We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Host”
Review of Rest A While

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rest A While
Ranked #5 of 27 Bushmills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Host”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a good solid B&B blessed with a most friendly and helpful host. Rest A While is beyond walking distance from the local resturants and bars at Bushmills. The room and ensuite are large and generally well appointed. However, there were no bedside lights and although the main light was adequate, one has to get out of bed to turn it off or on. There was one bedside table which makes the early morning tea or coffee in bed a bit tricky for the unlucky half. Otherwise all good. Our host, Gail, was very pleasant and helpful and when asked if we could use a washing machine, insisted on doing our washing. That is well beyond the call of duty for a B&B. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
141
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Thanks to Ross and Gail for sharing their bikes with us. We were staying in the area (but not at the b&b) as 2 families, on a bicycling adventure. Ross kindly delivered and picked up the bikes for us, and even did some customising! Gail and Ross recommended excellent itineraries and really made our holiday.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank La T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We based ourselves here for two days whilst we explored the causeway coastal route with a trip to the Bushmills distillery. Great accommodation conveniently located such that if weather is unsuitable for causeway and rope bridge there are other options. Good choice of restaurants in the area but they can be difficult to find, hostess can direct you. Car driver so distance from town not an issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 757ChrisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed there about a month ago for 2 night and it was a really good experience. The house is all new and clean, the room was really spacious, warm and nicely decorated with good shower and comfortable beds. And the breakfast was just luxirious - there was everything you may want. Our only concern was that the B&B is situated not in the village but right outside it. As we didn't have a car, it took around 30 minutes to get there from the bus stop. But on car it's less that 5 minutes and the same time to get to the Giant's Causeway. Anyway, the hostess Gail was really nice and always offered to give us a lift every time we needed it. She was really friendly and helpfull. So I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you are looking for a very nice, clean, B&B this is it! Gail is the perfect hostess and will see to all your needs. Our room was very Spacious. The room was decorated with taste and you can just tell that everything done was done with love.

Breakfast each morning was exactly the time we wanted and cooked to perfection!
When in Bushmills, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_34769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in one of the two rooms available. Gail is very friendly and a gracious host. Breakfast was great and she has a highchair and baby cot if needed. Very family friendly place to stay!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mingusdew6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My friend stayed together in june 12. In Ireland this is the best. My friends will also stay. Gail is helpful and good. We visit giants causeway and castle and beach. We eat in portrush this is very good. I would like to visit again with my family. My friend stayed together in june 12. In Ireland this is the best. My friends will also stay. Gail is helpful and good. We visit giants causeway and castle and beach. We eat in portrush this is very good. I would like to visit again with my family.

Room Tip: all room good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moti u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bushmills hotels
0.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
2.2 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
PortCaman House
PortCaman House
#13 of 27 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cottesmore Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Finn MacCool's Public House and Guest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rest A While? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest A While

Property: Rest A While
Address: 90 Castlenagree Road, Bushmills BT57 8XL, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bushmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rest A While 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest-A-While is a family run bed & breakfast ideally sited in the heart of the glorious Causeway coast. Set in a country location 600 meters from the Bushmills Distillery and less than 3 miles from the Giants Causeway. The seaside resorts of Portrush & Portstewart, Carrick-a-rede rope bridge, Dunluce castle and the many golf courses, including Royal Portrush, are all within a few miles. We have double, twin and family rooms all en-suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rest A While reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rest A While Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing