We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“crowded, but great place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Harbour Bistro

The Harbour Bistro
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“crowded, but great place.”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Would be great if they could make it bigger, as it's always packed when we go into it. Staff are friendly and the atmoshpere is always good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ajm1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    159
    65
    35
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food, relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Firstly the food. I have dined here on numerous occasions and always had a great meal. The cooking is done on wood burning stoves and it is an open kitchen. Great food and I would recommend you try the specials. The whole menu is good value.
Atmosphere is relaxed and you can't book. Pick up a ticket at the desk. Go and enjoy a pint (I recommend the guiness) in the harbour bar (full of character and crack), which is part of the same complex and they'll call you when you're table is ready. Be warned though that at busy times there can be quite a wait if you aren't there early
Go and I'm sure you will enjoy it. Only reason it hasn't got 5 stars is because of the wait sometimes. It is the victom of it's own success!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The-oracle-NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“From a helpful recommendation”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

That we consider as one of the best experience ever, if we talk just about the food.

The atmosphere is great, service is very kind and a nice view of the Kitchen but the food..... We loved it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex Jana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Fabulous food, the best restaurant in the complex, kids menu is also very good, would be great if you could book as there can be long waiting times to get a table.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DAWN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average to fair food, prices starting to get a bit excessive, saved by the venue”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I've visited all of the restaurants in the Portrush Harbour area over the past 20 years. The fare in the Harbour is certainly tasting and consistent with a core of favourite mains providing the backbone of the menu down the years in this and the neighbouring establishments.
However, on this Saturday evening visit our party of three had what can only be described as 'reasonable' food, with very friendly service at the bar to order food, but the visit was overall let down by the service from those bringing the food and clearing the table which was below par on this visit.
Chicken Bang Bang and Arizona Chicken were, as usual, just as they were as usual, i.e. solid and predictably tasty. The presentation of 'chicken bang bang' - two skewers of marinated chicken with dipping sauces - was a bit off in that the large pieces of chicken could not reasonably pick up much flavour from the marinade. My sirloin steak - medium rare - was disappointingly chewy and only redeemed by the bearnaise sauce which was pleasantly light.
Overall the restaurant has had a pleasant makeover since last visit, and the prominent wood grill and central bar are an enhancement, but at £48 for just the three main courses and two alcoholic drinks I will definitely be thinking long and hard about alternate dinner venues in the area ... if only there were competition beyond Portrush Harbour!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincoln_Cliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Bistro also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to The Harbour Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing