We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well run small Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very well run small Hotel”
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We stayed at this property in the very well known North Coast Resort, the hotel is situated directly in the heart of the town overlooking the sea. The Hotel is NITB registered as 3 star, but in my opinion is better than many 4 star hotels in the UK and Ireland. The rooms are spacious with TV, en suite, T/C facilities and Internet provision. The furniture is modern and simple, remembering that there is no directive for a 3 star hotel to provide sumptuous sofas in the rooms. The staff are efficient and pleasant and there is a mix of Northern Irish and International giving a very warm welcome to all guests. The food is good and the menus are very reasonably priced, breakfast is excellent with a wide range of buffet products.
We would recommend the Hotel- make sure you ask for a seaview room to make your stay complete.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    309
    134
    54
    60
See reviews for
195
431
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Our first stay at this hotel. Bright & breezy receptionist, and efficient to boot. Recommended we pre book dinner 9Saturday night) which was a great idea as it was (unexpectedly) busy.

Our room was overlooking the sea front but as it was foggy when we arrived we didn't realise this until the next morning. Apart from a few `drunks' it was fairly quiet (except there was a storm that night which produced a lot of wind noise. Comfortable King size bed with all the amenities but the room decor was very bland and `corporate'.

The restaurant. although very busy, had a good atmosphere and our food arrived pretty quickly (considering we didn't have a starter). Good sized portions and steak cooked to order. Very pleasant.

Breakfast was in the same room, but much quieter. Staff were attentive and there was a good range of food (cooked and buffet).

Checking out very simple and efficient once again.

Limited parking in front of the hotel (nb restrictions in July and August) but plenty of on-road parking within a stone's throw. Location is excellent for sea front and town centre too.

Can't comment on Portrush itself as we didn't spend long enough but overall a good choice and we hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cats_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Great hotel with excellent reception staff – probably the most efficient and friendly I have ever come across.

Stayed for 1 night, had no problem parking and the room was ready for us even though it was only 2.30pm. We had booked to stay in an Executive room and it was worth the extra money. Large room with lovely big windows which had both sea and street view. The bed was massive but initially felt a bit too hard for me, however I slept well so it can’t have been that bad. Really lovely, well fitted out bathroom complete with a Jacuzzi bath which was the perfect way to relax after a long day exploring the Antrim coast. I couldn’t get the bath to work initially but a quick call to reception and 5 minutes later a receptionist came up in person and it was sorted out immediately. I would have liked to have seen mineral water in the room and there were no extras like sewing kit, shoe shine sponge etc but they are available free of charge from reception in needed. No free standing toiletries either. The soap/body wash/shampoo is attached to the wall.

Lovely bar area and again the staff were great. The only complaint I would have was that one of the women working behind the bar and possibly in the restaurant (also saw her behind the reception desk but not in a receptionist’s uniform) had a loud disagreement with one of the barmen. I got the impression he was quite embarrassed and should she have had a genuine problem with him, being vocally aggressive in front of customers is not the place to sort it out.

Breakfast the next morning was fine with a good choice including choice of juices, cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, cheeses, French toast, fresh pancakes (it would be an idea to have maple syrup available for these) and all the usual items which make up an Ulster Fry. I always find buffet breakfasts don’t stay as warm as freshly cooked and again this was the case. It would also be nice if the eggs were fried freshly but that’s just my personal preference.

We checked out right at the last minute at 11 o’clock and there was a queue but again, due to the professionalism of the reception staff, we were checked out in no time. If only the lady at the bar/restaurant had been as professional!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 082012gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

As wedding party guests most of us stayed here to catch up on family we hadn't seen for years. Astonished to find on returning at 1am to hotel on a Friday night that there was NO BAR (night porter said 'no alcohol' in a triumphant, fundamentalist kind of way), no room service - nothing, NADA. Other (non wedding) guests arrived in and after initial disbelief, were equally disenchanted.

Nowhere to go outside the hotel either, Portrush is a dead town late on a Friday night in September it seems. So, went to bed at 2 am without a beer/cup of tea/coffee or even a drink of water - bit of a waste staying for a reunion. Hotel lost a great opportunity here.

However, as others have stated, staff were very nice, the location is convenient and the breakfast good.

Whilst charging top 'capital city' prices you still have to pay extra for WiFi internet and don't get a shower cap.

So it's early to bed, early to rise in a town that is sadly living in the past. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJRLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Has a wonderful stay at the Ramada in Portrush. The staff at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful with food recommendations. The hotel was very comfortable. We stayed in late fall and had a room with a great view of the water. The breakfast buffet had a lot to choose from. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ministoragequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I was staying in Ramada Portrush while at a wedding in the town and I got a much better rate than was offered at the wedding hotel.

The hotel is brilliant with the welcome from the staff amazing from start to finish. Our room was great with a beautiful view over the coast and ocean.

Breakfast in the morning was fantastic with amazing pancakes! The service from each member of staff was second to none and they couldn't have been more friendly.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying around the north coast!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanTopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I stayed at the Ramada in Portrush on a weekend break with my partner and I have no complaints what so ever. The hotel is perfectly located for the beach and the centre of Portrush. Reading a review below regarding parking..The hotel is of such a good quality that parking is not even an issue..although there is only a small car park, there is ample parking in the surrounding area. The hotel restaurant food was amazing (We had breakfast and Dinner at the hotel). Breakfast was good and there was plenty for everyone. Dinner, the menu was extensive and had something for everyone. Not to mention very reasonably priced (Steak with sides for £10.95). Cant have any complaints about my stay or this hotel.

P.S - I read in a review below about flags...These flags are traditional during the marching season in Northern Ireland although I must say that I was also there during this time and I did not see any flags in the surrounding area of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank -bert-bert-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
0.0 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.5 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrush Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrush Atlantic Hotel

Property: Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Address: 73 Main Street, Portrush BT56 8BN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portrush Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portrush Atlantic Hotel is situated in the centre of town overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. 69 Bedrooms, lift, Free WiFi and in room safe. Ideal venue for golfing, conferences or visiting the Giants Causeway, Bushmills Distillery or Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Portrush Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Portrush Hotel Portrush
Hotel Comfort Portrush
Portrush Ramada
Comfort Hotel Portrush
Portrush Atlantic Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing