We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on a plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oregano - CLOSED

Oregano
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Heaven on a plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch in Oregano on Sunday and as always it was a hit. The food really was amazing. I had the seafood chowder followed by hake which came with crab claws followed by lemon meringue with raspberry sorbet. All of it was heavenly! The only request I would have of them is that they bring back the passion fruit creme brulee. On the website this was on the menu but when we were there it was actually amaretto creme brulee. My husband had this and it was lovely but the flavour was just a little overpowering. The passion fruit one they do is seriously the best dessert I have ever had. Oregano is our current favourite restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillyNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    34
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, reasonable prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were dining out with friends we hadn't seen in some time, looking for something nice, but not too exclusive. Oregano fitted the bill perfectly.
A good wine list that didn't break the bank, good starters, a nice meal with plenty of it, but no desserts as we are all on diets (the curse of the over 50's).
I would recommend Oregano for families or even the quiet romantic meal for 2, whether its with someone you should be with.....or otherwise.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Improved!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I previously reviewed and mentioned the unkept exterior. On a return visit we noticed a big improvement, there has been a lot of tidying done! First impressions really do matter! Glad to say, the food is still excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosiep49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have eaten dinner here twice this year. Service is snappy, food served right temperature with lots of tase and flavor. A jewel of a restaurant in somewhat of a obscure location, but a great alternative to going into Belfast. It can be a little noisy. Had a steak one night and sea bass the other. Both were grand.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outside lets a great little place down!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

When we arrived we were a little doubtful because the grounds and surroundings are unkept and in need of a gardener and some tlc! However, glad to say, this was not the case with the interior or the food. We had a fantastic pre theatre meal and could not fault any of the dishes or the service! Desserts were particularly memorable - creme caramel brûlée and popcorn panna cotta, yum. I would definitely eat here again and would hope to see an improvement outside as it gives a poor first impression and really let's the side down.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiep49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregano also viewed

 
Ballyclare, Newtownabbey
Whiteabbey, Newtownabbey
 
Ballyclare, Newtownabbey
Newtownabbey, County Antrim
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing