We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“consistent quality”
Review of The Khayber

The Khayber
Ranked #10 of 100 Restaurants in Newtownabbey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ballyclare
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“consistent quality”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have eaten here 100's of times, maybe into four figures and am never disappointed.
The complimentary pompadoms and dips just get you in the mood.
The starters are yummy, Garlic Mushroom Puri - Mixed Kebab, all excellent.
The staff are superb, Mouray, G and Nicar all gentlemen and very anxious to please.
The main courses are varied and delicious, Vegetable Side dishes are not to be missed.
Mixed Jalfrezi or Lamb Bhuna. The variety of nan bread and the range of drinks to wash
it all down bring you back here again and again. I do miss Dev and Abdul was a gent
but apart from that you must eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golftheology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    26
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Two visits in one week”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

For a birthday treat for me we went on the 11th March 2013. The food was very good plenty of flavour, plenty of substance to the dish. We had two mains, two sides, wine and liquors. Whilst not cheap it was worth it.

Anything we could not eat was packed to take home because we did have a lot left over as we wanted to try a few different dishes.

One member of staff was very attentive and a gentleman, unfortunately I do not know his name as they do not wear name badges, which is unfortunate because he does indeed deserve praise.

Friday we went for lunch it was completely different. The food did not seem to be up to the same quality, obviously portion sizes are smaller which is to be expected.

As I during the course felt unwell, not from their food by the way, I asked could I take home most of my food. This was not allowed the waiter told me.

What surprises me the same waiters served me and knew I had been there on Monday and spent a lot of money and I had returned again, repeat business.

I object to my left overs being scrapped in the bin rather than giving them to me...
The Indian Ocean and Kinara both do not have any problem with that neither do restaurants like Pizza Express, Pizza Hut to name a few.

For this reason I will not be returning.

I have been a loyal patron of the restaurant since it opened but I am sorry wastage of food , which has been paid for is very upsetting to me.

Everyone has their own opinion just voicing mine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.antrim, n.ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely curry served up by a very friendly staff member”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely curry with my husband and we were served by a very pleasant young girl called Orla who had a big smile, made our evening !! We will be back , keep up the good work

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poshclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Always had a good experience.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have visted this Restaurant on several occasions now. It is my favourite Indian Restaurant of any that I have been too. The tandoori Mix starter is Delicious. The Chicken Tikka Masala is the best I have tried anywhere. I don't get to eat out as often as I'd like or I'd go here a lot more often. As it is I only really get the chance to go maybe once every couple of months.

I have never had to wait any longre than 10 mins for a table. The staff are always pleasant. The restaurant is always clean. Complimentary Poppadums while you wait for your order with Tasty Mango Chutney. Reasonably Priced and there are car parking spaces right on the doorstep.

They also offer a Takeaway service for anybody wanting a tasty meal at home while watching a movie. You can call them and place your order and then go and collect it so you don't have to wait around.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_In_Ulster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always consistent”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been going to khayber since it opened. It is always good both service and food. The owner is always welcoming and you feel relaxed and comfortable. Always look forward to visiting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gretchenBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Khayber also viewed

Newtownabbey, County Antrim
Newtownabbey, County Antrim
 
Whiteabbey, Newtownabbey
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
 

Been to The Khayber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing