We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a run down restaurant , pay before you actually receive meal , too much noise , 40 minutes of a wait and when food arrived ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Playhouse

The Playhouse
Ranked #45 of 62 Restaurants in Portrush
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a run down restaurant , pay before you actually receive meal , too much noise , 40 minutes of a wait and when food arrived ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We ordered food and found that we had to pay before we ate , took 40 minutes for food to be delivered , bad service , refund demanded and bartender did not apologise

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeff97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“big screen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

friendly staff, reasonable prices, great place to watch sporting events on full cinema screen.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food and keenly priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

While on a day out recently with the family we called into the Playhouse for lunch. I've been there before for other nights but hadn't ate there.
The kids had meals of the kids menu (burger and chips and hot dog and chips) at £3.95. Very good serving which I was surprised they finished, I had the blackened chicken and fries which I just about finished and the wife had the chicken Philly sub and fries which she also struggled to finished. Both of us agreed that the food was really tasty. All in all it cost about £22.
I'd recommended calling in if you are in the Port.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant, pure Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

The boyfriend and I had booked a party there and we had it last night. Everyone enjoyed themselves. The manager is a brilliant dead on bloke, everyone of the staff are very helpful. The DJ was very tired but still worked on. We had a brilliant time, I recommend the Portush Playhouse to everyone. What made the evening even special, was meeting the one and only Tim McGarry who played Da from the hit tv sitcom "Give my head peace"

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannidarling18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coleraine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good wee nite out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

went recently for a few drinks with friends and thought it was good - i used to love tracks so when it closed there was no where else to go without the crowd of kellys but playhouse is close- lots of room and good music and really nice staff the bouncer was great and checked if there was strobes so my epileptic sister could go into the popcorn party - good nite out

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank angel21Coleraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Playhouse also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to The Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing