We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value great food and great staff”
Review of The Port Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Port Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Ate here Easter Monday and it was so good and the staff so friendly I went back with my family on tuesday. This hotel has an excellent location and a very homely atmosphere. Enjoyed the open fire and the olde world feel of the br area

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashmanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your visit to The Port Hotel and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 278 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

During an Easter Monday visit to Portrush we had a meal here.
Although the restaurant was very busy, and we had a short wait for a table, the service was quick and despite being extremely busy we didn't have to sit to long waiting on our meal. There were 6 in our party. The food was delicious and well presented. Only 2 had dessert, although the rest of us wish we had when we saw them come out.
The service was excellent and the price was very reasonable.
We are planning to go up and stay overnight at the hotel in June.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewT180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review Andrew.
We look forward to welcoming you again at The Port

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Thank you for a brilliant weekend...........room , food and the craic. counting down the days for a return.............special place.Don't understand some negitive comment's on here...

Paul D.........or to Jackie(Harry)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Port and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Unfortunately from time to time trip advisor can be abused by some members of the public.
Occasionally people can try to hold a property at ransom to try and receive discount. It’s unfair but most properties have been victims of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a meal at the restaurant. From the outset it looked promising, clean and well kept. We were looking for a reasonably priced meal, but are all steak lovers so decided to order their port special, apparently a rump steak. Whilst I was still deciding on what to have we were asked 3 times by different staff if we were ready to order within about 30 seconds - talk about feeling rushed! When the food arrived, the guys had ordered medium rare, I on the other hand had ordered rare, so you can imagine my surprise when an entirely chargrilled steak turned up. I asked for a new one, which the staff were more than happy to change, and eventually (after the others had eaten half their meal) received a steak which did at least have some pink in it. The steak itself was like none I have ever seen - and definitely like no rump I have ever seen. Less than impressed. After all the rush at the beginning, we then had to wait an ridiculous amount of time to try to pay the bill. All in all, not an experience I will ever try again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank fmtait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We have tried to contact the reviewer but have not got a reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for one night on good friday,The hotel is very nice and staff very friendly, esp the lady behind the bar.The breakfast is very good, you will def not leave hungry thats for sure!we stayed in the family room at the top, room nice, and beds comfy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TANYA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review Tanya, we hope to see you again during your next visit to Portush.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

On a recent tour of the beautiful causeway coast we decided to have a stop over in Portrush. We choice this hotel as it looked like a traditional local spot, we always prefer to go for a smaller hotel more so than the larger chains. The hotel has very friendly staff who gave us good advice on things to do whilst in Portrush. The bar with open fire was a warm welcome after the snow shower outside (yes in March). We chose to avail of their evening meal package rather than eating out and facing the cold again that night. I doubt we would have got a better meal anywhere in Portrush for the £12.00 each we paid. We only had room for 1 more Guinness before bed.
The room was large and clean, the staff were friendly, food was good and bar was traditional. We both would of liked to have stayed a second night.
What's not to like.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your visit to The Port Hotel and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the Port hotel at the weekend (16th March - 18th March 2013) We stayed in the family room 2 adults and a child with breakfast included. The hotel is located on the main street but has no parking outside but there are plenty of car parks nearby. The reception as you walk in is lovely. The room was an excellent size. It had a double bed and then a room conjoined off it for the child which had 2 single beds in it and tv which was handy. Beds where very comfy I thought and I slept really well. There isnt a lift and there are alot of stairs which are narrow but that for me wasnt an issue but if ud prams etc id say it would be difficult the decor of the stairs is dated. The bathrrom in the room is nicely finished. The bathroom in the family room is up a step u have 2 step up into it which wasnt a prob for us but maybe just watch if you have smaller kiddies. Shower I am sorry to say doesnt funtion right I spent ages trying to sort it out and still couldnt get it right basically it was either freezing or absouletly roasting. I was standing in the shower and it went freezing!! Wuldnt have been suitable for kids it was way to hot. Rooms where clean etc but again just a bit run down in places but it is an old building and they are well presented. On the first night it was very noisy which was a shame. I fink the people in the room above us where having a party as we could hear their music and them laughing etc so the walls floors are thin.The food is lovely we'd lovely breakfast both mornings and we went for the evening meal £12 for 3 courses and it was gorg to and we where stuffed. The child had roast beef and he had a big meal for onli £4 and again he was full.

Overall we had a great stay and the staff where very nice.. Thanks :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at The Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review Denise.
We are continuing to upgrade the hotel and hopefully you will see the improvements on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you again at The Port

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
0.0 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
0.0 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
716 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
415 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel

Address: 53/57 Main Street, Portrush BT56 8BN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
Price Range: $85 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Port Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Hotel Portrush
The Port Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing