We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, nice, simple, unfussy, plain.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Templepatrick
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good, nice, simple, unfussy, plain.”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Good value. well run, well kept place. Rooms are good, tourist hotel style, nice and comfortable with a good sofa, unfussy, relaxing.Twin beds wheel to the other side of the room if desired. Bar good, restaurant has very nice food at good value. The staff were polite and efficient. The outside tables by the bar are a great idea for drinking or bar snacks or meals. The bar meals, restaurant 3 course meals and breakfasts were all very good, and reasonably priced. We were offerred a really good value 3 course dinner when we checked in. Mum, who is very fussy about coffee, thought the coffees were delicious (so did I).

It's a lovely, calm golf estate, though there is nearly nothing nearby (The Templeton hotel, bar and restaurant is about 20 minutes walk away if you want a change, and that's about it). It's not hard to get taxis, to Antrim, or wherever - one day we travelled to Ballyrobert and back by taxi for an attraction and then dinner. Trains to Belfast stop at Antrim, and the airport to city bus stops in Templepatrick, though the stop is around 30 minutes from the hotel door if wheeling luggage, longer if carrying. Though this is an all night bus at hourly intervals, which means you could enjoy Belfast nightlife and return to the hotel at any time without paying 20 to 30 pounds for a taxi from the city.

A great draw, and reason to stay, is the health and leisure centre - very good. Great, big poolside, cool jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, nice gym and a big swimming pool. It's easy to like all of this and easy to use. For those who play golf, I guess it's the same there, plus there is a good driving range which I found a bit tempting.

It's really a retreat place, or an airport hotel a good sized distance from the airport terminal itself, as there's nothing to do other than relax, go to the leisure centre, drink, walk or play golf.
And that nothing to do, but for those things, is a big attraction, being near the big smoke of Belfast.

I consider giving it 5 stars out of 5 for value and pleasantness, only that it's just a tiny, tiny bit plain or sterile, but amn't I being too critial also? I don't know. OK, in this context, maybe plain is the best compliment. And maybe it is worth 5 stars, I don't know.

Highly recommended hotel, though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank factual5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    402
    254
    124
    81
See reviews for
361
452
42
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
913 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Spent two nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis here. The service was excellent, friendly and chatty staff and generally very good food in the restaurant although the dessert portions were a bit on the stingy side!
We had a nice room overlooking the golf course and it is an excellent base to explore the surrounding area as well as being 10 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Enjoyed our two night stay. Quiet hotel not far from Belfast. Disappointed that Hilton are now charging £15 per 24hr period for wifi internet, complete rip off considering its about the same price for a month of domestic internet. Plus mobile phone coverage in area is very very poor rendering 3G data useless.

Food lovely, staff lovely and helpful. No air conditioning for warmer days and windows only open a couple of inches. Didn't use pool or fitness center.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazzaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed at this hotel through a booking with late rooms. The room was lovely, overlooking the golf course. The service was great throughout the stay and breakfast was excellent.
Only two negatives, the price of the drinks, and they seem to have a fly problem in the car park, all cars in the car park, were swarmed with large black flies!
Overall very good hotel, would use again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed at the hotel, booked directly at a really good rate, Staff Excellent, Rooms very spacious overlooking golf course. Rooms spotless & unlike previous reveiws had no prob with bed infact had a great sleep & stay. Food & drinks bit expensive but it is Hilton however overall would return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickjeffsmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templepatrick, Manager at Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am please that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Regards

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Really lovely place to stay, especially if you enjoy golf. The price of the food and drinks were a bit high. £7.50 for a large glass of Rose was a bit excessive, and the evening meal was over £70 for just 2 people 2 courses, but what can you expect if you stay at a Hilton Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the golf course have a beautif view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirwin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I used this hotel for one night on business. It was a great place to relax at the start and end of the day. It is out the way from everything if you wanted to eat or drink out but great for a little escape. Can be used as a airport stop over if you are happy to have a 10 min drive.
There is a large free car park
Reception was very friendly, efficient and informative.
The bedroom was spacious and clean. There is a good sized bathroom with bath an shower. The room has the usual tea making, flat TV and a large bed.

The bar was good with excellent service provided in the evening for food and drinks and just grabbing a coffee in the morning.
I decided to eat in the bar as the restaurant was empty and the menu was somewhat disappointing. The food in the bar was fine and did the trick but was not by any means great. I think they need to better understand what a Greek salad should look like!

Breakfast was a mixed bag. The food and selection was great. The chefs were very helpful and friendly making a very welcome effort to engage with their customers. The rest of the breakfast service staff were poor. They spent almost all of my leisurely breakfast talking to each other, out the way rather than dealing with guests requirements and clearing tables.

The hotel has very nice leisure facilities which unfortunately I had no time to use, but they looked good.

Very happy with the room rate I thought it was good value, drinks and food are the standard Hilton offering, which I would never describe as good value.

Would be happy to visit again.

Room Tip: Choose the upgrades for golf course views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Templepatrick
15.4 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,923 reviews
15.8 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
2.0 mi away
Dunadry Hotel
Dunadry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunadry
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Templeton Hotel
Templeton Hotel
#2 of 2 in Templepatrick
452 reviews
12.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,513 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hilton Belfast
Hilton Belfast
#23 of 44 in Belfast
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club

Property: Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
Address: Castle Upton Estate, Templepatrick BT39 0DD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Templepatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Templepatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Templepatrick Hotel And Country Club
Hilton Templepatrick Hotel Country
Templepatrick Hilton
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing