We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a weekend away.”
Review of The Port Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Port Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for a weekend away.”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have stayed in The Port at least once a year for about the last 8 years. Usually for a weekend or on the odd occasion a week. The staff are always very helpful and pleasant and the hotel is always very clean. The decor is probably a bit dated but the rooms are always well looked after.
I have stayed here with my partner, and also took my 5 year old a few times and it is ideal for both families and couples. The bar down stairs has great entertainment all summer (crazy davy) and kids are more than welcome, which is great if you fancy a few cheeky pints. The food is usually very good though not the cheepest meal out in Portrush and the fry for breakfast is always lovely. If your goin to Portrush for a few days stay here.

Room Tip: Try and get a front street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    78
    32
    15
    32
See reviews for
65
103
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed here with wife for the weekend and had a brilliant time.Always stayed in the Ramada before but will not be back after staying here.Brilliant hotel an staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed here with our twin boys for a couple of nights in July 2011. Excellent hotel for families, good childrens menu, travel cots - very clean, good entertainment in bar at night and very friendly staff. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Well what can I say,great value,great location and a smashin bar!! Food was lovely and also good value. Must say,ive never had a room key with a keyring bottle opener,top drawer.and they let me celebrate chelsea winnin in my own way. We had a room with a view, smashin.we will def be back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonzalez9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

stayed 25th to 26th room nice and clean.had a meal it excellant would stay here again well worth the money.the staff are friendly ,the entertainment was good

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Spent the weekend in portrush and stayed in The Port Hotel for 1 night. My bf and i found the hotel and customer service was excellant , we instantly felt v welcome by the friendly staff, were informed of all we needed to know and shown to rroms. We were on the top floor overlooking the main street, was no noise problems at all, and the room had everything we needed. The room was very spacious with plenty of wardrobe space and cupboards. The bathroom was also very big and we had been provided with plentyof towels. The sat night entertainment was very enjoyable and great fun for all ages esp families. The breakfast the next morning was brilliant plenty to eat and againn great customer service, even as we were leaving. Overall we had a brilliant time and will def be back to stay at The Port Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 817Emma_K817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Arrived on the 27th Jan 2012, Room nice and clean. Could hardly move in the shower so small. The room above must of had a lot of kids in the room from 6:30am the banging on the floor was horrible. Not to mention the light vibrating every time someone walked across the floor.

The main door into your room was not to secure. you could see the light in the hall way coming through the frame I dont think that would be very safe if there was a fire. And also I think if someone give the door a good push they would be in your room. Noise from the disco is very loud so would not recommend it for a quiet weeken away. Also no lifts if you have a disability.

Went to the bar to order dinner, Not the best of a menu. I ordered Buffalo wings bad think to order. It was 5/5 chicken wings burnt and covered in bbq sauce. Main meal I had champ, mashed potato with spring onions sitting on top with 2 portions in their wrapper put on top of potatoes. The chicken I had with main meal was so tuff while cutting it, it flew across the table. and the home made pepper sauce was horrible.

Entertainment at night was fine could be better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georginamitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
0.0 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel

Property: The Port Hotel
Address: 53/57 Main Street, Portrush BT56 8BN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Port Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Hotel Portrush
The Port Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing