We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dearest small bottle of coke in the world”

Creative Gardens Bushmills
Ranked #18 of 32 Restaurants in Bushmills
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The place looks as if it is about to be sold out. The prices are crazy. £1,60 for a very small bottle of coke, is scandalous considering folk drag their kids there for a bite to eat. Folk in Northern iRELAND really get a rough ride when they have a limited choice of decent garden centres compared to british mainland. Go and have a look at the prices of their products that are always on show, even 10 years later, same old stuff. I think they must try and capture the tourists that go to pay ridiculous prices at the Giants causeway and then stop there too. They used to be called something else before Bushmills garden centre because they realised folk were not shopping there, so name changed, and naturally the old folk toodled in, as they were none the wiser, but it is so unfair ripping old folk off with those prices. No wonder most folk go for glass of water ... Disgusting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JohnMcCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreativeGardens, Owner at Creative Gardens Bushmills, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Mr John McCritic,

Very disappointed to read your second negative review of our Bushmills Cafe and Garden Centre, I will try and respond to both here if that's ok. I'm glad that you rated the service and value 4 out of 5 on your first and second visit, but its a shame that you feel the value has dropped from 3 out of 5 to 1 out of 5 between January 2013 and September 2013.

We work hard in our cafes to produce fresh home made style dishes which are always cooked using the best possible local ingredients. Whilst this doesn't necessarily translate to a cheap meal, it should, I hope, translate to good value and high quality for our valued customers and I am disappointed that you didn't feel this was the case when you wrote your second review. We have not increased our prices since Jan 2011 so I would love to hear from you in more detail how you feel the value for money has decreased between your visits so we can work to address the issue?

As you correctly point out in your first review, we purchased the "Ballyliken Plant Centre" in 2003, we then re-branded it with our brand name "Creative Gardens" perhaps this is the name change you are referring to, we have not changed the name at any other time. I am happy to report that since we purchased and invested in the centre we've had a steady increase in business every year, I hope that this is not just "old folk toodling in none the wiser" but more a reflection on our hard work improving the centre.

We sell a great range of high quality barbecues in our shop, as you say some of them retail at up to £3000! We've never however had the same model on display for more than one season, let alone ten years. We tend to sell 2 or 3 of the top of the range models each year, and we always reduce the display model and sell it at the end of the season making room for the new model the following year. We are almost always able to beat internet prices, many of our customers prefer to support local, family run business and the many benefits we offer when compared to shopping online for an expensive specialist bit of kit.

Thank you for your review nonetheless, and I hope that you continue to enjoy visiting us for lunches and lemon meringue!

Kind Regards,

Philip Gass

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 99 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Garden centre on 18-9-13 place really has went downhill,coffee was served from a vacum flask something youd take with you on a family outing, then there was a foreign object in the coffee, ok the girk serving changed it but didnt even say am sorry about that, then my partners hot chocolate was made from chocolate essence something similar to camp coffee, it was disgusting and the tray bakes where as or the ones we had where stale round the edges, all in all not even worth one star, wont be back ever

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank gerry196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely place to go for a meal, but it is very very busy, especially on Friday evenings when all the Old Folk clamber to get in for the 2 eat for £12 events, it is packed out, and you will have a very long wait for a table, we gave up and went elsewhere as we were very hungry, but we managed to eat full price a week earlier and the food was truly excellent and if you are prepared to take a long stand on the 2 eat for £12 events, it may be worth it, depending on how hungry you are at the time. Full price meals are still good value for money and very tasty and there is no problem getting a table at full price times, but the 2 eat for £12 vouchers you receive, if you decide to go, you need to get there early before the Thrifty Old Folk get encamped for the evening to make sure they do not miss out on saving a few pounds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RIPMAXRAPIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Lovely little Garden Center, off the beaten track but plenty of variety in plants, indoor odds and ends also lovely Resuaurant for light meals etc.

Thank CityVisitor_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Popped in on a very busy Sunday afternoon. The roulade was absolutely beautiful and everyone else greatly enjoyed a selection of very substantial tray bakes. This has got to be one of the nicest coffee shops in the country. Seemed at little chaotic at the till with younger staff who may have benefited from some more mature leadership. The queue was long and very slow moving. We had finished our food and drinks and watched a large amount of people still awaiting service. The shop is lovely for a walk around despite the plants being rather expensive. Perhaps a little room for improvement around the coffee machine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katie695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creative Gardens Bushmills also viewed

Bushmills, County Antrim
Bushmills, County Antrim
 
Bushmills, County Antrim
Bushmills, County Antrim
 
Bushmills, County Antrim
Bushmills, County Antrim
 

Been to Creative Gardens Bushmills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing