We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Khayber

The Khayber
Ranked #12 of 97 Restaurants in Newtownabbey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Consistently great!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I've tried quite a few indian restaurants in Belfast and beyond but I still think this is the best. The naan breads are just amazing, staff always friendly and good with kids, prices pretty reasonable too. Can't ask for more. Portions pretty large I think so would not usually do a starter!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    26
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly but average.”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Food ok. Service needs to be improved, staff could do with more training. Good atmosphere and busy when we where there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Iwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be...”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I used to love this restaurant and ate there several times a year - it was also my favourite takeaway, and although the Indian Ocean opened just metres away, I always still preferred the Khayber. But in the last 8 months, I've been there twice for a takeaway and both times the food has been terrible. I don't know what's changed but I had a takeaway from there about 6 months ago and spent the entire night vomiting, most likely food poisoning but I couldn't be sure so after I had got over my 'fear' I went back for another takeaway about 3 months later. I ordered Chicken Tikka Masala with chips and rice. Both my partner and I got it home to find that they had given us Chicken Korma with a bit of red food colouring thrown in it to make us think that it was a Tikka. It was a vile pinky/orange colour with no veg in it - I order the Korma from there all the time so I know exactly what they'd given me. Also, the chips had been refried I don't know how many times because they were tough and had a putrid flavour. I know this because I've worked in the fast food industry for years. We ended up forcing it down anyway as we were both starving and too exhausted to go back, complain and wait for a new batch. Big mistake. Both myself and my partner instantly felt unwell and although we didn't vomit, we both had terrible headaches for the rest of the night and next day. We definitely will NOT be back. What a shame.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Belfast”
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten in the best indian restaurants in the North but after my visit on Monday have to vote this the best in the country. It's cheap, staff are great and most importantly the food is excellent, never mind Bengal or Jahara get out to the Kyber

Helpful?
Thank bosleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food.”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

It has been a long time since I last had an Indian meal due to a bad experience so when hubby decided it was time to give it another go I was nervous. We went straight after work and so had the place to ourselves for most of the meal. The servers were attentive and friendly and I love the decor of The Khayber. Poppadoms and chutneys were set on the table while we perused the menu which includes every possible classic Indian meal. We shared a mixed vegetable starter which was just enough to whet the appetite. Onto the main. Hubby had Chicken Tikka Rogan Josh and I decided on Chicken Tikka Shashlik with a curry sauce. Portion sizes are generous and the flavours are accomplished. Couldn't find fault. A thoroughly satisfying meal!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Khayber also viewed

Newtownabbey, County Antrim
Newtownabbey, County Antrim
 
Whiteabbey, Newtownabbey
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
 

Been to The Khayber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing