We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deals and friendly staff”
Review of 55 Degrees North

55 Degrees North
Ranked #17 of 65 Restaurants in Portrush
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great deals and friendly staff”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We have been a few times recently and have enjoyed all our meals.. Rocket salad , chilli chicken pasta and cheesecakes my favourite. I will be back, just wanted to say thank you to the staff for arranging birthday puddings for the boys (men) :-))

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxychick121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    409
    252
    180
    207
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“55 degrees North”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a brilliant restaurant with a great view. There is a great food choice. Tea- time menu offers 3-course meal starting from £10. There is a bistro and a cafe, both with many good seats and offers a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kirst40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Another disappointment when will I learn!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Its only Tuesday after all but one forgets about the mid term half term name it what you want holidays, so there were buggies gallore and toddlers and noise....and a few screaming weans being ousted out by hopefully grandparents or my mind boggles....!!
Well we got a quiet enough table but I only went there for the view as a memory to my younger days... alas that did not happen....so that was a bummer to begin with re table............no alternative was offered.
Oh yes Food,, well we wanted the fish and chips, sorry its not available we have run out of said choice...okay we will have grilled haddock thank you, sorry think there is only one left, we decided okay you have that Mr and I will opt for something else...back came the response sorry we have none left...okay we will just have two prawn sandwiches please, which arrived in super quick time which means they were already pre-prepared... You know Trip Advisors why does this aforementioned dish (in the salad bit that is) have to contain so many uncooked raw vegetables, i.e.peppers, red and green, finely sliced red onions just okay although they were also in abundance...and cucumbers with skin still on.....mmhhh think indigestion right away!!....I wont be returning for the view it is so wasted, hope one day (when owners decide to sell) it will be taken over by someone who will have table cloths and linen and a few chefs who will order in enough fish to support the orders of the day....,.. now I have given this place four five six times and it is always the same,,, hear endeth the lesson...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fair_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had visited Carrick a Rede rope bridge last Saturday and thought that we would go for a meal. We visited 4 establishments on the way to Portrush, and thought their menus very disappointing so carried on. Arrived at 55 Degrees North a little early but liked the look of the menu so decided to wait until 5 o'clock, thank goodness we did. The 4 of us had a really lovely meal and the price was excellent. My son who isn't from these parts said that he would bring his whole family down next time and he will definitely be eating here, he was really impressed. Thank you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tyzack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious, best customer service ever”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Me and my partner had a yummy 3 course meal, mussels were to die for, dessert of roulade scrummy. Well priced. Our waiter was lovely very helpful, mannerly and welcoming. We will both be back. A relaxed atmosphere and we didn't feel rushed the way the harbour or wine bar give you a time slot. The views are stunning and the ambience is perfect. There is a gorgeous light fitting with a lot of the bulbs blown. This would be worth fixing as we both noticed it and it detracted from it a wee bit but this may have been due to where we were seated.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 188LyndsayT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 55 Degrees North also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 

Been to 55 Degrees North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing