We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with good friends!”
Review of Shola Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shola Coach House
Ranked #1 of 28 Portrush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Like staying with good friends!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at Shola, and hope to return.
Prior to arrival Sharon had kindly sent through restaurant recommendations, made us a reservation in a local restaurant and offered to drive us there - we had high hopes!
We were not disappointed. On arrival Sharon and Dave served us tea and home made cake. They made us feel most welcome. Our room (Buttercup) was beautifully furnished, and I like some other reviewers enjoyed soaking in the bath with Lavender bubbles.
Breakfast was delicious, the homemade Guinness bread and porridge with a tot of Bushmills were particularly enjoyable.
Once we were home, we received a personalised email, which added to the sense of having made new friends. Hopefully it won't be too long before we return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneP6137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks a million for taking the time to post this lovely review. Even if you arrive at Shola as a stranger you leave as a friend! We look forward to welcoming you as returning friends on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
388
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Shola is a beautiful building with lots of history. The decor is classy and stylish, while the rooms are huge and super comfortable.

What makes this place unique is the lovely warm welcome (including fresh pots of tea and lemon drizzle cake in front of the fire)... We even got a lift to our evening dinner in town.

The breakfast is amazing, with freshly baked bread and lots of choice.

The perfect spot for your north coast break, within short distance of all major attractions and beaches.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plutonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for posting this great review and we hope to give you another warm welcome before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was our first time in the Shola Coach House B&B in Portrush where we stayed just one night. We fell in love with it instantly. It is idyllic, just a few minutes drive from the centre of Portrush in its own private grounds where you feel that you have stepped into a fairytale surrounding. Sharon and Dave are wonderful hosts who welcome you into their house with a genuine warmth, within no time you feel as if you have known them a lifetime. The Lilac room was gorgeous, impeccably finished and the bed was so comfortable. For breakfast Sharon's wheaten and guiness bread (just out of the oven!) was a perfect choice, will maybe try Dave's fry the next time!!
We loved our stay at Shola Coach House and plan to be back for another night before Christmas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are delighted to receive your complimentary review and thrilled that you are planning another stay for before Christmas, it will be lovely to see you again. Thanks for posting this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a great little B&B. My Wife's parents were on holiday from America and they had such a great time touring the North Coast but especially enjoyed the hospitality at Shola House. The rooms are spacious but still feel cozy and are impeccably decorated and maintained. A great nights rest and then an amazing home cooked breakfast the following morning at the pre-arranged time. Everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilmcd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this lovely review. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your in-laws and delighted they enjoyed all the North Coast of Ireland has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Shola Coach House B&B in Portrush for only one night, and we were sad we couldn’t stay longer. It’s a very peaceful setting just a couple kilometers outside the bustle of town. Sharon and Dave are such gracious, warm and welcoming hosts; it felt like staying with family. When we first arrived it was a tough choice between whether to enjoy tea with Sharon and Dave or take a soaking hot bath with Lavender bubbles (we stayed in the Lavender room). We did both!! Sharon made us dinner reservations at a restaurant overlooking the sea and drove us to the restaurant so we could toast the perfect sunset. The next morning they were up extra early preparing our breakfast of homemade bread and fresh fruit, followed by made-to-order hot yummy dishes from the kitchen. They accommodated their schedule so we could make an early tee-time at Royal Portrush. To top everything off, Sharon shipped us a sport coat that we left hanging in the room. We recommend the Shola B&B to anyone visiting the Portrush area. Plan on staying longer than one night!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We too wish you could have stayed longer, but nonetheless it was great to host you for the one night and we just hope we get the chance to welcome you here again. Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review and recommendation, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in B&B's around the world and our experience is that they normally represent good value.On a recent three week vacation to the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland we stayed in several B&B's but none like the Shola Coach House run by Sharon and David Schindler. Truly this is a special gem hidden on the outskirts of Portrush, Northern Ireland, and if you get the chance make the effort to stay. It is small so book early. The house is what fairy tales are made of with tastefully decorated extra large rooms, high quality linens. comfortable beds and modern well appointed bathrooms. It enjoys an inner courtyard surrounded with established gardens which in the summer months must be truly delightful. The food and hospitality of our hosts was second to none. This is without question a five star operation offering terrific value based on the nightly rate. Our experience clearly confirms the Shola Coach House is setting a new standard for this segment of the hospitality industry. Hats off to Sharon & Dave for a job well done.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appleton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are truly grateful to you for taking the time to write these very kind words and post this lovely review. It was really a pleasure to share Shola with you and delighted that you enjoyed this very special place we are lucky enough to call home. We hope to welcome you back here on your next trip to Ireland, and for longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at Shola Coach House in July (sorry for the overdue review!!).

Sharon and David welcomed us to their beautiful house when we arrived. Almost immediately we joined the other guests (just one other couple) in the living room and were served home-made cakes and teas for afternoon tea!
The house itself is very spacious and nicely decorated. Living room has a few lovely sofas and guests can relax and chill in there. I can imagine it being very cosy and warm in the winter.

David has the important role of cooking hot breakfast every morning (awww) and Sharon would serve us lovely home-made bread, fruits, yogurt and juice. Sharon and David were so nice and friendly it almost felt a little strange for them to make us breakfast! From the dining area you can walk out to a paved courtyard that extends to the garden (unfortunately it was raining when we stayed).

We stayed in Lavender Room. Room is big, with pretty chandelier and needless to say, clean, and with a large en-suite. View from the window was a raised field and sometimes we could spot the (neighbours'?) ponies. We found the in-room information pack Sharon and David put together very useful, perfect if this is your first time visit to N.I / Portrush. Portrush will be another review but I recommend to include Harbour Bistro as one of your dining options - Sharon and David will tell you all about restaurants and places to visit :)

It was our first time in N.I. and we spent long hours out and about - when I go back next time I will definitely spend more time in the house!

Room Tip: Buttercup room has a little balcony, maybe we will try to get that room next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingpeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for posting this lovely review, and better late than never! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to Northern Ireland and that you felt welcome at Shola. It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you in winter where you can relax and stay warm in front of the cosy log fire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.7 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
704 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,816 reviews
1.8 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
766 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
722 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shola Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shola Coach House

Property: Shola Coach House
Address: 110A Gateside Road, Portrush BT56 8NP, Northern Ireland (Formerly Shola Cottage)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award winning 5-star B&B (rated 2nd best B&B in the WORLD in the 2015 Travellers' Choice Awards, winner of the best Serviced Accommodation in the Northern Ireland Tourism Awards 2014, and TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence winner in 2015 & 2014) is a beautifully restored home dating back to c.1860. It is set within a secluded and private rural location on the outskirts of Portrush a mile from Royal Portrush Golf Club on the Causeway Coastal Route. The Giant's Causeway, Dunluce Castle, Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge, Old Bushmills Whiskey Distillery and miles of golden sand and surf beaches are all within minutes.The four spacious and elegant luxurious en suite bedrooms decorated in soft, neutral shades with a mix of antique and contemporary furnishings and fabrics are complete with super king-size beds, FREE super-fast WiFi, flat screen HD TV, DVD, hair dryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There is ample free car parking on site for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shola Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shola Coach House Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing