We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch after trip to the Giants Causeway. ”
Review of Causeway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Causeway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bushmills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Have walked past tho hotel a number of times when visiting the Giants Causeway. The visitor centre cafe didn't appeal so gave it a go. Excellent meal and service. Highly recommended. Very likely to be back in the future.
Sure beats the austere facade of the new visitors centre - looks like the Black Gate into Mordor

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Dave29969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 828 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

Last time we visited this area we stayed in a nearby four star hotel which frankly was rather disappointing. This time we chose the Causeway, a three star property and enjoyed a five star experience. There are many positive features about this hotel, including the large rooms and exceptional views, but two stand out above the rest. One is the restaurant where the food is exceptional, try the 'special' Tomahawk Steak which is both tasty and tender and moderately priced.
The other is the staff who without exception are friendly and helpful and who find time for an informal chat in spite of their busy schedule. The National Trust are fortunate to have them all.
As the man said, "We will be back!"

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel was excellent. Lots of parking available for guests and free entry to the National Trust Centre next-door.

The staff are extremely friendly and very helpful.

The room was clean and quaint and the traditional key instead of a card was charming. Although the room didn't have some of the things you would normally have (an iron) they are available if you ring reception.

Breakfast was very nice. Great selection on the continental and a freshly cooked fry/grill included with our room, I was very full leaving the hotel each morning ready for the day’s explorations.

Dinner the first night (included with our stay on a set menu different to the restaurant menu) was a little disappointing. Although the steak was cooked to our liking it was quite greasy and possibly not rested long enough. Dinner the second night however was perfect, spicy chicken was a delicious starter and sirloin steak was beautiful.

There is a bar beside the hotel that also does food and a restaurant a mile down the road. We walked to the restaurant but were to full to walk back so got a taxi which was a very reasonable £3 between 2 of us.

If you are staying here get up early before the hordes of buses with tourists arrive and get the Causeway all to yourself. We did both sunrise and sunset down there it’s a romantic experience.

There is a train to Bushmills a short walk which is good for kids as a novelty but not a mode of transport. Ask reception to get you taxi they are even cheaper and much quicker.

It’s a great base for traveling the area at a relaxing pace.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank endam50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

If you want a Hilton with a/c, mini-bar and concierge, this is not for you. If you want charm, character, and personal attention from a lovely staff, this is your place! Run by the National Trust, it's a grand old dame that is kept beautifully. Gorgeous views and just a hop from Giant's Causeway. You can walk the path to get there (@ 30 mins?) or there is a shuttle bus if you prefer. The Giant's Causeway visitor centre is right next to the hotel (very nice National Trust gift shop!), and admission is free to it all if you're staying at the hotel. Rooms are pretty, breakfast under crystal chandeliers is yummy, and having drinks in the lounge and bar is cozy comfy. Had a delicious dinner of bangers and mash, and sticky toffee pud. There is also a traditional pub just a stroll done the entranceway to the hotel called The Nook if you want to eat there. Staff is so attentive and will do anything they can do to make your stay a happy one. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peachycoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we couldn't have been more happy with our choice to stay here. We had the friendliest welcome from all staff who were very attentive throughout our stay. The food was amazing. The room was a bit on the small side but it had lovely decor and was spotless. The bed was very comfy too! We will definitely be back and I'd have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to visitors. The visitor centre is literally next door and as a hotel guest you get free entry and parking.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hockeygirl_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel. And the location could not be better. Our view was the Giants Causeway...breathtaking!! We had a lovely dinner and breakfast was delicious. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. This a a great value for the money. I would definitely recommend it, and would love to go back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed here as part of my honeymoon and was delighted by the choice. This beautiful old hotel is located at the entrance to the Giants causeway. the staff were attentive and were able to cater for my wifes celiacs needs comprehensively. The bed was comfortable and the room had modern conveniences. The hotel also offers complimentary tickets causeway tickets to anyone staying there. I would recommend it above staying in bushmills town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Damien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushmills
1.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,961 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
721 reviews
5.7 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
424 reviews
11.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
709 reviews
6.8 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Hotel

Address: 40 Causeway Road | Giants Causeway, Bushmills BT57 8SU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bushmills
Price Range: $74 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Causeway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Causeway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing