We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty treat”

Sleepy Hollow Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 97 Restaurants in Newtownabbey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty treat”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were two couples out for a saturday night meal. The staff were very friendly but slipped up a bit on basics like offering menues while we awaited our table.

The meal was served promptly and the undouted highlight was the quality variety and presentation of the dishes which would put any of the top Belfast rivals to shame.

The place was full and it seems does a roaring trade seven days a week.Under new ownership, it has been redecorated and has a wonderful vibrant atmosphere.

Well worth going out of your way to visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblingman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    116
    49
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely family restaurant!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked table for 5 on Sunday evening and have been telling everyone about it since then! Service was very efficient and staff were friendly and polite (particularly a young man who served us- he made sure we were well looked after and took time to make sure our little one had everything he needed). Food was delicious, the chicken parfait with ham hock was so good! Main course was beautiful and very well presented and the 2 mini desserts are a great idea! All in all would thoroughly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RooBll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lunch : Ok”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have eaten a la this chef before and he has good ideas and tasty food.
The only problem was the main course of Fish and Chips was just on the verge of being burnt.
We were in a rush so we didnt complain......the fish inside was lovely ....batter and chips nearly burnt.
Nice touch was the wee glass on beer !! quirky

Starter was good.

Will go back ...with more time ....to see what it is like in the evening

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“New, Exciting and Delicious!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Always have loved this place in years gone by, but was really excited when Paul & Co. took over late last year. It was the ideal choice for my little ladies Holy Communion Celebration and it didn't disappoint. From the minute we arrived we where made to feel very welcome and not at all rushed. We had a few drinks in the lounge area upstairs whilst deciding on our menu selection. Once this was ready we took our seats in one of the lovely eating areas downstairs. The food was beautifully presented and was declared delicious by everyone - Starter, Main & the really petite and beautifully prepared homemade deserts. This restaurant is unique and the locations is so idyllic & tranquil and the food is of a very high standard. I can't wait to visit again. Many thanks for a lovely day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraceyS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and ambience”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was my first visit, and it won't be my last. The food was excellent, one of the best meals I have eaten

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Griogairach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleepy Hollow Restaurant also viewed

Ballyclare, Newtownabbey
Newtownabbey, County Antrim
 
Newtownabbey, County Antrim
Larne, County Antrim
 

Been to Sleepy Hollow Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing