We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming place with the loveliest of hosts--very sweet, fun, and genuine. Can't wait to return someday!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbeydene House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtownabbey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbeydene House
Ranked #1 of 5 Newtownabbey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Absolutely charming place with the loveliest of hosts--very sweet, fun, and genuine. Can't wait to return someday!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

I loved Abbeydene House, and I especially adore Tim and Ethy. I traveled to Belfast by myself and decided to stay there based on all the reviews I read, which were spot on and completely accurate. You can't actually put into words how lovely this couple really is--meeting them is simply a must! The House is beautiful, the rooms are terrific, and the view is fabulous! It's also rather conveniently located. I have fond memories from a holiday I shall not forget.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelleinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
25
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Needed somewhere in Newtownabbey to stay for two nights and checked out reviews here on Trip Advisor. So glad I booked into Abbeydene house, Tim and Effey are excellent hosts taking care of every need.

The house is just a little quirky - but nice quirky, not like those bizare places one sees on "The Hotel Inspector". Give it a go, you won't be disappointed. The rooms are clean, nicely furnished and spacious. I decided to work in my room for a few hours in the morning and environment was certainly suited to it.

Breakfast was excellent and Tim makes very nice coffee (very important in my book.)

If you do decide to stay, drive to nearby Whiteabbey village and try some Pooh Bear ice cream from Maud's, it really is to die for.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TunbridgeWellsJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Very relaxed bed and breakfast accommodation located 10 minutes drive north of Belfast centre. Only required one night's stay after my original flight from Glasgow was cancelled but this proved no problem. The ensuite room was spacious and welcoming, with a huge collection of DVDs available for evening's entertainment. Thought I was receiving extra special treatment at first- as I was given a Presidential suite (Eisenhower) until I realized all the rooms are named after past Presidents! Would certainly recommend Abbeydene and would love to return for a holiday rather than on business.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanDCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The B&B is a lovely Victorian building full of antiques and the odd surprise such as a retro Pharoes' pinball machine. The room was lovely and comfy, ours was en suite with shower but there is also a large communal bathroom with a huge bath (just like in the flake adverts!)

There is a huge selection of d.v.ds to borrow as well

The breakfasts are huge and well cooked by the friendly owners and the breakfast room enjoys sea views and the aforementioned statue of Elvis which adds to the charm.

Abbeydene is located in the north of Belfast at the end of the M5 (literally), not far from Belfast Zoo and Castle and the Causeway coastal route. It only took us 10 minutes to drive into Belfast town centre. There are a couple of nice restaurants in the village up the road as well. It would probably suite people with a car who want to experience Belfast and see a bit more of the countryside and coast as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenbetsyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

This beautiful house is just outside Belfast on the road to Carrickfergus, with lovely sea views. It is a lovely grand old house, with beautifully furnished bedrooms. The house is sparklingly clean, the bed linen of very good quality. There is one room with a sea view: book it if you can. Not all rooms have en suite bathrooms.

Every possible need of a traveller has been thought of in advance. There is not only a hairdryer, but a curling thongs and straightener; a supply of free chilled still or sparkling water; a nail scissors and tampax in the bedside drawer. A library of 1000 DVDs to choose from. Free internet access.... Tim and Ethie have thought of things you won't think of until you suddenly find you need them. Tim and Ethie are extremely welcoming and helpful, and offered to drive us to a local restaurant and to collect us if we wished. The walk by teh sea was so lovely, we declined. Breakfast cooked by Tim is eaten in the dining room with a sea view and a lifesize replica of Elvis: yes, this house has personality, and a quirky Belfast sense of humour, evident throughout. The breakfast is prepared with care, and can consist of a full Ulster fry if you can dare it.

For the price we paid, this is extraordinarily good value. We were in Belfast working, and to come back to this lovely house in the evenings felt like being on holiday. There is a great friendly Indian resturant serving delicious food within walking distance, and a seaside park and walk just behind the house. A perfect place to stay on a trip to Belfast, whether for shopping, business or holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

My husband and I found the Abbeydene House on the gotobelfast.com website, and decided to stay there based on the photos. It's only a ten minute drive north of the city center, in an upscale, safe, neighborhood. Free parking in front.
Abbeydene turned out to be the most wonderful B&B we've ever stayed at. The house is a beautiful renovated manor house overlooking the ocean, decorated with interesting music memorabilia. The room was en-suite, with a view of the ocean, and was beautifully decorated. Beds were very comfortable with crisp white linens, and nice pillows. They had a DVD player in the room with a huge movie collection in the common area to choose from. Tim and Ethie (owners) helped us find kids movies to keep our son entertained, which was a huge help to settle him down after a long day of traveling. Ethie laid out a nice selection of cookies and biscuits for our tea, and they had bottled water available in the common area. The breakfast was fantastic too--a full Ulster fry--and great espresso. They accommodated our toddler with oatmeal and a banana, so we were very appreciative for that.
I highly recommend Abbeydene. It will redefine your expectations for all other B&B's!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thelulupop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtownabbey
3.3 mi away
Corrs Corner Hotel
Corrs Corner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtownabbey
352 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
497 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Belfast Titanic Quarter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Belfast City Cathedral Quarter Hotel
3.6 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
204 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeydene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeydene House

Property: Abbeydene House
Address: 20 Abbeydene Manor, Newtownabbey BT37 9JQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Newtownabbey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newtownabbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeydene House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeydene House is a beautiful Victorian mansion set in a quiet location overlooking Belfast Lough. It was built in 1850 and enjoys a great history when, in 1945, General Dwight Eisenhower visited the House. Your hosts, Tim and Ethy Clifford, will ensure that your stay will be enjoyable and comfortable. If you do visit us, you will be impressed by the convenience to the many beautiful places available for your interest - the Odyssey Arena for concerts, cinema and restaurants (8 minutes), the Waterfront concert hall (8 minutes), Belfast City centre (10 minutes). The Causeway Coastal route starts near Abbeydene - this will take you North along the beautiful Antrim Coast road to the Giant’s Causeway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbeydene House Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing