We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have No Hesitatoin Recommiending This Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bushmills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Have No Hesitatoin Recommiending This Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

Treated ourselves to a stay in the Bushmills Inn at the end of May and have to say it was an extremely enjoyable experience. The bar and hotel staff could not have been friendlier and the rooms really are something special. If you're in the area don't pass by without cosying up in front of the big roaring fire with a hot whiskey - bushmills of course!!

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firstreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    282
    73
    23
    13
See reviews for
234
1,121
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed at the Bushmills Inn for one night at the beginning of August in a Mill House room. The room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. The evening meal was fantastic and likewise the breakfast - try the fish it's delicious. The service throughout our stay was first class as were all the staff and I'd happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Great staff and wonderful food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bookworm7476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

We only stayed 1 night in this hotel while we were doing a 5 day trip round the Antrim Coast and we absolutely loved it.
We stayed in the older part of the hotel, the rooms were quite small but really comfortable. The bed was just what we needed after a long day sight-seeing!

Even though it was quite a warm day the peat fire was still burning, which we thought gave the hotel a really great charm.
We ate in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast and the food was great.

All in all, we're glad that we treated ourselves to this hotel, the food, service and staff exceeded our expectations. Oh and not to forget the Guiness here was awsome!! :-)

  • Liked — The service from staff, food, location
  • Disliked — Rooms could be a bit bigger
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

The staff were very pleasant even though one or two could have been more knowledgeable on local attractions, bus times etc. (e.g. we mentioned about visiting the Bushmills Distillery but no one thought to tell us it was closed on the 4th July!).

Our standard Mill room could not have been positioned in a worse place for the building work, of which we were unaware. We were ground floor with the work on both sides - work starts at 8am ends 4.30pm. We did not take in the view of the site because we needed to keep our curtains closed to maintain our modesty. The room was reasonably well appointed (e.g. lotions and soaps) but was tired (e.g. old tv, poor hairdryer, fittings etc). That said it did have some 'rustic' charm.

The restauarnt food is very good and the staff very attentive albeit the prices were top end for the fayre so our expectations were that the food WOULD be very good.

The hotel has some really lovely communal areas and has an interesting history having been sympatetically restored in many areas - The Gas Bar is particularly special and all the fires around the building were lit in the evening making it feel very 'homely'.

On check out the duty manager was very understanding.

  • Liked — Lovely communal areas
  • Disliked — Tired room and the building work!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

In many ways this is as good a small hotel a you could wish to find. It has exceptionally well-equipped and comfortable rooms, an excellent restaurant, and very helpful and friendly staff. So what is there ‘not to like’?

In January, we booked a Mill House room for a three-night stay (having looked at the website, and read the user reviews in Trip Advisor). On arrival on 1st June, we were shown to a ground-floor room which faced, and was directly adjacent to, a building site where construction work for a major extension to the Inn was under way.

We had not been emailed to tell us that this work was to take place, though that would have been easy to do - a copy of the ‘flier’ left in the room would have sufficed. Having expressed surprise at the room offered, we were given a (slightly) superior room with essentially the same outlook though at least it was on the first floor.

Work (a bulldozer digging out foundations) began around 8am each morning of our stay. The photograph was taken from our room at 8.30am on Wednesday 4th June.

As of today, 11th June, the Inn’s website still makes no mention of the building work currently being carried out.

Should you be considering a stay at the Bushmills Inn, it would be sensible to obtain details of where your allocated room would be in relation to the building site.

A less important point, but one which illustrates another of the website’s shortcomings, is that although wifi is available (as the site says) the card which enables its use costs £10 per 24 hours. This is the first time that I have stayed anywhere where wifi access is charged. The Inn does provide a PC with internet access for the use of its guests, but the hardware is well past its sell-by date.

As mentioned above, the Inn has an excellent restaurant, but for simpler, well-prepared fare with friendly service (at a fraction of the price) the nearby Smugglers Inn can safely be recommended.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Building Work Outside!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveller572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

Stayed one night at this hotel at the end of May. Had a coaching room which is one of their budget rooms. These are small and basic but you have everything you need and they're spotless. £98.00 for 2 sharing with breakfast included.
This is a must stay in Northern Ireland. Olde worlde charm. Staff get five stars - friendly and professional. Only had breakfast - the Bally Breakfast - and can't wait to go back and stay again if only for the breakfast. Best Irish Coffee ever. Will be back.

  • Liked — Top class staff and food
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

The inn is easy to find being on the main street and has ample parking. We stayed for the Easter weekend and had reserved a standard double room. We thought the furnishings were fairly basic but found the room to be spacious with a sofa and coffee table (complete with up-to-date magazines); we also liked the separate ‘cloak room’ which had an iron/ironing board and tea/coffee making facilities and safe.

The public areas are really welcoming with snugs with real fires and a cosy bar. The layout of the hotel is higgledy piggledy and therefore not sure how suitable it would be for someone with disabilities e.g. to get to our ground floor room we had to go up 2 flights of stairs along a corridor and down 2 more flights of stairs.

We had booked dinner for the Friday night and the meal was truly lovely. Equally breakfast was of a higher standard than you usually get in a hotel. The poached eggs were cooked to perfection! The hotel seemed very busy and popular with non-residents, so it would probably be advisable to make lunch/dinner reservations. There are a couple of other restaurants on the main street and in particular we found ourselves at a very nice modern bar/restaurant called The Distiller’s Arms on the Saturday night – well worth a visit!

There is a train track about quarter of a mile from the hotel which you can walk beside and which takes you directly to the Giant’s Causeway. A steam engine runs the 2 miles (in season) although we thought the ticket of £5+ per person was a bit pricey. It’s a really pleasant walk and recommended as you can also do a diversion to walk along the cliffs.

Finally, we have to compliment the excellent staff. Friendly, helpful, courteous and most of all efficient.

We would certainly recommend the hotel, although we thought for our standard room the rate was slightly high when compared to similar establishments.

  • Liked — The ambience and the quality of the breakfasts
  • Disliked — The hairdryer in the bathroom (one of those hosepipe affairs)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushmills
1.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.8 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
3.3 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
5.1 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
6.1 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bushmills Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushmills Inn Hotel

Property: The Bushmills Inn Hotel
Address: 9 Dunluce Road, Bushmills BT57 8QG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bushmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bushmills Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bushmills Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushmills Hotel Bushmills
Bushmills Inn
The Bushmills Inn Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing