We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smugglers Inn
Nearby Hotels
$231
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PortCaman House(Bushmills)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Causeway Hotel(Bushmills)
$178
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Causeway B&B(Bushmills)
$82
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Portballintrae)
$176
$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rest A While(Bushmills)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveler rating
206
125
41
26
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
125
41
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgiants causewaykippersmusselspiesteakexcellent foodbite to eatducksea viewmain coursevisiting the areanext morningan evening mealgreat place to stayroom was largelovely breakfastlive music
Filter
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 416 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Having booked the Smugglers Inn for a meal with my in-laws, I was very nervous after reading some of the reviews, but I was so impressed with the standard of service and food we received. The meal was amazing - all local produce, huge variety and absolutely lovely. The meal was very well priced - we had a three course meal with drinks for less than £90 for four people! Much superior to the Causeway Hotel which is horrendously priced. Would highly recommend to anyone. Am planning to book an overnight stay soon!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gnomsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed in Smugglers in February. We found it to be a cozy hotel with excellent food, much better than the hyped Bushmills Inn close by. We found staff to be friendly and helpful and the location perfect. The hotel was fully booked when we stayed in February so I think that probably speaks for itself.

Would recommend to friends and certainly would return again ourselves.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justminimad60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

I recently stayed for a short break in the Smugglers Inn with my husband. We got a really good deal after booking a mini-break stay, directly with the hotel which was a superior room with a sea view, B&B and one evening meal. I must say that after a brief check of websites and a few phone calls, no other hotel in the North Coast area was able to compete with the rate. The hotel is situated on the beautiful North Coast, just about a mile from the lovely little town of Bushmills, and a mile from the Giants Causeway. We had actually eaten in the hotel a couple of times in the past (one of which was really good, and one of which was REALLY poor), but we had never stayed in the hotel before. The reviews here on Trip Advisor are a bit mixed and so we just went with an open mind.

My first impressions of the hotel were that it was warm and cosy, but I am afraid to say we didn’t have a very friendly check in! The lady who checked us in had no name tag on but she was a larger lady and verging on rude in my opinion. Thank goodness we never saw her again until check-out where she was equally un-friendly. All the other staff we encountered seemed to be young people, perhaps local students, and we never had another problem, they were all really lovely and very good at their jobs.

The room (Room Number 7 – Runkerry) was very large with a double bed and a single bed, a dressing table, a reading table and chair, an ensuite with a bath and shower and a few toiletries, plenty of storage, tea/coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and a great view of the coast line which is just stunning. We were really pleased with our room for the entire stay. It was clean and comfortable, if just slightly dated. There was plenty of heat 24/7 which could be switched on and off as pleased and plenty of hot water for our stay.

We ate in the bistro/bar on our first evening which was free as part of our stay. The food we had was excellent and the service was lovely. The menu was great with plenty of choice. I had grilled chicken and my husband had one of the specials which was grilled halibut. Both of these dishes were really well presented and very tasty. We had dessert as well, which we were not so pleased with, but they were still fine. No complaints at all for the food! Breakfast on both mornings of our stay was also excellent, with lots of choice including cereals, juices, yogurts, fresh fruit as well as a cooked breakfast of choice. On both mornings the cooked breakfast we picked came out fast and hot, freshly cooked and very tasty.

I would definitely return to the Smugglers, as it was cosy, warm, clean and in a great location for sightseeing, as well as fantastic value for money!

A final top tip that I must give is the Causeway Hotel, for the most fabulous food. It is situated about a mile up the road towards the Giants Causeway and we ate in there twice during the stay. Both times there was a great buzz about the hotel and food was just unbeatable.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAmember13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

I have now stayed at the Smugglers Inn twice and am totally baffled at some of the previous reviews, hospitality is one of their strong points, they are a world apart from the soulless chain hotels both in the hospitality of the staff and the comfort of their public and private rooms. As I was recently there for 2 nights I had a recommendation (from the Inn) to go to the SixteenOhEight Bistro in Bushmills on one of the nights - I am wary of the term bistro, it is a licence to serve overpriced nouvelle cuisine but I was actually pleasantly surprised, it was very nice indeed and not overpriced at all. The other night was a celebration dinner for a party of 17 at the Inn and the concensus of opinion was that the food was better than the bistro, presentation was on a par, taste was superior and cost was less. Two of our party missed their flight and only arrived after the restaurant closed but soup and sandwiches were rustled up without any fuss. My room was simply a good room, large clean and comfortable and my friends all said the same.

The North Antrim coast is a beautiful area with lots to see and do. The Smugglers Inn is perfectly located to explore it from and after a day out it is a great place to relax in and recharge the batteries ready for the next adventure.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallSeaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

I was really disappointed to be disappointed with Smugglers Inn having had really high hopes. However, despite being in a pretty amazing location the service and food really let the place down and I couldn't help thinking that Gordon Ramsey would have a field day if let loose on a place with such great potential.

Arriving from Belfast for sunday lunch and having seen good reviews about the food I was shocked when my boyfriend was served with a roast from the 1940s with processed peas, powdery inedible roast potatoes and leathery meat. My vege option was slightly better but unimaginative and not particularly tasty. Needless to say we ate out that evening and I recommend that other guests do the same as the Bushmills Inn just a quarter of a mile down the road is nothing short of amazing. The ambience is unbeatable with low ceilings, open fires dotted around the higgledypiggledy characterful bar rooms and a classicly smart restaurant with very good food and impeccible service (or maybe this was an exagerated feeling after the customer service void at smugglers)

If you want a reasonably priced stay in clean, large rooms then Smugglers is a good option to explore the stunning north coast - so long as you don't expect even a degree of hospitality or a mouthful of quality food.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debster1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews