We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashlea Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashlea Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
“FANTASTIC!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

After travelling up and arriving earlier than planned, we got too ashlea cottages and my first thought was WOW! A fantastic play area for the kids right outside our cottage. We stayed in the largest cottage for the night and I have to say it was warm, cosy, and extremely homely!! The place was just superb for myself, the better half, and our friends..not too mention the kids! WE WILL DEFINATELY BE BACK AND FOR LONGER NEXT TIME! Tom and Gail are great hosts, nothing seems too much trouble. A shame we had too leave but alas all good things come to an end!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Owner at Ashlea Cottages, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Many thanks for a great review and Gail and I hope that you will find a longer stay even more enjoyable, you didn't even get a chance to try our the putting and tennis!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    17
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portrush
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I booked in several relatives to stay at Ashlea Cottages who were visiting from ROI and England. Everything about the place suited perfectly - their spacious cottage had plenty of room in all bedrooms, living room and kitchen. There was a 'homely' feel to the place and the kids loved it - especially the play park directly in front of the house. Tom was very helpful in booking the place and in passing on local knowledge to my family - excellent price too... highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Owner at Ashlea Cottages, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Very glad to be of service and many thanks for your kind comments, especially the one about the 'Homely feel' as this is something we try hard to create.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundonald, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Tom and Gail had offered a weekend break in their cottages for up to 6people at a charity auction for Eating Disorder! I was very lucky to win this amazing prize at a bargain price, and we got real value for money
Ashlea cottages were ideally situated.... not too far from the Harbour bar.....for excellent dinning after brisk walks along the coastline to give you an appetite
Facilities were excellent after a long day out.....everything was at hand, Tom and Gail were excellent hosts.......Thank you both for the oppourtunity to have an amazing weekend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sylvia1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Owner at Ashlea Cottages, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Really pleased you enjoyed your 'Prize' and look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were accommodated early, gail and tom are lovley and very helpful. The cottages were toasty warm and cosy and had everything we needed.the location was fab and the facilities for the kids were excellant. We will def be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellsweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Owner at Ashlea Cottages, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review and look forward to having you back to Ashlea Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic winter break touring the Causeway Coast. Ashlea cottages was perfectly situated with just a short drive to Giants Causeway, Rope Bridge and Dunluce Castle, and wonderful coastlines all around. Whilst the weather was bracing ( to be expected in November) the cottage was warm and cosy, very clean and well presented. As we were the only guests this week Tom and Gail kindly upgraded us to a three bedroomed cottage which offered loads of space and home comforts. With full central heating, lovely fire, electric blankets (and even hot water bottles should they be needed) there's no chance of feeling cold once inside. Everything had been thought of including brollies just incase,and the beds were extremely comfortable which is unusual for self catering accommodation which sees so much traffic. Tom and Gail were also on hand with tips for local events taking place and help with anything needed ( and even some delicious cakes home made by their very artistic daughter - thank you). Whilst the weather unfortunately didn't allow for the outdoor activities to be open, I'm sure they are of great benefit in the summer. All in all a lovely trip and I would highly recommend this accommodation to families and groups of friend alike, as the accommodation lends itself well to sharing if that's your preference or you want an economical break. Thanks Tom and Gail for your hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Owner at Ashlea Cottages, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi Shelley,
Many thanks for your very kind remarks, it is important to us that our guests feel totally at home during their stay with us so that they can get the most out of this beautiful part of the area - even if the weather isn't perfect!! - Hopefully see you again.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in Ashlea Cottages as we were going to we wedding in Portrush. We hired two cottages at a very reasonable price for three nights in August. The facilities were good and the owner Tom was very helpful. He lent us a BBQ and even though we had not mentioned bringing a baby, he sorted out a cot for us. The cottages were for six people and they felt spacious. I would recommend the cottages to families or to groups of friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for my stag with 13 other family and friends. The owner Tom was very accomodating and the cottages are alot nicer than expected. They have everything you want from a self catering acc and well located to enjoy the splendor fo the beautiful North Coast. Price is super reasonable for a weekend at £180 for the 4 bed and £230 for the 6 bed, my mate is considering a visit next year to celebrate his birthday and said he'd defo choose Ashlea Cottages. Spot on keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonderryHuntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.5 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
1.5 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashlea Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashlea Cottages

Property: Ashlea Cottages
Address: 39 Magheraboy Rd, Portrush BT56 8NX, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashlea Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, NITB 4star excellently appointed holiday cottages overlooking Portrush and central to Causeway Coast area.Free fibre WiFi,Laundry,indoor playroom,Children's play area,trampoline,9-hole putting course and tennis court(equipment provided).2cottages have full wheelchair facilities and we are pet friendly(1 dog/cottage).There is a barbeque area and ample private parking.Ideal for family holidays, enjoying the world class sporting activities available or simply relaxing and enjoying the beautiful scenery. Golfers paradise!With 4 beautiful links courses within 10km radius(Royal Portrush Golf Club(Irish Open 2012)1.5km).Superb surfing on local beaches(1.5km) and excellent sea, coarse or fly fishing nearby.Very scenic walking and cycling tours are available locally.Supermarket approx 300 metres and larger stores in Coleraine(6kms)or Portrush(1.5kms).The Historic city of Londonderry/Derry(City of Culture 2013) is approx 55kms and Belfast City is approx 90kms with excellent Ferry and Airport access.We are situated right in the middle of the wonderful Causeway Coastal Route which meanders around the spectacularly scenic coastline and through small villages from Belfast to Londonderry.The Giants Causeway(8kms) is an iconic landmark where you can marvel at the unique rock formations, immerse yourself in the Myths and Legends of Irish Giants or simply enjoy the scenic experience. Bushmills Distillery(Ireland's oldest licensed distillery)is a'Must visit' along with many other local landmarks eg Carrick a rede rope bridge,Dunluce Castle etc etc.Portrush(1.5kms)and Portstewart(5kms) provide very good(and reasonably priced!)restaurants and entertainment and local taxis are plentiful and reasonable(Portrush £3.50).Public Transport(both train and bus) is available to Coleraine(bus stop 200ms from cottages)and beyond to Belfast and Londonderry.We will happily provide 'welcome packs'if requested and pick-ups from airports or ferry/train terminals can be arranged with prior notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ashlea Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashlea Cottages Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing