We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC.........”
Review of Causeway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Causeway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bushmills
Certificate of Excellence
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC.........”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Fantastic hotel, my husband and i stayed for our wedding anniversary, we had excellent meals <fantastic local food>, we had a problem in our room with the shower and they were willing to move us to another room straight away no issues, friendly, efficient local long term staff, there is now a huge carpark for the national trust so your super sea view is slightly obscured with ppl walking to the giants causeway, might get a bit annoying in high season however would recommend this hotel as a value for money, friendly and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreamurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    207
    78
    52
    52
See reviews for
185
337
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2010

had a brilliant short stay here. views and evening food very good, hotel needs to be freshened up. breakfast is decent. would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavangarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We didnʼt stay here but dined in the restaurant after walking for miles along the coast. All I can say is order the mixed grill. It is truly enormous and we (all good eaters) struggled to finish it. Steak, lamb chops, sausages, bacon, chicken breast, pork chops, mushrooms, peas, eggs, chips, bread and tea. It was a MONSTER of a meal. And I highly recommend ordering a side dish of ʻtobacco mushroomsʼ which I had never heard of before, but which were extremely tasty. This is not the place for fancy fine dining. It is good, unpretentious Irish fayre and pretends to be nothing else. The hotelʼs location is brilliant for the Giantʼs Causeway and, unlike some previous reviewers, we found the waiting staff to be absolutely fine.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank readysetgocrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The room has the charm of the fifties, but was clean although they could do with less chlorine.

But the restaurant was horrible and I did not know if I should laugh or cry. Was there a candid camera somewhere or did the Play a Fawlty Towers reanactement?

Despite we booked a table beforehand, we had to wait for nearly one hour in the draughty hallway until somebody called us to our table. Without any further comment the waiter placed our starters in front of us and vanished into thin air. We hadn't even a chance to order wine. We started a second try and got the answer: "I will bring you wine with the main." and again he was not to be seen anymore.

I have never met staff which is less interested in guests.
By the way: The meal was tasteless, the vegetables out of cans and cooked to death and it was absolutely not worth the
money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liebdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Great location - couldn't get closer to the Giant's Causeway. Friendly staff in the restaurant. Good size rooms. Clean and for those obsessed with cleanliness the aroma of the hotel was a mix of cleaning chemicals and polish. For me the only down side.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allthatfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This was a treat for our son who had finished his GCSE's, loves Northern Ireland (the Giants Causeway in particular) and flying above most other things! So we booked flights and a 2 night stay at the Causeway Hotel for us, our son and his friend. I was a little surprised that I couldn't book the rooms online, and the system for booking seemed a little old fashioned, but, quirkiness is one of the things we love about NI!
We were very pleasantly surprised when we got to our rooms. They were huge! We were given rooms with superb views of Port Ballintrae. Each room had a smallish balcony, but were lovely to sit out and take in the view. The bathrooms were well equipped and towels plentiful. The rooms were clean. We slept extremely well in comfortable beds.
We have always loved the food at the hotel, having visited just for a meal over several years. Our son had long dreamed of staying there. We were not disappointed this time! The food was great! The portions as ever were far too large, but excellently cooked and served by friendly staff.
i find it difficult to believe the bad reviews that have been posted about this hotel. I'm not suggesting that people are lying, just that our experience was so good there.
Breakfasts were good, ranging from fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, breads to enormous full Irish fry, even the "mini" fry was too big for me!
It was wonderful to be able to step out of the hotel and straight onto the causeway itself. Also as someone else pointed out, great to avoid the extortionate parking fee in the public carpark!
All in all I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jls7860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2010

there are people in the world who are so hard to please and must find fault in every little thing. We have stayed here for weekend trips away as husband and wife and also with our young family and look foward to our return every year. the hotel is clean , food is traditional local produce , breakfast couldn't be faulted, staff extremely helpful and friendly. it is such a cosy place especially with the 'nook' pub down the lane. its a quaint hotel with character and there is certainly a buzz about it,but that dies down at the appropriate times. What was the manager expected to do? Probably offer something free i suspect. I too have stayed in multiple hotels around the world, but then I come here to truly unwind - not pretend im above it all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterhirthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushmills
1.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,783 reviews
5.7 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
969 reviews
5.7 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
653 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
270 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Hotel

Property: Causeway Hotel
Address: 40 Causeway Road | Giants Causeway, Bushmills BT57 8SU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bushmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Causeway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Causeway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing