We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three days should have been three weeks”
Review of Cullentra House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cullentra House
Ranked #1 of 10 Cushendall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Olive and James are such perfect hosts. From great meals (the full Irish Breakfast is an absolute feast) to the decorations and even the plumbing fittings were first class. We had a little problem at Heathrow due to a fire on the runways and were a day late in actually checking in at Cullentra, but our hosts were more than accommodating to our schedule problems, and were really neat people. Would I stay there again? Absolutely! A truly wonderful visit in Northern Ireland was made all that more superb by the quality of our accommodations with Olive and James.

Room Tip: I heard that the rooms with private baths were kind of small. We share a bath and were very comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w2lov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and we are delighted to hear that you felt comfortable and well looked after during your stay with us. I do hope you have fond memories of your visit to N Ireland and that you will return again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 268 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

Olive gave us good leads on local restaurants and attractions. She picked up some specialty items for our breakfast after talking with us the first afternoon. Terrific food. The view to the sea is spectacular and perfect for viewing rainbows (look toward rain with sun at your back). This is an excellent value. Convenient to Giant's causeway.

"Harry's Cafe Bar Bistro" in Cushendall is a 10 minute drive form the B&B. An excellent dinner choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us even in the rain. Hopefully you can return again sometime in the future to view this wonderful landscape in the sunshine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night during our holiday in Ireland. This is luxury accommodation at a reasonable price, terrific rooms, breakfast and views. Olive and John were really helpful and informative about local restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything to your pleasing. We strive to provide the best for all our customers and to be recognised for this is very nice to hear. We hope you have fond memories of your visit to N. Ireland and perhaps we can be in a position to accommodate you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Absolutely lovely place! Great view, wonderful location, friendly hosts ! 

We were offered a pot of nice hot tea and home made cakes when we arrived. It was a nice gesture.

We were given a small(ish) but comfortable room….except for the bathroom. This was winter and the bathroom had no heating. It was freezing and the floor was very cold. On warmer days, this would not be a problem. I hope the rest of the bathrooms in the house don’t have this issue.

The electric shower was a bit tricky. It could have been better. Again wouldn’t have been an issue on warmer days. I can only assume this problem was specific to our room and not the entire house. The room we stayed in had a small shower cubicle. If you are over taller/bigger than average people, I think it might be a problem.

Despite that our stay was comfortable. The hosts were kind and helpful, breakfast was just fabulous and the view from the main living room was breathtaking. Ideal place to stay if visiting the Glens, Rathlin Island and may be even the causeway. You can reach all the important sightseeing places in about 30 mins.
 
Would definitely go back again. Just lovely!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank archana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us even if the weather was not pleasant for this time of the year. Snow and freezing temperatures make it difficult to enjoy the beautiful scenery of the Antrim Coast & Glens.

I am sorry to hear that you found the bathroom cold and lacking in heat. A switch was located on the wall in the bedroom to activate the heater in the bathroom. Pity you did not report the difficulty with the heating during your stay as we are always here to make our guests feel at home and be as comfortable as possible.

We do look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Olive and John certainly know how to make one feel welcome! Everything was perfect, beautiful rooms, bathrooms, grounds and breakfast. Olive gave us ride to the local pub and then came to pick us and deliver us "home". I wish we could have had more than one night at this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Everything was perfect. A warm welcome with tea and homemade scones. A very quiet place ideally located to discover the Antrim glens. Breathtaking views through large windows. A clean, comfortable, spacious and cosy double room. A lovely typical Irish breakfast. Very helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bchroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My niece and I recently stayed at this amazing place. Outside, spectacular views of water, fields, and mountains, brought inside by large windows so you can sit by the fire, enjoy tea or coffee on arrival with home baking, and get this, even get a ride into the village for dinner AND A RIDE HOME!

Olive and John do not miss a trick from the details around the room down to the chocolate on the pillows and lovely towels to the steam shower and glorious oversize tub. Breakfast was lovely and would reccommend this space to anyone spending time in Ireland. Wish we could have stayed longer!

All the best to Olive and John. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: ours had a bathroom outside the room. Don't let that turn you away. It was spectacular and large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cushendall
15.5 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,453 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Glens Hotel
The Glens Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cushendall
176 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glendale Bed & Breakfast
Glendale Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 10 in Cushendall
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Village B&B
The Village B&B
#6 of 10 in Cushendall
127 reviews
2.6 mi away
Glenn Eireann House B&B
Glenn Eireann House B&B
#4 of 10 in Cushendall
103 reviews
1 mi away
The Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullentra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullentra House

Address: 16 Cloughs Road, Cushendall BT44 0SP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cushendall
Price Range: $58 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cullentra House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cullentra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cullentra House Cushendall, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing