We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portrush
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilltop Holiday Park
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I'm just back from staying in a rented caravan Monday 5th till Friday 9th August with my mother, partner and two young daughters, my brother his partner and there two young boys were in the caravan next to us and I can honestly say for all off us it was an amazin few days the site was so well run and matained, our first thoughts on seeing are caravans were just how much space there was inside and out I loved how every caravan had its on parking space there is soooo much I could go on saying without a doubt me and my family will defo be back next year or maybe even Easter time :) look forward to seeing yours all again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 126 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a lovely week in one of Hilltops hired caravans from 27th July - 3rd August. Caravan was gorgeous and like brand new. Immaculately clean with everything you could need inc bed linen, towels and a food starter pack. They also supplied us with a highchair and travel cot for our 7 month old. All hire caravans also had decking and patio table and chairs which was a bonus, plus free wi-fi. Really close to portrush town centre, a few minutes by car. Would definitely stay again and would fully recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It has been a lot of years since I stayed in a caravan park as my last experience in Kellys in Portrush was not a good memory but Hilltop restored my faith in this type of family break.

The caravan was spotlessly clean, modern & had great facilities. There is a decent amount of space between the caravans and we did not hear any noise from any of our neighbours.
It was nice to know that a night watchman is on duty should any problems arise.

The staff were friendly & helpful. The caravan park is in a quiet location & the cafe was a welcome bonus.

I would definitely recommend Hilltop & you would know they were family orientated and not just all about profit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryK-NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked one night for our campervan "in" the campsite. However the site seems exclusively given over to static caravans. The space for campervans and caravans is on a (fairly depressing) stretch of concrete outside the campsite wall. Other than the ability to plug our electricity in, we might as well have camped on the side of the road. Actually I would have taken than trade, at least then we could have found somewhere with a nice view and minus the rubbish/dog excrement on the concrete 'site'. Give it a miss - there looked to be far nicer campsites nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Simon_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairsCaravans, Manager at Hilltop Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

'Hilltop Holiday Park' is the main caravan site for touring caravans, with designated pitches and facilities for tourers, motor homes and campers. 'Blair's' which is the site being mentioned is a static caravan site owned by Blair's Caravans for privately owned caravans, it is not a site for touring caravans, however some customers do prefer to park up on the concrete yard on the outskirts of the site (former sales yard) as it is slightly closer to the coast. Blair's is an option for touring caravan customers if they so desire to stay there, but it is not advertised as a touring caravan site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I agree with the previous comments about the play park, my baby came away from the swing with rust all over his hands and I saw another parent was looking very concerned about the creaks coming from the seesaw. I see the manager is complaining about the cost of new equipment, nice to know the price he places on our children's safety.

My other complaints are £1 for a shower when we paid £22 per night for the pitch, also the water goes off every ten seconds so in theory you would have to press the button 60 times during the duration of your 10 minute shower. Plus, the pavlova in the cafe was old and the fruit on top was sad and withered. I gave it back uneaten. The only positive I can think of is that the staff were young and charming. We will not be returning to this site.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were looking forward to getting away to the North Coast for the weekend to have some family time and enjoy the sunshine. We phoned several campsites in the North Coast area to book a site for our tent the week before we left home, but all their pitches were already booked - then we phoned Blairs and were told "No problem, you don't even need to book. Just come on ahead" We soon found out why.

Arriving at Portrush, we went to Blairs (whose number we had phoned) only to find it was now a static caravan site with no camping, The office was closed and there was nobody around. A resident informed us that the office there was no longer used and we should go to Hilltop Holiday Park as Blairs also owned it and we could speak to someone there. The lady on the phone had not told us this!!

We found Hilltop and were pleased to be given a pitch on the "Family Campsite" as we were camping with our toddler. Unfortunately it turned out to be nothing more than a patch of grass in the middle of the site, surrounded by roads with traffic constantly coming and going. It wasn't safe for a toddler and it was already very full, but with no other options, we had to stay. We squeezed our tent onto the last clear patch of grass and headed into Portrush for an ice-cream. When we got back there were easily another half dozen tents squished into the site, so close together that there was no space for our son to play outside the tent. There was also a tent in the space outside our tent where we had parked the car earlier in the day. The site was very noisy after dark, although we had been told the "Family Campsite" was meant to be quieter.

The facilities at the site are terrible. They would be ok if you were in a static caravan with your own toilet, shower and water supply, but there has been no thought for campers in tents. There wasn't even a tap where we could get water and the facilities for washing dishes were poor - obviously they expect you to eat out every night. There are only 5 showers and toilets for the hundreds of people on the site and they aren't even clean. You have to pay £1 for 10 minutes in the shower and there are so many people on the park that there was a queue for the showers from 7am! Thankfully we were up at 6.30, but the showers were so hot that we were unable to shower our son (the temperature is fixed for "safety reasons" so you can't alter it)

We were so disappointed in this site. We have stayed on excellent campsites who clearly value their campers and have put a bit of thought into their facilities. Other sites have communal fridges where you can store food or freezers where you can freeze your icepacks for your cool box, plugs where you can recharge you phone (for free - if you want to use the 1 plug socket in Hilltop's toilet block, you'll have to pay), proper pitches so there is no overcrowding and green areas away from traffic where kids can run around. Hilltop had none of these things, but thats hardly surprising when the facilities they did provide were so basic. We left after one night and were glad to leave it behind. If you are planning on taking a tent here, don't bother!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank welovecamping_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having rented a caravan, and told how great the site was, i was surprised that the only facility for children was a park stuck at the very top of site.When you consider the full size of the site, you would think a modern park in a central area would be more warming for both children and parents, rather than a outdated park stuck in a far off corner. i see the manager moan about the recession and economy, but still the yearly site fee bill tops the £2000 mark, and when you count how many private mobile homes there are on the site, its not hard to work out the ammount of money that goes into the site each year from yearly fees alone. not sure either were the manager gets the £200,000.00-£300,000.00 he expects to pay for a updated park, maybe he's going to build a disney theme park? But a more realistic idea would be to turn the top park into a play area for children, infants, and use the space to the side/central of the park to build a muga park for the older children.my older teenage son was limited to what he could do on the site. when i called into the office i asked to speak to the manager, as i was interested in maybe purchasing a van in the future, depending on what facilities were being added, but was told at reception, you can talk to him if you want but he's busy, pointing to his office. What happened to' sorry, manager is busy, but if you take a seat, i'll see if he can see you when he's finished. awful customer service. i just left the office, disgusted at the attitude from the main reception. my friends were also told of things that were going to be done when they bought their home, but are still waiting to see this new park. if a manager is promising this as a sales pitch, would be worth contacting trading standards as he is misleading would be investors, then coming up with excuses about the economy etc. people that pay the site fees are also struggling to find the money, not interested in excuse after excuse. its ok buying your home, try contacting the manager after you have forked out the £30,000 plus to buy the home, been told the guy wont even return pohone calls, and you have to constantly ring to try to get some line of reply, then told he'll ring you.still waiting mr myers. bottom line, half decent family park with limited facilities and awful management. nice cafe, but the prices are very expensive for the food you get.its a cafe, not a west end bistro! Having a few hire items would also faciltate the older kids, like large two seater go karts, maybe a pitch and put area for families to get together and play, my own opinion is it needs a new site manager, who will bring fresh ideas to a well situated site.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shinny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairsCaravans, Manager at Hilltop Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

At Hilltop Holiday Park we do try to maintain a Family ethos to the park. We are aware that are play park needs updating, which is why we have plans to develop this over the next few years and to move it to a more suitable place on the site. Play equipment is very expensive as it must be health and safety approved. For example 2 swings could cost £15,000 and a climbing frame could be £30,000. To cater for families Hilltop offer a free youth programme over July and August for customers on site. A number of qualified youth workers are employed by Blair’s Caravans to run this programme on site which also includes trips away which are subsidised by Blair’s Caravans. Hilltop Holiday Park is the only caravan site in Northern Ireland to offer this service to its customers. Although the play park itself needs work, this has not gone unnoticed and a significant amount of money is going to go into this new Play Park which I think shows that the company is investing in the family’s onsite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portrush hotels
1.0 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
714 reviews
1.5 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
1.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
400 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#6 of 8 in Portrush
278 reviews
1.5 mi away
Portrush Holiday Hostel
Portrush Holiday Hostel
#2 of 7 in Portrush
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Holiday Park

Address: 60 Loguestown Road, Portrush BT56 8PD, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Portrush
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Hilltop of the coastal town Portrush, Hilltop Holiday Park offers a relaxing break away to the seaside in a family oriented site. It is a 2 minute drive and short walk into the town centre of Portrush and is literally minutes away from the nearest local beach. Hilltop offers Luxury Hire Vans, Camping Cabins, Geo Domes, Touring Pitches and Tent pitches to rent. There is a Coffee Shop on site which serves breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea,dinner and takeaway. There is a children's play park and a complimentary Summer Club for children which is full of fun activities and trips. Hilltop Holiday Park is the ultimate family get-away on the North Coast! Whether it's a relaxing weekend away in a Luxury Caravan or an action packed holiday in a Camping Cabin or Geo Dome, your trip will certainly not disappoint! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilltop Holiday Park Hotel Portrush
Hilltop Holiday Park Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing