We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week end break”
Review of Causeway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Causeway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bushmills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

While staying in Bushmills for a weekend break we decided to revisit the Causeway Hotel for an evening meal. We were met by a very enthusaistic member of staff and as we had not pre-booked she quickly checked and proceeded to take us to a very nice table ,all very efficiently carried out.Our orders were again very efficiently dealt with and very soon we were enjoying a very appetising meal and nice wine. The meal was excellent and the staff carried out their duties most efficiently and were most pleasant and attentive. We will certainly be returning the next time we visit the North Coast area. We revied the Hotel over a year ago and are pleased to say that the management and staff are doing a great job and have turned things around since our last visit . Well done.

Room Tip: Booking for restaurant at weekend advisable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 828 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We ran out of time visiting the Giants Causeway, so decided to stay right there. Due to time of
year, we asked for and received a slight reduction in room rate, which pleased us. Room was a little chilly, but large with a good bed & big bathroom. The free breakfast in a huge dining room,reminiscent of a more golden age, was absolutely fantastic, even included whiskey clotted cream for the scones. And the waitress was soooo sweet
with a beautiful Irish accent. Our room was a later addition, but main part of the hotel was built in the 1800s. We will remember this stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scooper1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice stay here too, I stayed on a windy but warm and sunny day and is a 2 minute walk from the Giants Causeway. The food is good and the rooms are tidy, clean and comfortable. Had a good nights sleep here and well worth and stay if your visiting the Causeway. The visitor centre is right outside and a bus runs every half hour up and down for €1.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank LeeD901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I look at some of these reviews and I'm shocked we actually all stayed at the same place.

We had a wonderful stay! We were on a 10-day road trip around Ireland and arrived at the Causeway Hotel on a Friday afternoon with no reservation. We walked in and were given a seaview room by reception- Room 28- which had stunning views outside of the farm and sea beyond the cliff. It also helped that we had brilliantly sunny days the 2 nights we stayed there.

I knew about this hotel because I had stopped there for lunch 2 years ago while on a daytrip bus tour to the Antrim Coast from Dublin. I'm so glad I returned.

The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable, and the side patio out of the room allowed you to get a morning view or a starry gaze at the night sky. You can not find a better location to visit the Causeway stones. We decided to turn a 1-night stay into 2 and just moved into the next room, which still had great views. I couldn't have been more happy with our stay here. We visited Bushmills and the Carrick-A-Rede bridge while there.

We ate dinner 1 night in the restaurant and the mussels I had were delicious and a large portion.

The breakfast setup was ample and the servers were very friendly. Pancakes and eggs were great. I can't say enough good things about the Causeway Hotel. Would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Room 28 is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeepGirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went to the Causeway recently for a family Sunday lunch. This was my first visit since all the renovations and the National Trust had taken it over. The overall experience was average except for the starter.
Having settled on the game tureen I was horrified to find a piece of lead shot in the meal. I handed the offending shot to the waitress who assured me that she would have a word with the kitchen.
No reply from the kitchen.
NOT IMPRESSED.
Very unfortunate start to an otherwise standard Sunday carvery.
Think it will be a while before I return and I will pass on anything containing game.
I don't want lead poisoning or a broken tooth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hector3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rateisgreat, General Manager at Causeway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Hector,

Many thanks for your review, Can I firstly apologise for what happened during your meal, I have spoken with both the supplier and the chef around your issues and have assurances from both that greater lengths will be done to ensure that future occurrences can not and will not happen, As we use wild produce for the dish this is something that can happen from time to time that if using a farmed bird would not, however more care needs to be placed in ensuring from both the supply and preparation that this will never happen again.

Sean McLaughlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My sister, mother and myself stopped for a late lunch but were very disappointed with both the food and service. On numerous previous visits nothing could have been faulted sadly this was not the case on saturday 31st August. . We went to the bar but there was no one serving as the staff were in the back area having a conversation, eventually we were spotted and given menus--these were greatly reduced from previous visits with only a few options. It took 20 mins to place our order from arriving. when half an hour later there was still no food i went for a smoke, when i came in my sister said the waiter had come over and said it would be about 20 mins as something was wrong with the computer and the kitchen had not got any orders---you would think good staff would notice they were placing orders but no one was eating. The food arrived an hour after we had arrived the soup my mum and i ordered was cold --i dont mean not scalding hot --i mean no trace of heat. It took another 10/15 mins to get this replaced. They did take 20%of the bill but that was not the point. The Causeway was the one place i always felt able to recommend to friends and visitors, however i will no longer be doing this.

Room Tip: high floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elaine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great 'Home base'. I would recommend to stay two night here and use your car to go left and right out of the hotel to see the rest of what this area has to offer. The rooms are clean, staff is fantastic and there is plenty of parking. And don't forget, the Giant Causeway is next door... A god way to wake up and start of a new day.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelalot724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushmills
1.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,961 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
721 reviews
5.7 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
424 reviews
11.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
709 reviews
6.8 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Hotel

Address: 40 Causeway Road | Giants Causeway, Bushmills BT57 8SU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bushmills
Price Range: $74 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Causeway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Causeway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing