We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Giant's Causeway Visitor Centre
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$25.87*
and up
Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The centre is very clean and the staff were extremely helpful! It was good value for money and I would highly reccomend you visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    454
    279
    148
    214
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Expensive but useful”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

+++ audio guide
+++ interactive exhibits
+++ architecture and overall facilities
- price
That said if it funds the national trust's maintenance of the causeway paths etc it is a good thing

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosiefromtheblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escocia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“New National Trust Visitor Centre”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having holidayed at a nearby cottage for a number of years we have watched and indeed put up with some inconvenience whilst the new visitors centre was built.

Today having completed a 5 mile coastal walk we arrived at the centre with the intention of lunching and visiting the N.T. shop. This intention was not met, as we as a group were absolutely astounded to find we were to be charged £8.50 each by the N.T. simply to enter the premises - this surely has to be the ultimate rip off,actually seeking to charge potential customers simply for them to have the right to spend even more money in your premises!!

I would point out that access to the Causeway itself is still free but the N.T. do not make this clear in any way,how many people have been caught out by this omission on the part of the N.T. I wonder.

Personally I find this abuse of a monopoly at a National treasure by an organisation such as the N.T. extremely poor and potentially contrary to their alleged charitable status.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank surfroberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCausewayNT, Web Editor at Giant's Causeway Visitor Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review! By tying our amenities into a Visitor Experience we had hoped not to be exclusive, but did not want to monopolise either. There are other eating and shopping options in the Causeway vicinity i.e the Causeway Hotel, the Nook bar and restaurant and McConaghy’s giftshop. However, suffice to say the management are aware of concerns such as yours. Ironically, since the National Trust took over the management of the Causeway in 1961 we have always allowed free access to the stones – it was not the case prior to this. I'm sorry your visit did not exceed your expectations. If you are a regular visitor to the area, you may be interested in attending one of our free community open days which run bi-annually.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Too expensive!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This place is meant to be managed by a Charity... they charge you £8,50 to get in, to see toilets, a gift shop and everything you can find on wikipedia about the Giant's Causeway.
We didn't have our tickets when we walked in, so we got stopped very quickly by a staff member who told us that we had to buy tickets if we wanted to go further... The only thing we wanted was to buy a poncho (yes the weather was pretty bad that day) in the gift shop, we thought she'd let us go through (and we could see the ponchos next to the till!), but no! No ticket, No center...
So we had to do without the poncho for that afternoon as the nearby gift shop didn't have any ponchos left, and didn't want to give us bin bags...

The Giant's Causeway itself has to be seen though, it's absolutely stunning!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank bacalao-spm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCausewayNT, Web Editor at Giant's Causeway Visitor Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for your review. I'm sorry that you were unable to buy a poncho from our giftshop given the weather. I will certainly be passing these comments on to the management. However, had you known you were visiting the causeway in advance, I could have suggested researching a few ways to offset the cost of admission – these include pre-purchasing tickets online, arriving by public transport (as part of our green initiative) and of course, if you become a member of the National Trust you will gain access to all the National Trust sites in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. A family pass bought online admits 2 adults and up to 3 children for £18.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over priced but enjoyed the experience”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

to pay £17.00 for two of us for this attraction was we felt far too much a fair price would be £4.95 each. We walked down to the causeway but too many peopele really to get good pictures even in march....Bit disappointing but pleased we went, the audio phones were good and informative and there is a bus back for £1 which was great as its very steep walk back up..... It was amazing and the history is interesting but still we felt over priced. We did not take the hourly guided walk down as it meant waiting almost anhour so we chose the audio guides which were ok if you could find the spots on the map, in hindsight we should have perhaps waited for the guide. A very cold day in March but blew the cobwebs away. Everyone should see it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank w j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant's Causeway Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Giant's Causeway Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing