We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality food Accompanied By Friendly Service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flash In The Pan

The Flash In The Pan
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Bushmills
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ballymena
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality food Accompanied By Friendly Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Speaking as someone who has visited this fish and chip shop on a weekly basis for the past couple of years . This is with out doubt, to me, the best carryout in the North Coast. The premises are always spotlessly clean,I always receive quality food, along with excellent portions served by helpful and friendly staff.

If visiting the North Coast don't leave without giving it a try !!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BallymenaStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    37
    14
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Larne; Co Antrim
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I called in at this chip shop on my way to Portrush and as on my previous visit I wasn't disappointed. I called in on a January afternoon and so wasn't busy(on my previous visit I had to queue and wait for while but it was worth the wait) the fish was freshly battered which makes a pleasant change from some other chip shops. I happily took my fish and chips and headed in the car down to the car park at Portballintrae (which is on the road to Portrush and about 5 minutes away from Bushmills) there I enjoyed an excellent and generous portion of fish (crispy batter - yummy) and chips whilst watching the sea and the coastline - magic! Though the fish was slightly greasy it didn't repeat on you and left no horrible aftertaste. Based on my experience I would highly recommend it

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and fast service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Little better on phone on orders apart from that great service. The food is great and nice polite and helpful staff.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

After reading the reviews on the 2 fish and chip shops in Bushmills we decided to give this one a try. 4 fish suppers was the order, very busy, all food cooked to order. It took about 20 minutes from ordering to receiving our food. It was a nice evening so a trip to Ballintoy harbour to eat and watch the sunset ( HIGHLY RECOMMENDED). 4 huge portions of chips and 2 large pieces of fish each but no peas?? I thought a fish supper was fish chips and peas as this is what I was served at another fish and chip shop earlier in the week.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buffalo478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Armagh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very very tasty grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Staying in Bushmills for a few days and based on what l had read on Trip advisor for this place, l had to give it a try. Fish supper was delicious, 3 pieces of tasty fish and the chips just right. Didn't get that horrible greasy aftertaste either. Thank you for previous reviews - I will def go back. Ps was busy enough even at 8pm on a Wed night!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lucybigsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flash In The Pan also viewed

 
Bushmills, County Antrim
 
Bushmills, County Antrim
 

Been to The Flash In The Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing