We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our expectations were too high”

Royal Portrush Golf Club - Dunluce Links
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Players require a lot of skill and concentration to master this challenging 18-hole Championship Golf Course.
Toronto
Level Contributor
268 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Our expectations were too high”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I found this course a little disappointing. A highlight was watching Darren Clarke enjoy a game on the putting green with friends and his 2 sons. But the front holes were lined on one side with a trailer park and a very busy road with young people constantly yelling "fore". It wasn't particularly memorable. The caddies were the worse we have had - not very engaged in the process.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    32
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wet Weather Golfers”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Really enjoyed out time at Royal Portrush Golf Club, only disappointment was the lack of the 3 Irish hero's. Weather was a little disappointing but gave the game a more challenging edge. Hope sunshine can be arranged for our next visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic but disappointing”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I'm still not sure how to rate this - the Dunluce course itself was fantastic, top notch with nasty stuff all around if you missed your shot and a difficulty level that went up as the wind picked up. The caddy was the worst I had on the whole island, and the clubhouse was stuffy and not at all like the friendly Irishmen I saw elsewhere. Don't confuse this with the Rathmore Valley course next door, which is Graeme McDowell's home course and where his dad hangs out, and DOES have the friendly Irishmen of "Norn Iron", and at a third the price.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lazyleo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a course”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had a great time playing this course, right up there in my top five. Playing partner holed out for an albatross at the second.Every hole interesting and different. Only thing i thought they should change was,after paying £140 for golf, surely you should not be charged £3 for a few practice balls
D Simpson Perthshire

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Derrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Links golf course--challenging and spectacular”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

For anyone who plays golf or admires golf, the Royal Portrush Golf Club is one of the most spectacular links courses anywhere. Home of the 2012 Irish Open, it is the home course of Darren Clarke. I believe Graeme McDowell and Rory McIroy play there often, too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Concord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Portrush Golf Club - Dunluce Links also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 
Castlerock, County Londonderry
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Royal Portrush Golf Club - Dunluce Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing