children, had to guide my youngest son along so his eye did not make contact with someones fag end.
Had a similar experience as another reviewer with regards to those blasted coin-operated battery-driven wee cars on the other side of Barry's. I assumed Barry's tokens were accepted in this area, not so. Both sons wanted a ride on these things - one other child was already doing a circuit in one. My kids put their pound coins in and...nothing. Neither worked, both flat batteries. These were unattended so looked around and approached one youth attending the twirley ride beside - not interested. Told to go to the youth at the next ride who had a long line of customers waiting to go on his ride and said he would be over 'in a minute' - after 20 mins he was avoiding eye contact with us and then said he could not leave his post as he had a never ending queue. Approached a tired looking woman in the booth who said to go to one of the ride attendants....waste of time and two pounds down the tube. Not happy customers and wont be back again to this dump.

Pro's: none - okay, its a tradition and I guess you have to go once to say you've done Barry's.
Cons: Smokers, the toilets (ugh), too-loud music, too crowded. Rides too short. Impatient mobility scooter drivers....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank 27twinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dated and Restricted”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

hasn't really changed much in 30 years. Same rides same old things. Expansion restricted due to coast edge location.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barry's Amusements also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Bushmills, County Antrim
 

Been to Barry's Amusements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing