We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly overpriced and living on reputation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bushmills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Greatly overpriced and living on reputation!”
Reviewed June 10, 2006

Had selected to book this hotel for a collegue and myself after hearing about its reputation as a good place to stay. Could only book thier standard rooms as the others were unavailable but still at a price of £78.00 B & B so was confident they would be ok.
Frankly cannot believe the room my collegue was given as it was like something you would have expected in a poor out of date furnished B & B. After complaining we had a room change which was marginally better but certainly not worth £78.00.
I stay in Northern Ireland regurarly and there are so many hotels that are far superior in every way but also dont rest on their laurels and rip off the guests with poor and out of date accomodation!

On conclusion dont stay here, stay in Portrush or area around which is so much nicer and scenic and just visit the distillery as a day trip as its the only thing worth coming to Bushmills for!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    287
    74
    23
    13
See reviews for
239
1,145
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2006

You can easily miss this hotel, which from the front looks like just an ordinary inn on the main street, as all the pictures are of the more attractive rear entrance.

We stayed for one Friday night on a last minute weekend break. We would have liked to have stayed for Saturday as well, but it was fully booked.

Staff were very friendly and informative. The turf fire was burning in the reception area even though it was a warm day; apparently it is lit every day for the atmosphere. The bar area is also rather quaint, with gas lights, and excellent draught Guinness as you would expect.

The bedroom in the Mill House was excellent, spacious with small sofa and chairs, lots of cushions and curtains in traditional style, with open view over the rear garden. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The bathroom was spacious and well equipped in period style and there is a separate walk in wardrobe/dressing room with hanging rails and shelves. There were no drawers anywhere in the rooms which meant small items had to be left in suitcases or put on open shelves- not to everyone's liking although OK fo one night.

The dining room has individual booths for two or four people; very nice for an intimate dinner, and not oppresive, not so good for 'people watching' Food was very good without being spectacular and the option of a half or quarter litre carafe of the house wines gets round the 'red or white?' problem if two people have chosen differently.

The price was about average in this area for this standard of accommodation and quality of accommodation above average.
We were lucky in that the weather was lovely, very warm and sunny all weekend. Overall a good experience and would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayCeeMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2006

My Husband and I have just returned from a brilliant weekend at the Bushmills Inn. The setting was wonderful, the service second to none and the food was delicious. We are already planning are second trip in the Autumn!

Helpful?
6 Thank L&DBallyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2006

Wonderful hotel, charming, characterful, lovely rooms, friendly staff, superb food, and best of all the wonderful lounges and other nooks and crannies with open fires. Could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank reynedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 913 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2005

My wife and I have spent the weekend at The Bushmills Inn in both October 2002 and October 2005, and it was fantastic on both occasions. On our most recent visit we booked a ‘winter warmer weekend’ in the coaching house – the older and cheaper end of the hotel – which worked out at £31.50 per person per night, including breakfast.

Bushmills is located approximately 90 minutes from Belfast City, and 60 minutes from Belfast International Airport, and is a small scenic town. There is not a lot to do in the town itself with regard to entertainment and dining, but that is precisely the reason why you come to The Bushmills Inn, as they will cater for your every need, with a beautiful dining room, and world class food and drink!

Our bedroom was relatively large, but the bathroom was small, and quite badly needs an overhall. Otherwise, the room was clean, and had all the amenities which we required.

Breakfast was beautiful, with a large selection of cereals, fruits, breads, meats and cheeses. These buffet items were followed by a freshly prepared ‘Full Ulster’ cooked breakfast.

The hotel itself is fabulous in every way. The main entrance is from the back of the hotel and guests are greeted with a huge fire burning by the reception which is lovely to sit around. The bar area is also beautifully quaint, with guests being able to choose to sit in lots of little ‘snugs’, of which one also has a roaring open fire. It is lovely to come back after a busy day sight-seeing and warm up with an Irish coffee or a hot whiskey. The low ceilings, exposed beams and gas lamps are the icing on the cake.

We ate dinner at the hotel on both nights. The most difficult thing was choosing what to have off the menu, as everything was so lovely. Presentation and service were very good, but these were shadowed by the food which was first class!

For tourists, the North Antrim coast has an abundance of attractions, including the Giant’s Causeway, Bushmills Distillery, Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, Dunluce Castle, and the towns of Portrush and Portstewart. The Glens of Antrim are also only a short drive away. World class golfing and fishing are available practically on the doorstep.

This hotel comes highly recommended, and we will certainly return.

Helpful?
28 Thank luckystrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We recently stayed at the Bushmills Inn, Bushmills, Northern Ireland.

From the street side you could drive past the hotel without even noticing, in fact we did. Bushmills as a village is not particularly attractive with only the distillery connection of any interest.

The staff were pleasant and friendly but this is about as far it went. The room was appalling; it faced the main road over looking a bonfire for the forthcoming Orange Order celebrations and the telephone exchange. There was significant road noise from the street all night and drunken revealers until 3am.

The Bathroom was appalling, it looked like it was out of a Ruby club, rather than a hotel aiming to be Northern Ireland’s best. There was no hot water when I went to shave at night, and what did come out just trickled. The shower was not a shower but rather a dribble. The bed was comfortable and when we did get to sleep after the people above had stopped moving around, we were kept awake buy the activities in the street below (no net curtains/blinds so the curtains had to pulled during the day).

Breakfast was average - interesting to over hear all the other people complaining. We were offered £15 off the bill and fortunately had somewhere else to move onto.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank fromdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2005

As hotels far from main cities go, this one is pretty good. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food (dinner and breakfast) is not awful. The public rooms are more than charming. My room in the Mill House was quite comfortable -- nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and tidy. However, the tariff was outrageously high. But yes, I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank torroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushmills
1.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.8 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
3.3 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
5.1 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
6.1 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bushmills Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushmills Inn Hotel

Property: The Bushmills Inn Hotel
Address: 9 Dunluce Road, Bushmills BT57 8QG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bushmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bushmills Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Bushmills Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushmills Hotel Bushmills
Bushmills Inn
The Bushmills Inn Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing